We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Ranked #40 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

situated just down the hill from Alhambra palace.Easy to find parking free around the hotel. Bus stop just outside so you dont have to visit the center of Granada by car- expensive for parking. Huge rooms, clean, comfortable, also huge bathroom with great amenities. small swimming pool with umbrellas and reclining beach chairs for a refreshing swim and a maybe some lunch which is served outside. Breakfast was excellent , large variety of everything and even sugarless food for diabetics. Very cheap for a 4 star hotel. Book in advance for the best price. Good for winter holidays also. Staff very helpful

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleftheria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

We booked this hotel with the intention of my husband skiing ( half an hours drive to Sierra Nevada; beautiful scenery aparently) and as a non skier to visit Granada. The staff at this hotel were great; friendly and helpful, recommending restaurants etc. Accessing Granada by bus is easy. It costs 1 euro 40 and is a short bus ride with a stop virtually outside the hotel. Taxi costs 5 - 6 euros. In Febuary it was easy to get tickets for the Alhambra before 10.30 or afternoon just midday was busy. They recommend that you get there an hour early if you have booked tickets on line.
Otherwise it is as others have stated rather hot in rooms and there is road noise if you have windows open (ask for rooms at the back). Breakfasts were really rather good. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JammyNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We liked this hotel. It was modern and clean but had a few quirks. The 1/4 size tub enclosure allowed shower water to spray all over the floor, toilet and anything else close to the tub. The towel bars were directly in front of the sink which meant that when you used the sink, your pants rubbed up against damp towels.

The room was too dimly lighted to read comfortably.

The breakfast buffet was a good bargain at E10.00 There was a good selection of rolls, pastries, scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, fruit and coffee. The coffee was from a machine but was good.

The first night we had pizza in the bar and it was good. The next night we ate in the dining room. The food was well prepared and service was good.

All of the staff we encountered in this hotel were helpful.

Parking was underground, E9.00/night.

The hotel was a bit hard to find, and our GPS couldn't locate it at all. To find it from the north, go through Granada on the freeway, take the exit for the Alhambra, and then go a couple of kms, then through a tunnel. After the tunnel will be a straight road and then a roundabout. The hotel is right by the roundabout. You're facing the hotel as you come out of the tunnel. The hotel has a sign, but it is very small. The hotel is tall (6-7 stories?) and has big pipes (think the Georges Pompidou Center in Paris) coming out the right side as you face it. Parking is on the right under the hotel (pay) or in front while you check in.

The Alhambra was wonderful. From the guide books we read, we thought one afternoon would be adequate, but it wasn't. Next time we'll probably do either a full day or an afternoon and a morning visit. Hotel is close to the Alhambra.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Very modern and confortable Hotel. Its located close to the Sierra Nevada, thought a litle far fo every day trip. Has an excelent Arab Bath.. Staff is ok and has a decent garage that you have to pay. The town centre looks far, but it's a 5 min drive.

Room Tip: Rooms facing back are not a nice view at all. Try to get one looking at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Antonio_Jose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed in early January one night to go skiing in the Sierra Nevada Mts. the next day. From how people dressed at breakfast, a lot of others did too, as during the winter break hotel rates up at Pradollano are outrageous - 200 Euros for a 2-3 star hotel. Here, we paid about 60 euros for 3 which included breakfast and no extra bed charge for our daughter. The hotel is probably the best situated for a Granada city hotel if you're going skiing as we did - it's right off the main road up to the ski resort at the closer end of Granada. We didn't sightsee in Granada so I have no comments about its situs for that, but others have. The hotel was modern and the room good too; quieter rooms are on the back side. Parking was about 10 Euros in the hotel, but you can easily find street parking.

The only complaint I have about the hotel was the heat. When we got to the room the window was open. At first we thought it was really loud but when shut it blocked out most street noise (still get a room in back though), but it was open for the heat. We all slept with just a sheet, and in January, Granada's not that hot, nights get near freezing. There was no way to control the heat; I turned ours off and it was still that warm. While we were okay wih just the sheet, it was strange for January.

The breakfast buffet was good - lots of choices. Food options around the hotel were limited. We went to a creperie next door and I'd suggest you try something else. Hotel staff was professional if a bit stiff - typical though for Spain hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prolix50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The hotel is very nice and so the staff. Beautiful room decoration and enough space for 3 people. I've got no problem with check in or check out even though I've made a mistake with my booking dates. I also got no problem with internet as most clients reported. The arab bath made no difference for me because it was very expensive (minimum of E21, for using only the pools and steam for about 1.5 hour) and I did not use it. Swimming pool was closed in winter (a pitty!). Few restaurants nearby and I did not try them but I ordered a pizza from telepizza ([--] - nice choice!). Dinner menu was E21. It may be worthwhile if one needs confort.
Difficult to find a supermarket or a boulangerie nearby.
I missed a kittle in the room (in all Spain hotels, to be honest).
The hotel is far from the city centre, but I didn't think it was not so bad because I don't like the city centre fuss. Easy to take a bus to downtown and Allhambra (about 2 km from the hotel - uphiil but the way back is easy). Tip: if you want to go to Alhambra in the morning, arrive early becuase you must leave at 14h the hole complex (I manage to leave it after that but it was a risk of not entering, for example, the Generalife).
Breakfast is nice (my reservation allows me to pay E10.00)
In conclusion, the quality and the price of the hotel make it worthwhile even though not close enough to the city centre or to Alhambra.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TFernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Aunque el precio inicial contratado por Internet era bastante bueno, hay una serie de detalles que no me han gustado mucho: el mini bar no tenía apenas nada y encima estaba caducado! Y al día siguiente no lo repusieron. El spa (que no es tal) es bastante pequeño y caro para lo que ofrecen. Y en la habitación hacia demasiado calor imposible de eliminar incluso con la ventana abierta. Conclusión: si Dios quiere, no volveré a este hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EAUGENE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Zaidín - Vergeles
Saray Hotel
Saray Hotel
#36 of 122 in Granada
1,621 reviews
Andalucia Center Hotel
#54 of 122 in Granada
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abades Nevada Palace
#74 of 122 in Granada
756 reviews
Senator Granada Spa Hotel
#49 of 122 in Granada
732 reviews
Hotel Cerro Del Sol
#64 of 122 in Granada
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra

Address: Lugar Mirador del Genil 2, 18008 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: $79 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing