We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel that give bad advice”
Review of Hotel Murillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Murillo
Ranked #35 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Average hotel that give bad advice”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed during the April festival so unfortunately had to pay double for the room. The hotel and rooms are average with no charm. Upon check out my mother and I needed to catch a cab to the train station. The hotel said they would book no problem and that the cost with be no more than 8 euro. Whist waiting for taxi an employee came over to say there was one waiting at the end of the lane - well he must have been there a little while as the meter already said 7 euros. In the end we paid double what we should. Next time I'll stay someone with more charm in the same location and walk down the street and hail a cab. Also the staff at the cafe opposite the hotel were rude and unfriendly, go elsewhere for much nicer service.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloeruby24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmurillo, Recepción at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Chloe,
thank you for leaving a note about our hotel.
We are so sorry you've had this unfortunate with the taxi and above all that and advice of ours mislead you to that.
We wish you the best ,
Davide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    935
    261
    74
    31
See reviews for
281
985
80
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
eindhoven
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Great location, adjacent to all the major highlights, parking is expensive and almost not available in the weekend ( public garage). Hotel is nice and cleam, service is friendly. Rooms are small and ours was noisy. If you visit, make sure to make it up to the roof top terrace for a great view of the cathedral

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehv79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmurillo, Recepción at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear guest,
thank you so much for spending some of your time in leaving a comment on our hotel.
We are happy you enjoyed our roof terrace that's soemthing that most of our guest do really love.
Wish you a great time,
Davide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamisal, New Mexico, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Wireless internet is not available in rooms, you have to go to the lobby or if you are lucky you'll have service by your window like I did. Simple rooms, clean new bathrooms, teeny television. Roof top patio. Great neighborhood for walking. Breakfast is typical.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the lobby area with a window on the courtyard (for wifi signal).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie Coté T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmurillo, Davide, recepción at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dearest Marie,
thank you so much for your commentary.
We're happy you appreciated the neighbourhood in which our hotel is located: this is in fact our biggest attraction, our location, just in the middle of the jewish narrow streets.
Big hugs from Seville,
Davide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Central location, historical streets. Very close to restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmurillo, Davide, recepción at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Melinda,
thank you for your commentary about us.
You've been so kind and so gentle in writing such nice things about us, that we feel very proud about us and our work and at the same time we'll try to push ourselves to improve our standards.
Greetings from Seville,
Davide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

Perfect location to walk to all Seville attractions. The hotel is located in the heart of Barrio Santa Cruz and less than 5 min walking from the Alcazar and the Cathedral. Many good restaurants and bars are close by. It is the perfect hotel for a short visit to Seville (1-2) days. The rooms are small, ther isn't much closet space bathroom is small but clean. Wifi is free but only available in the lobby. If you get a room in the 2nd floor close to the lobby, the wifi can be accessed. Overall it is a good hotel for a quick visit to the city, with a perfect location.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dmejias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmurillo, Davide, recepción at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear customer,
thank you so much for leaving a comment about us.
We're happy that that you liked your short holiday in our facilities.
Wish you the best,
Davide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We travelled from Granada to Seville in two and a half hours. It took a further two hours to find the hotel, due to the pedestrianisation of many areas and one way streets. Once we found the hotel we were delighted. It sits near the Murillo gardens in Santa Cruz in the delightful jewish quarter with its maze of narrow streets. We got lost several times trying to get out to the main streets, but that was half the fun, each time you turn a corner there is another wonderful view. Once we acclimatised ourself with the area, we realised what a superb position it sits in. The only down side is the parking, you have to park in an underground car park, which costs 20 euros per day, which put another 100 euros on our bill, but what price beauty. A wonderful city one of the nicest I have visited in Spain.

Room Tip: If you decide to visit Cordoba, travel by train it only takes 45 minutes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmurillo, Davide, recepción at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dearest,
thank you so so much for leaving us such a nice and gentle comment about our hotel.
We are so happy that you enojoyed your staying with us.
It is true that our biggest value is or location: deep in the maze of narrow streets of the old jewish neighbourhood.
Greetings from Seville,
Davide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012 via mobile

Great position in Seville, which we have been visiting for 40 years. Super view from roof terrace. Free wifi, but only works in reception area. The room itself was quite good. Our problem was with our room being too hot. We were told that management policy was not to have the aircon system of the hotel in operation before Easter. Unfortunately our only window opened on to the central well of the hotel, and if this was open we got a lot of noise from an aircon unit in the well (so somebody was getting aircon), going on and off 24 hours a day. We had to choose between sleeping with the window shut and getting too hot, or having the window open and being kept awake by the noise. To add to the problem, a big group of teenaged English girls were staying, apparently unsupervised, who felt they could make as much noise as they wanted with their windows opening on to the well. So lack of sleep was a big problem for us. We would advise asking for a room with outside window.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GertieRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmurillo, Davide, recepción at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Gertie,
thank you so much for spendig some of your time and leavin' a comment about our hotel.
We recognize that the noise was actually a problem and because of that we have decided to put sound proof windows in the rooms.
We hope to see you soon again in our town,
a warm greeting,
Davide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#9 of 175 in Seville
4,180 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#36 of 175 in Seville
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Monte Triana Hotel
#15 of 175 in Seville
1,444 reviews
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#12 of 175 in Seville
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murillo

Property: Hotel Murillo
Address: Calle Lope de Rueda 7-9 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Seville
#29 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#30 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Murillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Murillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murillo Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing