We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Performance that took our breath away”
Review of Casa de la Memoria

Casa de la Memoria
Ranked #3 of 39 Concerts & Shows in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Elegant and classy. Alcohol-free. Room for a maximum of 80 spectators sitting in two rows of chairs circling a small stage in a cute small theater-courtyard. Limited room. Better make reservations in advance. All acoustic (no microphones). Performances everyday at 19,30 and 21,00h for one hour with singing, dancing and playing guitar. First class flamenco performers, different everyday. No children under 6.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Performance that took our breath away”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We went to the performance on Jan 15th and saw a group called FRAGUA FLAMENCA. From the minute we got to the venue we knew this was something special. The venue is small and absolutely stunning, The performers were out of this world. We were left speechless at the end of the performance, it was so magical. 5 Stars is not enough :)

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Petradiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,056
    300
    84
    29
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Entertaining Flamenco”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Go early as best seats are taken up pretty quickly.Excellent performance.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Happy2BTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Flamenco at it's best”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Whilst visiting Seville during our two months tour of Spain we met up with friends in the Casa de la Memoria one evening for the best Flamenco dancing we have ever seen. The audience were seated really close to the small, raised wooden 3x3 metre stage to watch the wonderful hour long programme filled with superb Spanish dancing at its best. The male and female dancers were beautifully dressed in traditional Flamenco costume. The guitarist was brilliant and the singer was great. There were approximately one hundred people in the audience which consisted of all ages and different nationalities. The hour passed too quickly but everyone in the audience knew the performers had given their all. It was a perfect performance and we loved it and now we want more! Photographs or videoing of the performance is not permitted but may be done at the end of the 'show'. No eating is permitted but the drinking of water is and may be purchased prior to the performance. I suggest you buy your ticket when you can to avoid disappointment.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Totally amazing and breathetaking”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Watch 3 shows during our stay in seville, absolutely amazing. The price was rather reasonable(15euros) compared to the other tourist traps(30 plus euro). The dancers danced with passion and the solo guitarist was awsome! would totally recommend this show!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank mokym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Intense, Emotional, Strong Performance”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We booked 4 seats for the flamenco performance after hearing that it offers a good 1-hour performance in a small, cosy setting. They were right. We were lucky to be able to get the tickets when we walked in early, before a big crowd of tourist came in, and some of them were disappointed.

After a nice dinner and tapas, we went back to Casa de la memoria for the night performance. The performance that night was the "Raices Flamencas" by Manuela Rios, Juan Diego, Vicente Gelo and Jorge Flores.

The performance area was a 20 metre by 20 metre place, with a wooden stage in the middle, complete with backdrop, and a few chairs for the musicians and singer. Candles and two lone spot lights were the only lighting there, and we were seated in a square formation, pretty snuggled up with one another in the somewhat cramped space that we have. A cosy setting.

When the performance starts, I have only one word to describe - intense. The performance by the man was very good, and I like his dance moves and the intensity and attention paid to every move he made. The singer was also very excellent, and the guitarist was - how should I say - awesome. The music just comes out of his fingers, and I think he was the one which had the least rest, he was involved in the music in most parts of the performance.

The footwork and the moves were very good. Occasionally, I find the sound very loud, but I guess it's the acoustic of the courtyard, and also the strength put into the singing and tapping of the floor to achieve the mood that the dance is supposed to portray.

The lady's performance came in the last part, and I can see that it was an intense performance, and full of emotion - the face and moves really seem to tell a story of anguish and pain of sorts, and at the end of her outstanding but short performance, I could see that she is panting slightly as the moves were very sharp and strenuous. A very dedicated dancer.

Photos and videos are only allowed in the last part of the performance, when the staff announce that we may take pictures and video from then onward. Shortly after that, the man and lady danced together for a few minutes in a dance as camera flash and videos started kicking in.

It costs15 euros for the performance, which lasted for an hour or so. No food, no drink, no table, just chairs in a small space for a traditional dance. Well, be prepared to have the audience mostly tourists, since it is quite a popular performance for visitors.

All in all, it was a very meaningful evening watching the performance. Recommended. I would prefer the place to be less cramped (i.e. less audience, or a bigger premise)

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ogenkidesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa de la Memoria also viewed

 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Casa de la Memoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing