We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hostel, Great Location and Cheap!”

Sevilla Urbany Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sevilla Urbany Hostel
Ranked #122 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Seville
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Hostel, Great Location and Cheap!”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed here in September 2011 for 2 nights with my husband and 4 friends. It was a nice hostel with a great location for exploring the city but still having a quiet nights sleep. The 6 of us stayed in an 8 person room with en suite bathroom. It was perfect bc we all got to stay together and only had other ppl the first night. Obsiously we expected bunkbeds which is what we got, they were clean and the sheets, towels and pillow were also clean, certainly no bed bugs like other reviewers have complained of. The room was a little warm, I'm not sure that the AC ever really worked, but keeping the window open eventually cooled off the room at night. We were off exploring during the day anyways so it wasn't a big deal anyway. The lockers were a nice size and we were all able to securly store our belongings. The hostel was clean and the front desk ppl were very nice and gave us great suggestions for dining and night life. The shared kitchen was great with a big fridge for us to store some food. Breakfast was tasty and simple, coffes, teas, juice, and assortment of breads and cereals, perfect to start your day. If you are coming from the train station make sure you have good directions bc it was a little confusing getting there but we eventually figured it out. Free internet was also a plus, as well as great maps of the city. You could sign up for the hostel group outings, which we didn't go on but did go to the flamenco show upon recommendation from the group trip, it was awesome (and free!). Would definitely stay here again when I am back in Sevilla!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mekanabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    13
    6
    10
    6
See reviews for
2
7
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2011

In my opinion the hostel is better than it often is described here and I can not agree with most of the reproaches. For one thing there were not any bedbugs and I did not hear any people complaining about this problem at the reception. If you had a question or a problem the staff at the reception was friendly and helpful. Besides the breakfast was not as bad either. You get a roll which you can warm up, there are cornflakes, muesli, butter, jam and to drink there is juice of apple, orange, peach and even milk (hot and cold), chocolate milk and instant coffee. The cutlery and plates out of plastic you can throw away after using so that is not a big business. It is right that the rooms are quite small and near the kitchen it sometimes smelt bad, but that is takeable for one or two weeks. I enjoyed the time in Sevilla very much and I would book this hostel again to go back right now.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The hostel is a complete disaster: A musty smell penetrates all of the rooms because the bathrooms are mildew infested. In the worn mattresses that partially lie on the floor live bed bugs! i've read that many people complained about them at the reception but they didn't do anything about it! they're are still there! in the rooms there are no wardrobes, just a few lockers but they are too small to put all your stuff in. therefore you have to leave your belongings in the suitcase which needs to lie on the floor so that you not even have the space to move in your room with another five people. i have to add that you hear every single sound in the hostel, you hear the bells of a church every hour and especially in the nights you hear drunken people in the streets.
breakfast was no more a pleasure than the rooms: bread with jam every morning, and the cleaning lady starts wiping the floor before you are done with your breakfast. the whole room smells of cleaning agent! you have to wash your plastic cutlery and plates after using them because they are used several times! there's more to it than that but i think these aspects characterise this hostel at best. I really don't recommend it to you, you'll better look for another one!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dergesamteKurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seville hotels

sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

It is probably a good hostel for dorms and singles, but not for couples. We arrived to find that there were only bunk beds. Previous hostels often have two single beds which can be made to be a double. If that was the only problem it might have been OK. When we arrived at the room the lights didn't work. The staff member tried to help and called the maintenance but as it was late, said he would come in the morning. After an hour the lights turned on by themsleves which was OK but bit of a worry, as we never worked out what the problem was. There was no hot water on the first night and in the morning reception said they had just turned it on. There was a free breakfast but the room is so tiny that it was difficult to find room to eat. Plus that's when the cleaning started so there was a sewerage smell to add to the experience. After two nights we moved to another hotel and were much happier.

Room Tip: Not suitable for couples, only bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonofsamorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Internet only in lobby, towels not included. They give you torn and ratty sheets for the bed you have to make yourself. Our bathroom was flooded and the A/C flooded our room even further. Walls are paper thin, you hear EVERYONE and it is not a quiet hostel. Breakfast that is included is worthless (toast and/or cornflakes). The entire property is dingy. Fortunately did not share the bed bug experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhaquett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This hostel should be used as an example of how hostels should be organised and run by their management:

1. Excellent prices. I stayed 4 days for 13 euros each in a 6 bed dorm, breakfast, locker and wifi included in the price. (they also have 2 pcs available for public use)
2. Super easy booking process (using "verified by visa" system) through their website (no extra charge as in hostelworld.com etc)
3. Nice clean rooms and clean linen
4. Air condition and fully equipped ensuite bathrooms in all rooms
5. Electronic key cards (to access the building, your room and your locker), similar to the ones used in any good hotel
6. Nice website, everything described properly. The photos show exactly how the hostel is in reality

I didn't use but there was laundry service (not free), vending machines and common kitchen. Lots of flyers for activities in Seville, very helpful staff and organised walking tours/bar tours in Seville (if you fancy one, didn't join one though). The only negative point is that the common room is sometimes a bit noisy and the sound reaches the rooms.

It's located in an excellent spot next to Plaza Encarnation and Plaza Cristo del Burgos and the Sevici bicycle station is 50 meters away from the hostel.

Make sure to visit the ice cream shop that is located 30 m away from the hostel, turning left at Calle Imagen and the restaurant "los Coloniales" at the end of Plaza Cristo del Burgos (go early to avoid signing up at the waiting list)

All in all an excellent stay, for a great price, in one of the nicest cities of Spain. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isparos9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2010

This place was seriously the worst place I have ever stayed in my life.

I was severely bitten by bed bugs (ie hospitalised for it). Later when I inspected the underside of my matress, it was literally crawling with them!! When I went to reception to tell them, they laughed in my face and told me they had never heard of that problem in their hostel. I asked to be moved to a new bed.... and on inspection that had bed bugs too! Finally I had to move to a different room altogether (away from my friends which was annoying) and that bed was bed bug free. Whats worse though, is that a new person was sleeping in my infested bed a day after I had moved out - and managment had done NOTHING to fix the problem.

Not to mention that 5/8 lockers in my room were broken, and the bathroom had no ventilation so permantly smelled stale and damp.

The only good thing is the location. But seriuosly, Seville is relatively small (everythings walking distance), there are plenty of better places.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gastrostoplove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Las Casas de la Juderia
#31 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,583 reviews
Melia Sevilla
#27 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,946 reviews
Hotel Don Pedro
#90 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Lar
#161 of 176 in Seville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Trotamundos Youth Hostel
Trotamundos Youth Hostel
#139 of 154 in Seville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sevilla Urbany Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevilla Urbany Hostel

Property: Sevilla Urbany Hostel
Address: Calle Dona Maria Coronel 12, 41003 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw from Encarnacion square, right in the heart of the city, lies the Sevilla Urbany Hostel - part of a new hostel group with a completely different style to that of the "typical hostel". Its unique location will allow you to fully experience every place of interest: from the Alcazar, Casa de Pilatos and La Giralda to the galleries, music venues, shops and clubs. It offers a fresh take on accommodation, fun atmosphere and friendly 24h staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sevilla Urbany Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing