We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveller rating
387
111
15
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
111
15
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centresmall hotelhomemade jamshotel ownera short bus ridemodern designhome away from hometapasaround the cornercomfortable roomscharming hotelbeautiful citycarmenstreetexpoterrace
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 529 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I stayed very recently for 4 nights with a friend in room one on the ground floor. Even thought this was probably the most modest room it was still very comfortable and sleek.

I really liked the interior shutters on the windows (no fussing with light coming through curtains or blinds) and the duvets in the cupboard. Carmen was an excellent host- she had restaurant recommendations for us and was very informative about things to see and when they are open, getting around and such. Her staff were good generally but varied perhaps in their dedication to providing great service. One young man was very good in describing the restaurants and absolutely charming. Another young woman said she would look up restaurants that were good for trying sherry but she did not follow through. I found myself saving up questions to ask Carmen.

The location of the hotel was not central but we knew this when we booked it. Be prepared to take a €10 Euro taxi to the train station or centre of town (less if you go to the nearby taxi rank) or rent a bike. The bike lanes in Seville are generally separate from car traffic on larger roads and looked to be well laid out.

We were treated to the cheers of a football game at the nearby stadium and then a Catholic procession playing woodwind instruments down Calle Uruguay. Seville was full of little surprises. I found it absolutely lovely, though keep in mind the pavements are quite uneven with high curbs so you may find it challenging if you have a mobility impairment.

Taxi drivers tend not to know where Hotel Holos is so it helps to know the street address and practice saying it in a Spanish accent!

And last but certainly not least, the breakfast was provided each day and amazing- fresh orange juice, melon, breads with 4 preserves, olive oil and tomato puree for your bread and amazing coffee.

This hotel is well worth a bit of a splurge!

Room Tip: The ground floor room was great for popping out to ask the front desk a question or practice your broken Spanish on the desk manager. Although if you are a light sleeper you may want to stay upstairs.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minty_Danni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The hotel is located a little out of old Seville town (although we had rented a car so that did not prove to be a problem). The place itself is stylish, clean, quiet, and has all the facilities that one would expect of a upmarket boutique hotel.

More than the physical surroundings, it was the hospitality shown to us by Carmen (the owner) and her staff that really made it the best hotel of our stay in Spain. Upon learning that this was our first time in Seville, Carmen patiently went through the Seville map with us, recommending places for us to visit. She also wrote out a list of recommended tapas bars (including good tapas to be had there--very useful since we do not speak any Spanish and all we had to do was to show the waiter her note!), and we managed to try a whole lot of interesting/yummy food that we would otherwise not have had the chance to try.

Carmen gave us some advice for the rest of our trip in Andalucia--which resulted in us changing our itinerary-- and even helped us cancel/book the necessary hotels. We enjoyed ourselves so much, we ended up coming back to stay at Holos for one more night before flying out of Seville...

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We can't begin to thank our wonderful host, Carmen for all she and her wonderful staff did for us during stay there. We had 2, 2 day stops there, the beginning of our tour of the Andalusian tour of Spain and at the end our journey. Carmen was so wonderful to us when we arrived from Athens and our luggage was lost. She had a gentle calming way about her and took care of everything. She fed us a simple, but very delicious breakfast every morning. I particularly loved the toast with olive oil & fresh tomatoes and the mint tea. And the room we had was beautiful. Another calming place to be. The bed was so comfortable and the lovely origami birds laid on the pillow each night with a beautiful proverb or saying was such a lovely touch, along with a piece of chocolate. Carmen also honoured my birthday with a lovely bottle of wine and some chocolates. She told us about places to see and where to eat in Seville. I could rave about Hotel Holos for hours. Don't pass up on this little gem. It's in a lovely little neighbourhood and you have access to the bike rental system. Nothing is that far from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 7, it's a beautiful room with a nice view of the street and lovely patio.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aurora6105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights at the beginning of September and wouldn't hesitate to return to Hotel Holos. We found the owner a really nice person, fluent in English, who was extremely helpful on what to do and where to go, eg a superb Flamenco show, places to visit and restaurants to dine at. Nothing was too much trouble for her and the welcoming gifts of a fan for the lady, Panama for the man and poems with a chocolate each day were an unexpected bonus. Spotlessly clean in a pleasant and peaceful neighbourhood, nice traditional Spanish breakfast and with bus transport to town centre near at hand although we enjoyed the walk each day. We have nothing negative to point out and can only say thank you for making our holiday so enjoyable. Rosa and Ernie

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErnieandRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2011

WE stayed 3 nights at the beginning of a week then a further night at the end in late September.
Very modern small hotel in a city that can be traditional.
We joined relatives staying near the cathedral and the contrast could not have been more marked.They got what they sought,walk to the sights and much tourists (but the Old City is gorgeous).
We got exactly what we hoped for,an oasis of calm in a nice residential inner suburb.We parked on the street without difficulty and it took us 15 to 20 minutes to go downtown and park in one of the central car parks.I suspect it would have been almost as easy by bus but it was still fairly hot and we had wheels.
The hotel shows considerable attention to detail, and the owner tries hard to offer local knowledge and advice.The few suggestions we had time to follow up on were perfect for us.
It is worth mentioning that for a few hours when the local soccer team has a home game the otherwise quiet neighbourhood becomes a hive of activity.As this is Spain the game starts pretty late.We enjoyed the scene but if you really want an early night it might be worth checking their game schedule.
We enjoyed staying at the Holos and loved our time in Seville.Both are to be recommended

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews