We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent time at El Rinconcillo ”
Review of El Rinconcillo

El Rinconcillo
Ranked #293 of 3,071 Restaurants in Seville
Price range: US$24 - US$47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located on the Calle Gerona, El Rinconcillo has been serving up Spanish cuisine in Seville since 1760. This historic restaurant boasts a rustic-chic dining room that is dressed up in cosmopolitan clothes. With understated whitewashed brick walls, beamed ceilings, chandeliers and fresh flower arrangements, El Rinconcillo attracts everybody from local celebrities to families who come to enjoy traditional tapas and Sunday meals, and the mosaic-tiled bar with wine barrel tables is perfect for pre-dinner drinks and mid-afternoon glasses of wine. The menu is an eclectic collection of tapas dishes, stews, seafood, meat and sweet flans for dessert, and you couldn���t find a more quintessentially Spanish eatery in Seville if you tried.
Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile

Very nice restaurant with all the Sevilla flavor and warm attendance. As old as 1670, a fantastic gastronomic experience

Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier1670, Gerente at El Rinconcillo, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Hello, Miguel M:
Thank you for coming to know El Rinconcillo and for leaving us your assessment. It is a great joy for all the people who work in the team to receive opinions like yours and we are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the experience. We hope you come back soon. A cordial greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 96 of 3,310 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2018

You really mustn’t miss this place. Dating back to 1670 and rumoured to be the birthplace of tapas, El Rinconcillo is an embodiment of Sevillian culture. Packed to the rafters with happy revellers and brimming with flavoursome dishes, this is the best place to soak up local tradition.
We loved the succulent Wild Boar chop with sautéed garlic and red pepper. Find space where you can and order at the bar, where they’ll chalk up your dishes and present you with a surprisingly low bill come the end. There’s no chance of doing a runner, it will take you 5 minutes to squeeze past all the other guests :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FlavourVenues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier1670, Gerente at El Rinconcillo, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Hello, FlavourVenues:
Thank you for coming to know El Rinconcillo and for leaving us your assessment. For us it is a great satisfaction to read opinions like yours and we are very happy to know that you have enjoyed such a pleasant experience. We hope you come back soon. A cordial greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2018 via mobile

Just stopped for a drink but we found it fascinating. The decor and the whole 348 years of history of the place.
Be careful if you stand too close to the bar as the hams above drip oil.
Waiters pretty surly - guess that adds to the charm?
It was very busy but would visit again for tapas as they looked good.

Thank Colonel-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier1670, Gerente at El Rinconcillo, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Hello, Colonel-Chris:
Thank you for coming to know El Rinconcillo and for leaving us your opinion. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the visit and we hope you visit us again soon. A cordial greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2018

The oldest restaurant in Seville - a hidden gem of a place. Vital to book ahead as immensely popular - it has been here since the mid 17th c. Same family have owned it since the early 19th c. Very polite and attentive staff. Fabulous food - excellent wine list. Tends to attract a lot of foreigners as well as Spanish due to its reputation. We loved it - great atmosphere - buzzing! Great decor. A very special place. Must go back. You can eat tapas downstairs or eat full meals in the restaurant upstairs.

    • Value
    • Food
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier1670, Gerente at El Rinconcillo, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Hello, Keith B:
Thank you for coming to know El Rinconcillo and for leaving us your opinion. It is a great satisfaction for the team that works here to know that you have enjoyed a pleasant experience, so we hope you visit us again. We will be happy to receive you. A cordial greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018

Wow. Recommended by our hotel. Michelin recommended. Restaurant since 1670!, Very nice surroundings. So full that we have to reserve table the next day. Our expectations was high. We showed up in time. Waiters was extremely busy, but at last we got our table in a remote room as the only guests. Very strange. I ordrered lamb chops and wife ordrered duck. A quite pricey but delicous tapas as starter which should be the best part of the meal. My lamb chops was transformed to lamb leg (at a higher price). The duck was almost cold and did'nt taste of anyhig. Tapas was excellent. Compared to price this meal was a little disapointment.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank c_stenild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier1670, Gerente at El Rinconcillo, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Hello, c_stenild:
Thank you for coming to El Rinconcillo and for leaving us your assessment. We regret that the experience in the restaurant is not as positive as in the tapas area and we take note of your appreciations to continue improving the quality of our services. In any case, we hope you visit us again on another occasion. A cordial greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rinconcillo also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to El Rinconcillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing