We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Spanish feel”
Review of El Rinconcillo

El Rinconcillo
Ranked #290 of 3,070 Restaurants in Seville
Price range: US$24 - US$47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located on the Calle Gerona, El Rinconcillo has been serving up Spanish cuisine in Seville since 1760. This historic restaurant boasts a rustic-chic dining room that is dressed up in cosmopolitan clothes. With understated whitewashed brick walls, beamed ceilings, chandeliers and fresh flower arrangements, El Rinconcillo attracts everybody from local celebrities to families who come to enjoy traditional tapas and Sunday meals, and the mosaic-tiled bar with wine barrel tables is perfect for pre-dinner drinks and mid-afternoon glasses of wine. The menu is an eclectic collection of tapas dishes, stews, seafood, meat and sweet flans for dessert, and you couldn���t find a more quintessentially Spanish eatery in Seville if you tried.
Reviewed April 20, 2018

Very busy with locals and tourists for drinks and tapas and standing at the bar the norm. Upstairs restaurant excellent food - although a little confusion at first. Staff obviously get fed up with visitors wanting tapas in the restaurant.

Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier1670, Gerente at El Rinconcillo, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Hello, Colin H:
Thank you for coming to know El Rinconcillo and for leaving us your assessment. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed a pleasant experience and we hope that you will visit us again on another occasion. A cordial greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 87 of 3,304 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2018

We had not booked and understandably were given a table upstairs where there was more space. It started well, the food was good, but we felt we were tucked away and forgotten by the waiters. In the end it took 25 minutes to pay the bill, even then not all plates were cleared, and I had to get up and find the waiter to ask twice. In a four day visit to Seville, this stood out as the worst service. We should have stood at the bar downstairs, which was buzzing and had a great atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier1670, Gerente at El Rinconcillo, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Hello, Andrew M:
Thank you for coming to El Rinconcillo and for leaving us your assessment, which we take into account to continue improving the quality of our services. We regret that the experience has not been entirely positive and we hope that, if you decide to return on another occasion, your expectations will be met. A cordial greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

In 2 days we had both one of our best and one of our worst experiences at this place.
One of the best was the tapasbar downstairs. Great atmosphere, high quality tapas, good sherries, just wonderful and amazing value. The next day we decided to try the restaurant upstairs. What a mistake. Expensive by Sevilla standards. The merluza fish was good, but the lamb shoulder a disgrace. 18 euros for an overcooked, chewy, small piece of lamb with little taste. We should have sent it back. Then we waited over 10 minutes to pay the bill and only got attention when we got up and made our way to the exit, that always helps...
Too bad, we were so happy with this traditional place a day earlier.
Go for the tapas, but be careful what you order in the restaurant.

2  Thank Ron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier1670, Gerente at El Rinconcillo, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Hello, Ron d:
Thank you for coming to El Rinconcillo and for leaving us your assessment. We regret that the experience in the restaurant was not entirely satisfactory and we take note to continue improving the quality of our services. In any case, if you decide to return on another occasion, we hope that your expectations are met. A cordial greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2018

We booked a couple of months in advance as we weren't due to land into Seville until late on our first day and wanted to ensure a nice start to our weekend break. El Rinconcillo was recommended to us and it was not hard to see why when we arrived - a real buzz to the place and lots of fun.

We thought we had booked into the Tapas restaurant and we saw our name downstairs and assumed all was OK. We were kept waiting for quite a while and then moved upstairs to the restaurant where we were told we couldn't have Tapas and only the a la carte - to be honest it was a bit of a shame and could have been done in a slightly less 'grumpy' way, especially as we had booked so far in advance for the experience.

That said, the food and wine was very good and it was a good night. Started with cod, spinach with chickpeas, bread and olives to start which was all very good. For mains we both had the hake which was really tasty too.

Nice experience, real buzz to the place (downstairs) and we had a couple of great nights in the bar next door. Just a an extra smile or two and it would have been perfect!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier1670, Gerente at El Rinconcillo, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Hi, Darren T:
Thank you for coming to know El Rinconcillo and for leaving us your valuation, of which we take note to continue improving the quality of our services. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed a positive experience and we hope you will come back another time. A cordial greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

This is the oldest bar in town with a real
Authentic interior. We had some drinks and tapas at the bar, which was a nice experience. You can also book a table, but for the real barexperience, you should stand at the bar. People come and go, there is a really great vibe. The tapas are’n bad at all. You can eat the regular, classic tapas here. It’s a place you have to visit.

Thank vswinnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier1670, Gerente at El Rinconcillo, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Hello, vswinnen:
Thank you for coming to El Rinconcillo and for your kind words. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the experience and we hope you can come back soon. A cordial greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rinconcillo also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to El Rinconcillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing