We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surly, dry humoured waiters who don't speak much English and its fabulous!”
Review of El Rinconcillo

El Rinconcillo
Reserve with
El Rinconcillo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #286 of 2,996 Restaurants in Seville
Price range: US$23 - US$47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located on the Calle Gerona, El Rinconcillo has been serving up Spanish cuisine in Seville since 1760. This historic restaurant boasts a rustic-chic dining room that is dressed up in cosmopolitan clothes. With understated whitewashed brick walls, beamed ceilings, chandeliers and fresh flower arrangements, El Rinconcillo attracts everybody from local celebrities to families who come to enjoy traditional tapas and Sunday meals, and the mosaic-tiled bar with wine barrel tables is perfect for pre-dinner drinks and mid-afternoon glasses of wine. The menu is an eclectic collection of tapas dishes, stews, seafood, meat and sweet flans for dessert, and you couldn���t find a more quintessentially Spanish eatery in Seville if you tried.
Reviewed April 22, 2018

This place is wonderful.
The waiters are all busy busy busy even if they are not!
The building and rooms are worth a visit without stopping for drinks and tapas.
Have to say it does get very busy later on but that just adds to the overall ambience!
Drinks were cheap and measures good and this was the only bar we found selling Carlos Premier and for only 7 euros a glass and they write your tab down in chalk on the bar.
Well worth a visit or two!

Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier1670, Gerente at El Rinconcillo, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Hello, Richard S:
Thank you for coming to know El Rinconcillo and for leaving us your assessment. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed the visit and we hope you visit us again soon. We will be happy to receive you. A cordial greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 61 of 3,223 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2018 via mobile

It's not very often you get to visit a 17th century Bodega. Wonderful authentic Spanish theme and very reasonable prices. A small beer and a glass of fruit juice for less than 3euros. We had the spinach with chickpeas tapas and the oviga queso. The bread will cost you less than one euro.
Good atmosphere in here with customers from diverse backgrounds and nationalities. Well worth visiting

Thank PaulB27August
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier1670, Gerente at El Rinconcillo, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Hello, PaulB27August:
Thank you for coming to know El Rinconcillo and for leaving us your assessment. It is a satisfaction for us to know that you have enjoyed the visit and we hope you visit us again soon. A cordial greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2018

Very busy with locals and tourists for drinks and tapas and standing at the bar the norm. Upstairs restaurant excellent food - although a little confusion at first. Staff obviously get fed up with visitors wanting tapas in the restaurant.

Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier1670, Gerente at El Rinconcillo, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Hello, Colin H:
Thank you for coming to know El Rinconcillo and for leaving us your assessment. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed a pleasant experience and we hope that you will visit us again on another occasion. A cordial greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2018

We had not booked and understandably were given a table upstairs where there was more space. It started well, the food was good, but we felt we were tucked away and forgotten by the waiters. In the end it took 25 minutes to pay the bill, even then not all plates were cleared, and I had to get up and find the waiter to ask twice. In a four day visit to Seville, this stood out as the worst service. We should have stood at the bar downstairs, which was buzzing and had a great atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier1670, Gerente at El Rinconcillo, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Hello, Andrew M:
Thank you for coming to El Rinconcillo and for leaving us your assessment, which we take into account to continue improving the quality of our services. We regret that the experience has not been entirely positive and we hope that, if you decide to return on another occasion, your expectations will be met. A cordial greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

In 2 days we had both one of our best and one of our worst experiences at this place.
One of the best was the tapasbar downstairs. Great atmosphere, high quality tapas, good sherries, just wonderful and amazing value. The next day we decided to try the restaurant upstairs. What a mistake. Expensive by Sevilla standards. The merluza fish was good, but the lamb shoulder a disgrace. 18 euros for an overcooked, chewy, small piece of lamb with little taste. We should have sent it back. Then we waited over 10 minutes to pay the bill and only got attention when we got up and made our way to the exit, that always helps...
Too bad, we were so happy with this traditional place a day earlier.
Go for the tapas, but be careful what you order in the restaurant.

2  Thank Ron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier1670, Gerente at El Rinconcillo, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Hello, Ron d:
Thank you for coming to El Rinconcillo and for leaving us your assessment. We regret that the experience in the restaurant was not entirely satisfactory and we take note to continue improving the quality of our services. In any case, if you decide to return on another occasion, we hope that your expectations are met. A cordial greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rinconcillo also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to El Rinconcillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing