We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Hotel Sauce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sauce
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This hotel is a real gem. It is located right in the center of the town and provides easy access to the major attractions. The staff were very warm and helpful, and our room was clean and cosy. We had a little difficulty with the door lock at first but that was quickly addressed. If you want a good experience for a reasonable price, this in the place to go!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtripper024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Guests: We feel happy to know your experience in our hotel was a special one. All the Hotel Team passion for work is rewarded by the satisfaction of our guests. Thank you for choosing us! Kind regards from Isabel and all the Sauce Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    393
    74
    8
    7
See reviews for
304
489
44
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Found out about the family room from other reviewers so I emailed Isabel and asked for the family room (2 adjacent rooms with a shared bathroom). Not the Ritz but we got what we were looking for: good location, clean, parking, value, and one of the highlights of the trip: the old lady they keep talking about and her name is Pilar. Pilar serves a mean breakfast ($8 Euros/pp) - cafe con leche served with a smile.

Room Tip: If you need the family room, do email Isabel and let her know in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonzfamilyexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Dear Guest, as you say on your review if any traveler would like to book our family room, you just need to send me an e-mail and I will be pleased to personally assist you and help you with your reservation. I you have the chance to come back, Pilar will serve you our deliceous breakfast and welcome you with a broad smile. Kind regards, Isabel, Pilar and all the Sauce Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I stayed here for two nights in March for a long weekend to escape the grey skies of London. Zaragoza was the shot of sunshine I needed.

Located in the older part of the city, on a small street not far from the central plaza. The road was surprisingly quiet. Because the road is narrow, if you want to wake to the sun, ask for a room on an upper floor. The room was simple, but large and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Be aware may only be a hip bath for bathing.

It's in easy walking distance to most of the historic sites, so the location was good. There are numerous good tapas places just round the corners including a good cideria and an heladeria.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meagen_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Dear Guest, hello again from sunny and warm Zaragoza! Thank you for the photos of your room and for sharing them with other travelers around the world. Thank you for your cooperation and for your feedback. Kind regards from Isabel and all the Sauce Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
regina, canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel is located in the older part of the city, which often means that it's difficult to find and tough to park nearby. But in this case we found the hotel without much trouble, and the hotel has parking in an underground garage, just down and across the street (reserve ahead).

Be aware that the parking spots are very small. The hotel staff will take you across the street to the garage and guide you to the designated spot, and then direct you to park as close as possible to the next car. I did this after the hotel person asked me get even closer, and I figured 'no way is the next car getting out until I leave', but somehow that car was gone when we left, although I'm sure the driver was swearing at me.

Back to the hotel itself. The room was fairly simple, but large enough and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is located just a few blocks from the cathedral, close enough that you can hear the music they broadcast from the church in the morning and evening (this was pleasant, not a problem). It's in easy walking distance to most of the historic sites, so the location was good.

And finally, the price was very, very good. We paid 55 euros/night, plus parking (which was about 13 euros/night). The hotel was simple, but we paid more and felt like we got less at other locations.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livetotravelcdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Dear guest, thank you for your review. Sorry for the inconveniences about small and tight parking place. But on the other hand, our garage is just in the old and historic part of the city, very convenient and well located. Close walking distance to all the sights that the city offers. Sincere thanks from our cosy and family run hotel. Kind regards, Isabel and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stopped here for two nights whilst travelling to Valencia and wanted to visit the city. We selected Hotel Sauce because it was extremely close to the city centre and had it's own garage.
Our car is not overduely long (BMW330 Coupe) but there was no way we could have driven down the ramp and around the narrow corners in the garage.
This was no problem for the young lady at the reception desk. She came with us and directed us to the underground parking facility close to the hotel, which was guarded. and additionally we did not have to pay a surcharge for parking there. When we left the parking facility, we found ourselves in the middle of a torrential rain storm. Since neither my wife nor i as well as the lady from the reception desp had umbrellas, our young lady ran back to the hotel in the rain, changed out of her wet clothes and returned a few minutes later with umbrellas! An unequalled service; our sincerest thanks to her.

Our room was small, but clean and comfortable. We were subjected to some noise from a lorry unloading beer and mineral water at around six in the morning but otherwise a quiet street.

Breakfast was typically Spanish and cooked and served by an extremely nice lady who was very helpful, friendly and despite being on her own never stopped smiling.

All of the staff are to be recommended for their friendlyness, helpfullness and first class service.

The hotel is very close to the beautiful churches and other buildings in the centre of town as well as restaurants and tapas bars.

The value of money at Hotel Sauce could not be better always remembering that this a a bed and breakfast hotel and not a hotel with 4 or 5 stars!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIKEGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Dear Guests: What a beautiful headline " A small jewel in the centre of the city"!
I passed on your words of gratitude to Saray ( the girl that brought you the umbrellas to protect you from the heavy rain) and to Pili, (the smiling lady that served you breakfast) and to the rest of the Sauce Team. We are very proud of having such great guests. Thank you for your priceless time to publish this lovely review. Kind regards from Isabel and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We arrived much earlier than check-in & were offered a room which was quite small, but also offered a more spacious room if we were willing to wait (which was only a few minutes).

Unlike our stay in a nearby town where the reception person was rude and unhelpful, staff here were very helpful, able to answer our many questions and pleasant. Without their assistance I'm not sure we would have been able to sort out the hire car flat battery saga.

The included breakfast was really first class. The fresh orange juice & tortilla were delicious. The hotel also was also very central.

The only negative aspect was difficulty accessing the parking. The trick is to know the hotel parking is just a very short distance from the hotel on the opposite of the road to the hotel. If you drive too far you have to go all around the block again. Also, if you have a large vehicle you might need to check in advance.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear Guests. This is our goal: make our guests feel at home. So we are happy that all the Sauce Team took care of you and made your visit a special one to remember. We are very grateful for the 4 star review. Thank your for your generosity. Kind regards. Isabel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Zaragoza was the first leg of our drive between Barcelona and Valencia, and we stayed at Hotel Sauce only one night. Don't have any axes to grind about this establishment, the room and bathroom were spacious and clean, the buffet breakfast was very good, the staff friendly and helpful.The location of the hotel is excellent so we could easily visit the main sites of Zaragoza. We recommend anyone who is in the area to have a look at this city it is well worth while.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darwin1859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear Guests: thank you for pointing out on your review our convenient location, our nice rooms, our good breakfast and our friendly and helpful staff. We name you ambassadors for our hotel and the city of Zaragoza in your country. Hope you also enjoyed your visit to Barcelona and Valencia, but I must say Zaragoza is the best and as you said it is worth while to come and visit this amazing and surprising city. Kind regards. Isabel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Catalonia El Pilar
#1 of 78 in Zaragoza
1,054 reviews
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Tryp Zaragoza Hotel
#4 of 78 in Zaragoza
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
#15 of 78 in Zaragoza
468 reviews
San Pablo
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#11 of 78 in Zaragoza
631 reviews
Centro
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
#8 of 78 in Zaragoza
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sauce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sauce

Property: Hotel Sauce
Address: Calle Espoz y Mina 33, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Zaragoza
#2 Family Hotel in Zaragoza
#3 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sauce 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel in the center of SaragossaHotel Sauce is located in the historical, artistic and commercial center of Saragossa, close to Basilica del Pilar and Cathedral, La Seo de San Salvador and the best attractions of the city.Each room is uniqueHotel Sauce has 40 rooms. Each one has been personally decorated and taking care of the details.They are equiped with complete bathroom with hairdryer and toiletries, TV, telephone, individual safe, air conditioning, heating and free WiFi.Services that you can enjoy during your stayHomemade breakfast buffet with natural products, private parking, free WiFi, Cot Service, Meeting Room, Laundry Service, Fax and Regular Mail, Transfer to Airport and Baggage Storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sauce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauce Hotel Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing