We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean and Good Looking but rooms SOOOOOOOOO Small” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sauce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sauce
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and Good Looking but rooms SOOOOOOOOO Small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

In fairness to Sauce, they told me before I checked into my room that it was the smallest in the hotel. I asked for another room and they said it was filled. Not too expensvie and centrally located, stylish, too. But my room didn't feel like a hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tommygunsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guest:There is a very tiny single room that is on the first floor, very small. So I think this might be the room we gave you. The only reason that we couldn’t change you to another room was that we were full. We are very sorry for the inconveniences you didn’t feel comfortable in this little room. It is always the last one we sell ( out of 40 rooms) and only when we are very busy and fully booked. Thank you so much for letting us know!!! We definitely will give you a more spacious room if you have the chance to come back.
Kind regards. Isabel and all the Sauce Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    354
    70
    8
    6
See reviews for
268
441
36
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed two nights in November visiting a friend in Zaragoza. Hotel facilities are typical of a 2-star hotel, but the friendliness and service we received out-performed most 5-star establishments. I could not park outside or near the hotel because all spaces were full, and the roadworks in Zaragoza centre (they are extending the tram system) meant we ended up stopping in an underground car park 20 minutes from the hotel to get our bearings and walk to the hotel. The lady owner of the hotel not only walked back to the car park with me to direct me back to their own parking garage, but also insisted on paying my parking fee. Everybody in the hotel, from the girl cleaning the room to the receptionist, was friendly, polite and helpful. Very impressive.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guests: We do love the headline of your review!! From Carmen ( the lady owner that walked you to the hotel) , by the way, she is my mom. To friendly, helpful, kind and always with good sense of humor: Maribel, Javier, Gloria, Saray, Giuseppe, Alberto, Raul ( our reception staff) . To Pilar, the lady that serves you breakfast with a smile. All our hard working and happy cleaning ladies. Laura and Luis at the office. And me who is writing these lines ( Isabel) . We would like to say thank you. We are a team with personality!! Welcome to Hotel Sauce!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Hotel Sauce was a treat as I was spending 5 nights in Zaragoza. The comments by previous reviewers were helpful and accurate. This is a wonderful hotel with exceptionally courteous and helpful receptionists. The staff does the utmost to show their appreciation for your business. The room was of good size, had a desk and a nice bathroom. Everything was clean.
One night I could hear the guy in the room next to me snoring. But for some reason, noise does not bother me in Spain.
For those who don't have wifi devices, there was a computer for checking email downstairs.
I found the hotel to be a very comfortable place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guests: Thank you for confirming again the satisfaction and great experience of your stay in our hotel as other previous reviewers that you agree with. Let me underline again what you say, that apart from free Wifi Access in all rooms and common areas, there is a lounge with a computer with free Internet connection.. I think this is important information for those that are coming from abroad and not travelling with a laptop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We chose this hotel because of all the positive reviews when visiting our daughter who is spending the year at the university here. I would describe it as typically Spanish which is exactly what we wanted. This means that the room and bathroom are a bit on the small side by Northern Europeans or Americans' standards but I would much prefer to stay in such a place than in an anonymous chain hotel. The staff were very helpful at all times and despite staying over a public holiday heard no undue noise and had two great nights' sleep. We didn't have breakfast but being so central found a nice cafe nearby. The bill was really reasonable and if we visit again will look no further than the Hotel Sauce.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoverIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guests: Thank you for relying on us! As you say, we are not an anonymous chain hotel. We are a family run hotel with its own personality. And above all with a unique and wonderful staff. The support of our guests when reading all these reviews bear witness of this. Thank you so much for the 5 star review and for your support. All the Sauce Team and Isabel say thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Having read the other reviews i had to check if i was staying in the same hotel! The hotel is indeed in a side street in the centre of town, That,s a plus, the front of house staff very pleasant, another plus it all goes downhill after that i am afraid. The room facing the street is small, the bathroom also. The bath is a joke! so small !! but worse than that the dirt left in the bottom of the bath after the water is emptied is disgusting and that is without getting into it.
We went to bed (v very hard beds ) and at 1am the bars etc began to empty of their clients this went on until 5am, shouting, singing, mostly drunk i imagine and very noisy aided by someone in an adjacent room giving a masterclass in furniture movement until 4 am. Parking 13 euros!! very difficult and it is going to be almost impossible to get my car out i think.

I know its budget but there is no excuse for dirty bath water,and beds like a plank, as for the noise outside they can not do anything about it so its up to you if you want a very disturbed nights sleep. A gem it is not!!! sorry folks

Room Tip: Go to an out of town hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boscobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guests: What a shame! We are sorry we disappointed you! It didn’t work out! Everything went wrong this time I am afraid! It is a pity we didn’t fulfilled your expectations after reading other reviews. We don’t know what to say. Hope you could give us another chance so that we can compensate you for all the nuisances caused. But thank you so much for letting us know you opinion so that we will work hard to keep on improving everyday. Best regards, Isabel and all the Sauce team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsons, B.C.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We enjoyed a lovely weekend in Zaragoza at this small, well managed hotel, after coming from Madrid on the fast train (AVE). From the moment I made the reservation I knew that Hotel Sauce was one of those small hotels you feel lucky to have discovered. Front desk staff are both courteous and concerned. We got good advice about how to walk to major sights, and also a suggestion for a restaurant for dinner that we really enjoyed. The optional breakfast (8 euros) was good,and the lovely lady who runs the spotless breakfast room was warm and welcoming. Room rates were very reasonable for a clean, quiet, and pleasant place to stay. And some major guide books don't even mention this charming city!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guests: our goal is to provide our guests with the best service. That is why we help you plan you visit to beautiful Zaragoza in advance ( before you arrive, you can write us an e-mail) and during your stay once you are here. We will give you tips and good advice about places to eat and to visit so that you can make the most of your visit. There are soooo many things to discover…Isabel and the rest of the Sauce team say hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. Hotel is perfectly located, on the quite street, close to all major attractions, just steps away from the central square. Hotel is very clean, staff is nice and accommodating.
We had breakfast in the hotel - for the price it's a good value. Choice is not too big but food is of the good quality - freshly squized OJ, coffee, pastries, Spanish omelet they served was delicious. The lady serving the breakfast is extremely nice.
The hotel has a parking, but it was a little challenging to park - not much space.
We've recommended this hotel to our friends who will be traveling later this month.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lgeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Guests : We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our Buffet Breakfast: always made with love and care and served with the broad smile of our staff. Don’t miss the opportunity to try the best Spanish Omelette ever made! Thank your for recommending our hotel to your friends! Best Regards, Isabel and all the Sauce Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Catalonia El Pilar
#1 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Tryp Zaragoza Hotel
#4 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Zaragoza Centro
#15 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Centro
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
#7 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
San Pablo
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#12 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sauce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sauce

Property: Hotel Sauce
Address: Calle Espoz y Mina 33, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Zaragoza
#2 Family Hotel in Zaragoza
#3 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sauce 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel in the center of SaragossaHotel Sauce is located in the historical, artistic and commercial center of Saragossa, close to Basilica del Pilar and Cathedral, La Seo de San Salvador and the best attractions of the city.Each room is uniqueHotel Sauce has 40 rooms. Each one has been personally decorated and taking care of the details.They are equiped with complete bathroom with hairdryer and toiletries, TV, telephone, individual safe, air conditioning, heating and free WiFi.Services that you can enjoy during your stayHomemade breakfast buffet with natural products, private parking, free WiFi, Cot Service, Meeting Room, Laundry Service, Fax and Regular Mail, Transfer to Airport and Baggage Storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sauce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauce Hotel Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing