We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Sauce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sauce
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Rooms were great and service was very good. Brakfast was quite small but still good. Location is great and we like area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aino M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

This was our first time to Spain and Zaragoza and we totally lucked out by staying at Hotel Sauce. They had a garage for us to park our car off the street and the staff was soooo helpful. The room was small with no view and few amenities but the price could not be beat and once again, the staff was absolutely wonderful. We lucked out by being in Zaragoza during the "Concourse de Tapas" and had so much fun going from Tapas Bar to Tapas Bar tasting the best they had to offer. The next day we went on a sight seeing trip through the city and again had so much fun. For foodies, the market is a must see and take your camera.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KelleyYoungWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Guests: It is true, we have rooms with views and a little balcony, and rooms with no view in the inside part of the building but that they are very quiet and at the same time comfortable. We strongly recommend to go to the maze of narrow streets called “El Tubo”, the most popular and traditional tapas area of the city. It is very typical to go with friends or good company to these tapas bars and to drink some glasses of wine or beer. The market is also very nice. Everything around the corner!!!!! Best regards from Isabel and all the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

In fairness to Sauce, they told me before I checked into my room that it was the smallest in the hotel. I asked for another room and they said it was filled. Not too expensvie and centrally located, stylish, too. But my room didn't feel like a hotel room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommygunsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Guest:There is a very tiny single room that is on the first floor, very small. So I think this might be the room we gave you. The only reason that we couldn’t change you to another room was that we were full. We are very sorry for the inconveniences you didn’t feel comfortable in this little room. It is always the last one we sell ( out of 40 rooms) and only when we are very busy and fully booked. Thank you so much for letting us know!!! We definitely will give you a more spacious room if you have the chance to come back.
Kind regards. Isabel and all the Sauce Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed two nights in November visiting a friend in Zaragoza. Hotel facilities are typical of a 2-star hotel, but the friendliness and service we received out-performed most 5-star establishments. I could not park outside or near the hotel because all spaces were full, and the roadworks in Zaragoza centre (they are extending the tram system) meant we ended up stopping in an underground car park 20 minutes from the hotel to get our bearings and walk to the hotel. The lady owner of the hotel not only walked back to the car park with me to direct me back to their own parking garage, but also insisted on paying my parking fee. Everybody in the hotel, from the girl cleaning the room to the receptionist, was friendly, polite and helpful. Very impressive.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Guests: We do love the headline of your review!! From Carmen ( the lady owner that walked you to the hotel) , by the way, she is my mom. To friendly, helpful, kind and always with good sense of humor: Maribel, Javier, Gloria, Saray, Giuseppe, Alberto, Raul ( our reception staff) . To Pilar, the lady that serves you breakfast with a smile. All our hard working and happy cleaning ladies. Laura and Luis at the office. And me who is writing these lines ( Isabel) . We would like to say thank you. We are a team with personality!! Welcome to Hotel Sauce!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Hotel Sauce was a treat as I was spending 5 nights in Zaragoza. The comments by previous reviewers were helpful and accurate. This is a wonderful hotel with exceptionally courteous and helpful receptionists. The staff does the utmost to show their appreciation for your business. The room was of good size, had a desk and a nice bathroom. Everything was clean.
One night I could hear the guy in the room next to me snoring. But for some reason, noise does not bother me in Spain.
For those who don't have wifi devices, there was a computer for checking email downstairs.
I found the hotel to be a very comfortable place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Guests: Thank you for confirming again the satisfaction and great experience of your stay in our hotel as other previous reviewers that you agree with. Let me underline again what you say, that apart from free Wifi Access in all rooms and common areas, there is a lounge with a computer with free Internet connection.. I think this is important information for those that are coming from abroad and not travelling with a laptop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We chose this hotel because of all the positive reviews when visiting our daughter who is spending the year at the university here. I would describe it as typically Spanish which is exactly what we wanted. This means that the room and bathroom are a bit on the small side by Northern Europeans or Americans' standards but I would much prefer to stay in such a place than in an anonymous chain hotel. The staff were very helpful at all times and despite staying over a public holiday heard no undue noise and had two great nights' sleep. We didn't have breakfast but being so central found a nice cafe nearby. The bill was really reasonable and if we visit again will look no further than the Hotel Sauce.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoverIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Guests: Thank you for relying on us! As you say, we are not an anonymous chain hotel. We are a family run hotel with its own personality. And above all with a unique and wonderful staff. The support of our guests when reading all these reviews bear witness of this. Thank you so much for the 5 star review and for your support. All the Sauce Team and Isabel say thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Having read the other reviews i had to check if i was staying in the same hotel! The hotel is indeed in a side street in the centre of town, That,s a plus, the front of house staff very pleasant, another plus it all goes downhill after that i am afraid. The room facing the street is small, the bathroom also. The bath is a joke! so small !! but worse than that the dirt left in the bottom of the bath after the water is emptied is disgusting and that is without getting into it.
We went to bed (v very hard beds ) and at 1am the bars etc began to empty of their clients this went on until 5am, shouting, singing, mostly drunk i imagine and very noisy aided by someone in an adjacent room giving a masterclass in furniture movement until 4 am. Parking 13 euros!! very difficult and it is going to be almost impossible to get my car out i think.

I know its budget but there is no excuse for dirty bath water,and beds like a plank, as for the noise outside they can not do anything about it so its up to you if you want a very disturbed nights sleep. A gem it is not!!! sorry folks

Room Tip: Go to an out of town hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boscobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Guests: What a shame! We are sorry we disappointed you! It didn’t work out! Everything went wrong this time I am afraid! It is a pity we didn’t fulfilled your expectations after reading other reviews. We don’t know what to say. Hope you could give us another chance so that we can compensate you for all the nuisances caused. But thank you so much for letting us know you opinion so that we will work hard to keep on improving everyday. Best regards, Isabel and all the Sauce team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Catalonia El Pilar
#1 of 79 in Zaragoza
1,147 reviews
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
ILUNION Romareda
#19 of 79 in Zaragoza
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tryp Zaragoza Hotel
#4 of 79 in Zaragoza
884 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
#12 of 79 in Zaragoza
514 reviews
Centro
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
#6 of 79 in Zaragoza
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sauce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sauce

Address: Calle Espoz y Mina 33, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zaragoza
#3 Best Value Hotel in Zaragoza
#3 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range: $63 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sauce 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel in the center of SaragossaHotel Sauce is located in the historical, artistic and commercial center of Saragossa, close to Basilica del Pilar and Cathedral, La Seo de San Salvador and the best attractions of the city.Each room is uniqueHotel Sauce has 40 rooms. Each one has been personally decorated and taking care of the details.They are equiped with complete bathroom with hairdryer and toiletries, TV, telephone, individual safe, air conditioning, heating and free WiFi.Services that you can enjoy during your stayHomemade breakfast buffet with natural products, private parking, free WiFi, Cot Service, Meeting Room, Laundry Service, Fax and Regular Mail, Transfer to Airport and Baggage Storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sauce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauce Hotel Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing