We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old town location”
Review of Bilborooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bilborooms
Ranked #15 of 26 Bilbao B&B and Inns
ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great old town location”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This B&B was right in the old section - we loved being down there - up one flight of stairs. it is only about 20 minutes to the Guggenheim. Room was a good size - minimalist decor (Ikea type) but there was a TV and it was very clean. Reception people were helfpful and very, very friendly - and although they did not speak English, we had no trouble communicating. Breakfast was just basic - cereal, little cakes, that commercial dried toast - juice and coffee/tea. Good value for the money - and you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolynrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    32
    30
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
44
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed 3 nights and found the location in the old town perfect. Bilborooms is in a lovely old apartment building and the exposed beams and clean white walls give the place a rustic but cute look. Bathroom modern and spotless and our room (#3) had a great view onto the pedestrian street below, with traffic noise minimal and not disruptive at all. Great value also. But the best of all were our hosts, especially Irene who showered our baby with affectionate kisses and was more welcoming and helpful than we could have expected. Like other reviewers, we didn't find our hosts' lack of English a problem - their friendliness (and Google translate) overcame any difficulties.

Room Tip: #3 has a lovely view onto the street below
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randa37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Very helpful and friendly stafff. Limited English but no problem - Google Translate sorted any problems. A good base to explore Bilbao.Walking distance - albeit a good 20 minutes to the Guggenheim but very pleasant. Near public transport - both to go out on the metro to Getxo, Sopelana Beach etc (NB a 15 minute walk over the hill to the beach - just walk up from the metro to the main road , cross over and keep walking - not many signs!) and only a little further to get the the train from Atxuri Station to Guernika, Bermeo, Mundaka etc. Pleasant rooms - we had no good chairs to sit in but were compensated by having a small balcony to sit on and watch the world go by. The two rooms either side had extra space and chairs but the space for this came by just having windows. We preferred the balcony and our stools!! Breakfast was small but enough to get you going - and you could supplement with chocolate croissant from the bakery just across the street. It was a real boon to have basic kitchen (microwave, no kettle, cofffee machine) as eating out in the evening was not cheap. We came back a couple of nights and used the microwave rather than eating out. The set menus at lunchtime were a much better deal but we couldn't get used to having main meal in middle of day!!

Also, look out for free musuems. Museum de Bellas Artes Wednesday, Ethnographic/Basque (with model of Basque region on top floor) Thursday and Archaeological Friday. And do pay Cathedral a visit - come in middle door rather than front as really get sense of light best. Also, have a look at cloister!

Bottom line - a variety of things to see in bilbao and surroundings and Bilborooms a good price and setting from which to really enjoy it!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S.E.4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I stayed at Bilborooms for a long weekend. I reccomend it for the good location and the excellent value-for-money. It's in the medieval neighbourhood of Bilbao, very close to public transport (subway, tramway and buses). Rooms are small but nice and clean and personell is friendly and helpful. The area is probably the most colorful part of Bilbao, including many shops and taverns, but the hotel is very quiet.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cri03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

We stayed four nights at this hostal. The staff (who don't really speak english) were super friendly, often helping us with questions and special requests. Our no-frills room was small but clean and comfortable. The place offers a very light complimentary breakfast (coffee/juice and toast/cereal). Location in old town can't be beat (near train station and public transportation, too). Fair price, though maybe a little high for what you get. Shower was good and lots of hot water.

The drawbacks were that our room was right across the hall from the reception/entry, and adjacent to the common area kitchen where breakfast was served, so noisy when people were coming and going (though quiet during the night; no ear plugs necessary). We could also hear the water drains any time the rooms above us used the toilet sink or shower. Fortunately we had an interior room; i think an exterior room might have been just as noisy with the busy street location (not traffic but people). The room, while clean and comfortably, had a broken nightstand.

The odd thing was that you always left your key with reception when you went out, and then you needed to be buzzed in the front door to return. Plus the hostal is on the second floor, up a light of stairs with no elevator (that we could see anyway).

Not bad if you're not looking for anything fancy.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bloodshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We travel to Bilbao to visit family every year. This year we had a wedding and all of the cousins (11) stayed at Bilborooms, plus one baby. We rented the whole floor and some of us are staying on longer. I normally wouldn't imagine being comfortable staying at a hotel for weeks at a time - but this is more like a home with roommates. There is a common kitchen in the middle of the space, where we bought food and wine and actually used the kitchen space almost every day. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Everyone in the party was impressed with how clean and up to date the property was when compared to the other pencions in the area. Instead of invading our sister's house when coming next year, we're definitely staying here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobx11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Stayed for 5 nights. Had lovely time. Room was large and very basic with nice bathroom although the room could do with a lick of paint. Clean towels and beds made up daily. There was also breakfast included. Orange juice, tea/coffee, cereal, bun and small toasts with margarine. We found it adequate but it may not be for others. No cheeses or hams or jams. In an ideal location in the Old Town with hundreds of bars and restaurants all around. Fantastic transport system. Metro brings you to the beaches in about 20 minutes. The Hostel is run by a lovely family who could not have been more helpful or friendly. To get in you have to ring the bell and then walk up several steps of stairs to another locked door and into reception. Going up the steps you are not sure what to expect but once inside the reception area its fine. For fantastic food and exceptionally friendly staff you must go to Bar/Restaurante GAU-TXORI, in Casco Viejo. A 3-course lunch with full bottle of wine and water cost €9 each per person. Truly amaxing. We loved Bilbao and its friendly people. One word of warning though you must be very careful as there are many pickpockets around. We would certainly return to Bilborooms and would recommend it to friends but it may not be for everyone as it isn't a Hotel, more a B/B or a Hostel. We paid just €27 each per night for the room and that included the breakfast. It is perfectly adequate and safe if you are on a budget. A Farrell, Dublin

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annieoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Bilbo Zaharra
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
#24 of 42 in Bilbao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#14 of 42 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Bilbo Zaharra
Petit Palace Arana
Petit Palace Arana
#17 of 42 in Bilbao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilborooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilborooms

Property: Bilborooms
Address: Victor 3, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bilborooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing