We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,697)
Filter reviews
2,697 results
Traveller rating
1,424
1,029
173
44
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,424
1,029
173
44
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outskirts of town old town bus stop right outside the hotel free shuttle great hotel rooms are huge the bus modern hotel secure parking minute walk casco viejo highly recommend this hotel quiet area hotel restaurant breakfast buffet guggenheim museum public transport
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 2,697 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2017

This was a brilliant experience.
As travelling with kids we had booked the quadruple room and got very happy and surprised when we, after the quick and pleasant check-in, walked in to basically an apartment with 2 separate bedrooms. Quadruples are usually the beds squashed into a normal sized room.
In the bathroom, nice and large, the kids got their individual toiletry kits, us grown ups as well, and that was such a nice little gesture.
Further, there was complimentary waterbottles for all as well as slippers.

We never tried the restaurant for dinner as we went to the old town that is 10 minute walk away.
But must say that the breakfast was absolutely brilliant. There were everything anybody would ever want for breakfast. The normal english or continental but also a huge variery of smoothies and other healthy choices. Chefs cooked omelettes to your requirements and it was just such nice and pleasant breakfast that we sat there for a very long time and sampled many of their high quality products, 5*+ for breakfast.
Check out was very quick and effecient and all staff at the hotel are effecient and very friendly.
Higly recomend this hotel if youre in Bilbao.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Heson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz M, Guest Experience at Hotel Gran Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Dear Heson1,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We are thrilled to know that you have enjoyed your experience at Gran Bilbao Hotel.

It's wonderful to read your kind comments about our breakfast, rooms and service as well as our convenient location really close to the old town. It is great to know that you and your family felt happy in one of our quadruple rooms, which guarantee comfort for the whole family.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future. We remind you that by joining the Club HGB on our official website, you can enjoy an exclusive 10% discount on your reservation. BEST PRICE GUARANTEED.

Kindest regards,

Beatriz Martínez
Guest Experience
guestexperience@hotelgranbilbao.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2017

This is a lovely hotel, 5 minutes walk from the old town. Reception staff were very helpful, supplying us with a map and pointing out where all the points of interest was. All staff were very friendly and always had a smile on their face. The room was very comfortable and a good size. The breakfast selection was amazing, there was something for everyone. Will definitey go back again.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmarsutra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz M, Guest Experience at Hotel Gran Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear carmarsutra,

Thank you so much for your very kind comments!

We are delighted to read that you had a 5 stars experience with us during your trip and that we meet your expectations.

We are really happy to know that you enjoyed the room and that you felt warmly welcomed by our staff. It's lovely learn that our location allowed you to enjoy your visits through the city comfortably.

We would love to welcome you back. We remind you that by joining the Club HGB on our official website, you can enjoy an exclusive 10% discount on your reservation. BEST PRICE GUARANTEED.

Kindest regards,

Beatriz Martínez
Guest Experience
guestexperience@hotelgranbilbao.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel.

Our room was spacious, comfy bed and deep bath. Spotlessly clean. The breakfast is great and the sandwiches are a reasonable price.

It is quite a way from the centre of Bilbao and is at the top of a steep hill. As a tourist I wish I had picked a more central hotel.

It is professional with good service more of a business hotel than leisure.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank anneh678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz M, Guest Experience at Hotel Gran Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Anne H,

We feel really glad to know that our hotel lived up to your expectations, thank you for sharing your recent stay, helping other Tripadvisor travelers to know our facilities.

We are located in a quiet area but very close to main attractions as the old town, the theater or the Ribera market. We are also really close to the motorway access and well connected with public transport, although the city can be visited walking comfortably. We regret that you have not fully enjoyed this aspect.

Thank you for your comments about our rooms. We count with several room categories, for a next visit, you will find all details and best offers on our website. You can also contact us for any enquiry you may have.

It would be a pleasure welcoming you back soon.

Beatriz Martínez
Guest Experience
guestexperience@hotelgranbilbao.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2017

Arrived to hotel after a flight from the US to Madrid, followed by a leisurely 4.5 hour drive to Bilbao, arriving on a late Sunday afternoon. Difficult to find any free street parking, however, hotel has ample secure, paid parking under the property. Room was clean and equipped....wifi worked great. Short walk down to Old Town---I've read other reviews of people complaining having to walk "up hill" back to the property---it's not bad at all---we even did it on a drizzly evening. For the price and amenities--the place was well worth it!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz M, Guest Experience at Hotel Gran Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Bob F,

We would like to thank you for taking some of your valuable time to share your positive experience at Gran Bilbao Hotel.

It is a pleasure to learn how much do you enjoyed our facilities and location, we are located really close to the old town, one of the best areas to enjoy culture and gastronomy of the city. Thank you also for highlighting our large parking and wifi free service.

All HGB team wants to welcoming you soon again! Kind regards,

Beatriz Martínez
Guest Experience
guestexperience@hotelgranbilbao.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Stayed here two nights at end of tour of the Basque Country. Hotel is about seven years old and very modern and anodyne. It is out of the city centre and up a hill. 15 minute walk down to the action. A good 20 minutes back up.
However, hotel has large underground carpark - in a city where parking is at a premium.
There is an occasional shuttle bus service to the main attractions and an excellent, regular bus service from immediately outside the hotel to take the pain out of the walk up the hill (in particular). The rooms are quite large and the bathroom shower has one of those multi-jet showers.
The staff were friendly and helpful. But best of all was the buffet breakfast.
Definitely the best quality and choice of buffet breakfast we had on this trip.
Only thing I never understand is the logic of putting butter and jam next to the coffee rather than the bread and croissants! Perhaps that is why I love Spain?

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Largesarge1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz M, Guest Experience at Hotel Gran Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Largesarge1961,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are extremely happy to read that we have met your expectations.

We are delighted to read that you did enjoy our breakfast buffet. It is composed by a complete selection of natural products like smoothies, apple crumble, freshly squeezed juices or fresh baked bakery. Also we offer vegan and gluten free products.

Thank you also for your comments about our comfortable rooms and showers, some of our rooms also have a bathtub.

We are glad that you used our free transfer service, which is available during the weekends in September.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again on your next visit to Bilbao! We remind you that by joining the Club HGB on our official website, you can enjoy an exclusive 10% discount on your reservation. BEST PRICE GUARANTEED.

Kind regards,

Beatriz Martínez
Guest Experience
guestexperience@hotelgranbilbao.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews