We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,691)
Filter reviews
2,693 results
Traveller rating
1,422
1,027
173
44
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,422
1,027
173
44
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outskirts of town old town bus stop right outside the hotel free shuttle great hotel rooms are huge the bus modern hotel secure parking minute walk casco viejo highly recommend this hotel quiet area hotel restaurant breakfast buffet guggenheim museum public transport
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 2,693 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

rooms very large, very clean and quiet. Breakfast was very good and the service from all the staff was excellent The hotel is located outside the old town but a very regular bus service (stop outside the hotel) top tip is to get a Barik Card

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EdinburghGolferman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gran Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good morning EdinburghGolferman,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share this magnificent review with the traveller community!

It is our main priority to make our guests feel welcome in order to provide you with a unique, special and memorable experience and we are delighted to read that our guests appreciate this.

It has been a real pleasure to have you here and we keep looking forward to welcoming you back soon and providing you with another excellent and unforgettable experience.

Kind regards,

Beatriz Martínez
Guest Experience
guestexperience@hotelgranbilbao.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2018

Excellent hotel all the staff are incredibly helpful and attentive, the breakfast is amazing, would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bilbao. There are two metro stops within walking distance of the hotel and the old town is a short walk away five minutes or so.

Room tip: I was in room 205 nice and quiet with lots of space and a rain shower
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MontagueKendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gran Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Curiosity37016894612,

Thank you very much for choosing us during your recent travel to Bilbao and for sharing this excellent review with other travellers considering accommodation in Bilbao.

It has been a real pleasure to have you here and we would love welcome you back really soon!

Kind regards,

Beatriz Martínez
Guest Experience
guestexperience@hotelgranbilbao.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018

We stayed at Hotel Gran Bilbao for 2 nights with our 3 kids in October. The Hotel is very near the city centre, around 20 mins walking distance, but there is also a bus if you're feeling a bit lazy (n. 77).

Our room was absolutely huge, well equipped and clean. There is free fruit and drinks in the reception area for clients to enjoy. The hotel is well decorated and stylish. We had 2 connected bedrooms with 2 tvs (which the kids loved!). You also get good quality toiletries and slippers.

The breakfast is definitely worth paying for. Amazing selection of healthy (and to so healthy) goodies, huge Nespresso coffee machines, teas, cereals, bread, cooked breakfast, smoothies, juices (real juice!), fruit and loads more. There is a children area with a tv so parents can have a relaxed time if the kids get bored.

I'd like to mention a member of the staff, Carmen, who went the extra mile for us. She not only looked after us in every single aspect, but also was kind, caring, funny and very professional! On our second day she had prepared our table and already served some of our kids' favourites even before we where there! Thank you Carmen, you really made a different to our stay.

I would strongly recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Food4Good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gran Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Food4Good,

Thank you very much for choosing Gran Bilbao Hotel during your stay in Bilbao last October and for taking the time to share this memorable experience with other travellers!

It makes us truly happy to make our guests happy and it is very rewarding the feedbacks we receive by doing what we love. We are genuinely glad to know that your stay with us surpassed your expectation and we were able to deliver the unique, enjoyable and unforgettable stay that we always aim to offer our guests.

It has been a real pleasure to have you here with us and we can't wait to welcome you back again really soon!

Beatriz Martínez
Guest Experience
guestexperience@hotelgranbilbao.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2018

We were well greeted at the Hotel Granl Bilbao. The reception area is attractive in a modern way. We were upgraded to the suite on the 8th floor. Lo and behold, we were so surprised to find a very luxurious and spacious room with cream leather couches, leather bed, a walk in closet and a bathroom to die for: state of the art shower, huge whirlpool bath, his and hers sink and plenty of fluffy towels and high quality soaps and lotions. We had dinner at the hotel that night which unfortunately was very average and the room was depressing. The breakfast was a w/e brunch(not in the same room as the dinner). Great spread, everything you would wish for in a brunch. Excellent food. We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Gran Bilbao for obvious reasons and our only regret is that we didn’t get to stay longer.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Toogreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gran Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Toogreat,

We are genuinely grateful for all the kind words shared with all the travellers.

We cannot be happier to see that you had the great time. It is delightful to know that you greatly enjoyed of the lovely room, your magnificent review is the greatest reward we could receive.

It has been a real pleasure to have you here with us and we keep looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Beatriz Martínez
Guest Experience
guestexperience@hotelgranbilbao.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2018

This is a fairly average hotel at this price point, with an acceptable room, though the breakfast buffet needs to be singled out as especially good. You might like this hotel, but only under two conditions: you do not mind long dark hallways, and you have nothing against strong scents.

First, the minor problem: in order to save power, the lights in the hallways are motion-activated. This might work in theory, but in practice they are slow and insensitive. This meant that more often than not, my wife and I would leave the room or the elevator and be forced to walk through a dark hallway. It gave the place an abandoned feel which was not at all welcome.

The more serious problem was the pervasive use of strong scents. When we checked into our room, we had to open a window and then leave for a few hours just for the scent to clear out. The hallways, meanwhile, have little scent-spraying units up on the walls that spray periodically and totally unnecessarily. If, like us, you don't like strong scents, then this hotel is a headache waiting to happen.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jakub V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gran Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Dear Jakub V,

Thank you very much for choosing Gran Bilbao hotel and for taking the time to share your impressions with us.

Allow us to express our concern regarding the disappointment experienced during your recent stay with us. We are truly saddened to know about your dissatisfaction regarding the air freshener. We will check the frequency of the fragrance found in the corridors; Likewise, we will share with the housekeeping her experience to avoid a recurrence in the future.

We will also check the light detector with maintenance service.

For future stays, we kindly invite you to get in touch with us prior to your arrival in order to provide you with a better stay. We know that this hotel is capable of offering much more than what you have unfortunately experienced and we would love to have another opportunity in order to provide you with the excellent experience we are used to delivering and that you deserve.

Kind regards,

Beatriz Martínez
Guest Experience
guestexperience@hotelgranbilbao.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews