We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Occidental Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Bilbao
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Luxurious beds and great Wi-Fi and food. The Occidental was perfect for my weekend business trip and the staff were a great help and recommended some great restaurants and attractions.

Will be staying again next year!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank jake I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2017

Stayed at this hotel as we were visiting our daughter who was on her year abroad. Hotel in great location, lovely views of Bilbao but not great for those less able as there are a lot of steps down to the old town. Reception area fab and rooms were just as good. Loved having access to mini fridge and safe. Excellent cleanliness and room serviced every day. Bed was the comfiest hotel bed I have ever slept in - wonderful!!

Thank you for a lovely holiday and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank SheenaB260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina G, Manager at Occidental Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Sheena,

Thank you very much for your time giving us your nice comments.

The long way with stairs is one option to go to the city centre, but also we have the metro station 5 minutes far from the hotel. Do not miss the opportunity to use it during your next visit to Bilbao.

We are grateful to know that you have enjoyed the facilities of the hotel. We hope to be your choice of accommodation again in the city.

Best regards,

Itziar Ortiz
Management Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We stayed as a city get away. We were expecting to have use of pool as described but didn't. Have to pay extra for spa which is good quality however it is not a day pass it is to go in once.
Food poor standard and not cooked. Burger was cold in the middle and raw, did take it back and tried again but then my meal was cold as took a very long time to come out as wanted to eat together. No apology but barman was shocked by the burger and how it wasn't cooked!
Corridor of the hotel had strong smell of sewerage which was off putting for a more expensive hotel. Wireless doesn't work as drops out and such low signal speed this could have just been on the lower floor.
Billiards table cues broken, when asked if they had anymore told they bought 4 in January so that's all they can do! So couldn't play.
Overall paid a premium for extra services but would have been better getting a cheaper central hotel as they actually have the same facilities despite what this hotel claims/shows as not all in use e.g outdoor pool.
Not worth using and better getting central hotel

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina G, Manager at Occidental Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Pete,

Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our hotel , we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us.

I do personally apologise for the incident at our restaurant, the whole team makes a big effort in order to get our customer satisfaction and i am very sorry we didnt achieve it this time. We buy all our products in our corporative providers so the company and ourselfs can guaranteed the quality of the dishes we serve. We have already informed our team in order to pay attention to the way the food is cooked.

Regarding our WIFI connection, i would kindly ask you to let us know the room number your were allocated in order to check the system, and avoid this kind of incident in the future. Anyway we have already talked to our IT manager to check all the antennes.

Although as i said before, i do regret your disappointment with your stay in our hotel, but thanks to your constructive critics we already have our billiard table cues new.

Please be assured that your comments has been taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

Best regards,
Cristina Gómez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

very nice hotel, very comfortable, excellent breakfast
people very helpfull at the front desk
rooms are ok and general infraestructure fine
probably far away from the tourist area which makes not so convinient to walk around

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Santiago H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

The personell in the reception and in th bar were very unfriendly and not at all serviceminded. They made you feel as ig you were disturbing them when you wanted service. No smiles what so ever from anyone

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank brittmarye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina G, Manager at Occidental Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you reaching out on Tripadvisor to notify us of your concerns related to your recent stay at our hotel and apologize if you experienced any inconsistency in our service, we have read your review with our utmost attention and will take note of your constructive remarks.

It is with great concern that we read your comments about our staff mostly because their service has been praised many times for their professionalism yet genuine friendliness and we assure you that what you described is not the norm for us. We appreciate you taking the time to notify us of your personal expérience and rest assured that your review will be discussed with all departmental managers for evaluation and action as needed.

We sincerely lament reading that your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been and we would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to make your next holiday experience an unforgettable one for all the right reasons.

Best regards,
Cristina Gómez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We were coached here by Vueling as our flight was cancelled due to French strike last Tuesday . Considering a coachload of us arrived around 8p.m. with only a little warning from Vueling the staff coped extremely well. They laid on a buffet dinner which was excellent and apart from a bit of a wait when registering at reception the whole thing went smoothly. Bedroom was clean and tidy and reasonable size and all staff were very helpful. Tasty breakfast with plenty of choice. It is slightly out of the centre but there is a bus stop right outside the hotel and a 4/5 min. walk takes you to the metro.
TIP take the lift down to the gym and walk out of that door - turn left and there are the bus stops or continue on to the end of the road and the metro entrance is on your right. Much shorter walk on level ground -rather than exiting from the main lobby entrance.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oldsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Night at Bilbao - very good quality of staff and equipment , I can recomment this hotel for all users. I was in this hotel second time and if I will be at Bilbao I will choose this hotel.
thank you very much!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank dominikamariam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#15 of 42 in Bilbao
2,187 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#11 of 42 in Bilbao
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Bilbao

Address: Avenida Zumalacarregui, 40, 48006 Bilbao, Spain (Formerly Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: $92 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Bilbao 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Avenida Hotel Bilbao
Barcelo Hotel Avenida
Barcelo Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing