We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay ”
Review of Occidental Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Bilbao
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Room was very nice bar food acceptable. car parking I though excessive (€19 per 24hrs) and not clear in booking. Avoid the English Buffett breakfast, mine was cold and did not agree with me. The cold option now looked a better option but can't give my views on that. Overall we enjoyed the short stay but learnt as well.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DennisBarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2017

A very nice hotel-experience only 311 steps away from the old town of Bilbao. And Bilbao itself is a city well-worth visiting - you can still feel its industrial past that has been upgraded with new urban interventions and facilities, not to mention the beautiful nearby cost.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank 55mn2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina G, Manager at Occidental Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your time. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed our hotel facilities and the city.

For your next stay, remember that the metro stop that we have 100 meters away saves those 311 steps to the hotel. We will be proud to be your choice for your next visit to Bilbao.

Best regards,
Itziar Ortiz
Management department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Not a bad place to stay. The gym and pools are not included in the price. Food at the bar is good but small portions for hungry travellers.

Generally the hotel has a relaxed feel.

The city is down a steep hill so you get a nice view of the city below and which is an easy walk until you have to return back to the hotel.

Car park is below the hotel building.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Njc626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina G, Manager at Occidental Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal.

As you say ,our hotel’s strategic location, just a few minutes from the historic centre, makes it the perfect base for visiting the main tourist attractions. It has good transport links with the metro, and buses. We usually recommend have a nice walk down to the city center and use the public trasnport for coming back.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Best regards,
Cristina Gómez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Luxurious beds and great Wi-Fi and food. The Occidental was perfect for my weekend business trip and the staff were a great help and recommended some great restaurants and attractions.

Will be staying again next year!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank jake I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Stayed at this hotel as we were visiting our daughter who was on her year abroad. Hotel in great location, lovely views of Bilbao but not great for those less able as there are a lot of steps down to the old town. Reception area fab and rooms were just as good. Loved having access to mini fridge and safe. Excellent cleanliness and room serviced every day. Bed was the comfiest hotel bed I have ever slept in - wonderful!!

Thank you for a lovely holiday and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank SheenaB260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina G, Manager at Occidental Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Sheena,

Thank you very much for your time giving us your nice comments.

The long way with stairs is one option to go to the city centre, but also we have the metro station 5 minutes far from the hotel. Do not miss the opportunity to use it during your next visit to Bilbao.

We are grateful to know that you have enjoyed the facilities of the hotel. We hope to be your choice of accommodation again in the city.

Best regards,

Itziar Ortiz
Management Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We stayed as a city get away. We were expecting to have use of pool as described but didn't. Have to pay extra for spa which is good quality however it is not a day pass it is to go in once.
Food poor standard and not cooked. Burger was cold in the middle and raw, did take it back and tried again but then my meal was cold as took a very long time to come out as wanted to eat together. No apology but barman was shocked by the burger and how it wasn't cooked!
Corridor of the hotel had strong smell of sewerage which was off putting for a more expensive hotel. Wireless doesn't work as drops out and such low signal speed this could have just been on the lower floor.
Billiards table cues broken, when asked if they had anymore told they bought 4 in January so that's all they can do! So couldn't play.
Overall paid a premium for extra services but would have been better getting a cheaper central hotel as they actually have the same facilities despite what this hotel claims/shows as not all in use e.g outdoor pool.
Not worth using and better getting central hotel

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina G, Manager at Occidental Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Pete,

Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our hotel , we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us.

I do personally apologise for the incident at our restaurant, the whole team makes a big effort in order to get our customer satisfaction and i am very sorry we didnt achieve it this time. We buy all our products in our corporative providers so the company and ourselfs can guaranteed the quality of the dishes we serve. We have already informed our team in order to pay attention to the way the food is cooked.

Regarding our WIFI connection, i would kindly ask you to let us know the room number your were allocated in order to check the system, and avoid this kind of incident in the future. Anyway we have already talked to our IT manager to check all the antennes.

Although as i said before, i do regret your disappointment with your stay in our hotel, but thanks to your constructive critics we already have our billiard table cues new.

Please be assured that your comments has been taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

Best regards,
Cristina Gómez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

very nice hotel, very comfortable, excellent breakfast
people very helpfull at the front desk
rooms are ok and general infraestructure fine
probably far away from the tourist area which makes not so convinient to walk around

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Santiago H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#15 of 42 in Bilbao
2,186 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#11 of 42 in Bilbao
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Bilbao

Address: Avenida Zumalacarregui, 40, 48006 Bilbao, Spain (Formerly Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: $93 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Bilbao 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Avenida Hotel Bilbao
Barcelo Hotel Avenida
Barcelo Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing