We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
218
218
46
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
218
46
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews funicular railway short drive hill overlooking the city peaceful location circular route main building fitted the bill perfectly minutes by car ferry port city centre dogs barking runs every minutes driving holiday easy access no air conditioning return journey complimentary toiletries
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 494 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2015 via mobile

Simple two star hotel. Very clean and large rooms. There was some noise from the neighboring room so if you are sensitive you should ask for a room far from others. The Internet was non existent and cell phone reception sketchy. We did not have breakfast so I cannot say how it was. The dining room is quaint.

This little hotel could be a great choice if you have a car. It's just two km. from the finnicular which will take you down the hill and into the city. There is a parking lot and some cute restaurants by the station and the surrounding area is pretty and quiet.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Judyjazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2015

Amazing value for money (Euros 65 room only). Close to airport, very comfortable, quiet location but could be different if adjoining restaurant was open - we stayed Sunday night when it was closed. Great views over Bilbao. Couple of kms from funicular and good restaurant - Txakoli.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FlaxB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2015

we stopped in portugalete last year and decided to stop a little further out this time.
we arrived late afternoon and was greeted by the owner who was very helpful.

we were a little disapointed there was no bar on site , but a short stroll over the road there is a hotel/bar serving a la carte and tapas.

we went in the evening to the resaurant near the railway and the food was very good, the wine was also excellent.

we had breakfast and the selection was very good and the staff were so helpful.

parking is onsite and well lit.

internet speed is fast.

the room was clean and spacious.

the review would have been 5 but for the lack of air conditioning. we didnt want to leave our window open.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ceciliamjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2015 via mobile

Rooms were clean, staff was very friendly and the location was great. One top of a hill with a unique view off Bilbao. City is easy to reach with a small mountain train (funicular). Great for the kids, only 2 km from the hotel, free parking and ticket costs less than €1,-.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mathijsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2015

We booked this because it was described as a farmhouse hotel we we wrongly assumed it was a country farmhouse hotel something more special than it actually was.
But that aside this hotel is worth it a visit due to its location above the city, it's free parking and the nearby funicular carriage down to the city.

It is divided between three stone buildings. We stayed in the third one of which the restaurant was located. The access to the rooms is by a small stairs but that was not an issue for us.

Reception is in the first building and check in was easy and informative, the guy there gave detailed info on various local restaurants and the funicular carriage down the mountain.

The room is averaged sized but clean. The bathroom was a bit small but had a good shower.

We had breakfast at the added cost in the morning of €7 each. It was buffet style and while not extensive it was quite good.

The restaurant on-site is not owned/run by the hotel. Some reviews of it were not that inspiring but it was a long day and did not want to drive to the one recommended by reception so we took the chance. The manager and staff have zero English and we have near as much Spanish so the language was a barrier in deciphering menu and ordering.
Over all it was good food, we had very good steak, not cheap but not expensive for what we ate.

I have reviewed it on its own page.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TWPF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews