We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
111
255
107
28
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
255
107
28
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus sights are within walking distance nice clean hotel old city sunday evening san mames room was spotless stayed longer minute walk funicular railway stayed one night top floor tapas air con good size would definitely stay here again casco viejo
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 508 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

A very good hotel with good location in the city. The tramp is just outside and the metro is a few minutes walk away. Less than 10 mins walk to the main bus station where you can take a bus to the airport for 3 euro. There is a big supermarket nearby. The room is big with a spacious bathroom. The air-con was not functioning well in our room. It was too warm. The pillows are too soft and flat for us. I had some difficulty to sleep because of that. The breakfast was very good. Good scrambled eggs, good fruits and everything you wish for. Good service and friendly staff who speak good English. We love this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Margareta189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is clean and the staff friendly but the hotel is poorly designed such that it is nearly impossible to get a quiet room or any kind of view. The staff is friendly but don't expect them to give you anything extra...in fact, don't expect them to give you what you paid for! Unfortunately I had pre-paid but they didn't have what I paid for and I was certainly not going to get any sort of refund. In addition, if you have to leave early as your business schedule changed, they have your money and you will not get a cent back eventhough I had already stayed there 5 days. They even made me pay for a Coke I didn't drink. I should have just walked out but was afraid of the back end charges this sort of place would have charged me. I am coming back to Bibao in a month and would normally stay somewhere I had stayed before...not this time. That's an estimated $600€ loss. A few very simple customer relations pieces would have changed that...

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZENITBILBAO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Zenit Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Thanks for your opinion Jeff R. We are so sorry but when you made the reservation you get a discount for a nonrefundable rate. The conditios for the reservatios were very clear about cancelations. We NEVER charge for drinks that the guest don´t drink. For the next reservations, we recomend you the regular rate because they are refundable and if you want to cancel the policies are more flexible. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

Upon arrival at the hotel, the receptionist was very helpful. Not a striking building nor a particularly welcoming lobby, we would wait before drawing conclusions. Parking in the hotel parking was the most expensive we have encountered at nearly €25 per night. But to her credit, the receptionist did inform us that parking on the street was free for the month of August. My Spanish is not excellent so maybe I didn't get the the reason for the free on-street parking was because of a strike by the enforcers! There were some really surprising positive things the came from the chat with the receptionist, the fact that the tram terminus was directly outside the hotel serving the San Mames stadium, the new concert venues, the Guggenheim, the old town (Casco Viejo) and Gran Via, the class high street. So many tourist locations were reacheable with the €1.50 fare on the tram. A Metro station was just minutes away serving all of the towns on the way to the beach of Plencia. So all of that was great. But you have to have a good bed in your room and our bed was below standard to put it simply. There was no atmosphere in the lobby so much so that it felt like a venue that would be used by those not paying the bills out of their own pockets, a hotel for business travellers. This trip included hotels in Pamplona and Bayonne and this was the most expensive. And both of the others scored better. It was fine but not excellent.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fergus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018

This was our first time in Bilbao and we are so glad we chose this hotel. It is nice and modern and the staff in Reception were the best we have ever had. They were all so friendly and helpful with directions, transport and recommendations of where to go. They always had the time to answer any questions we had. For us the location was excellent. Whilst it is far from the old town there is a good area of bars and restaurants within a 10 minute walk. There is a tram stop right outside the hotel, the train station is about a 5 minute walk and the bus station about 15 minutes. As long as you like walking you can walk to all the attractions in the city. Would recommend the funicular railway which gives you wonderful views of Bilbao and the surrounding countryside from the top. Would definitely stay here again if we are back in Bilbao.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CookGlasgowScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZENITBILBAO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Zenit Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Thank you so much for your opinion CookGlasgow !!! Hope see you soon agin in our hotel. Best regards. JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018

This is a nice location as the hotel is at the end of the tramway, but it is quite a walk into the old quarter. The staff are very helpful and breakfast will keep you going for the best part of the day. However, there is some noise from the street below if you are at the front of the hotel

Room tip: Rooms at the front suffer from traffic noise
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Valerie342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews