We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Hotel Bilbi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bilbi
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Good clean rooms, bedsheets, bathroom and helpful staff. It IS near an unfavourable part of town but this can be avoided by heading straight down to the river. Stayed here while travelling to watch Athletic Club vs Manchester United. We walked just about everywhere but there are good transport links nearby. Overall a good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GerryNezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

The hotel is in a weird neighborhood (with a lot of ladies of the night). The rooms are ok, the staff is helpful. Aircon, hairdryer (which didn't blow hot air). Were woken up a few times during the night (you can hear everything through the thin walls). All in all: if you need a place just to come back late and sleep - good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LellaPella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Very nice and clean place to stay. The reception is really good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thaporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Very comfortable mattress, new bathroom. Simple but comfortable. The corridors have no decoration at all, unless the owners were looking for the "unfinished warehouse" style (you get used to it). Street view rooms are warmer, even though all of them have central heating / aircon. I stayed 4-5th november 2011, in single and double rooms.
The price in low season (29€ single, 39€ double / bed only) it's even better than in the "pensiones" as in Bilbi Hotel you have private bathroom.
The red light district? You won't see it unless you want to stroll around. From "Casco Viejo" (old city) to the hotel it takes a 5 minute walk crossing a bridge. You will meet a restaurant and a bar at the end of this bridge. When it doesn´t rain, people enjoys drinking outside of the bar, overlooking the "Ria".
In general, highly recommended. Low season, great price. High season, better go to "pensiones" if you are a budget traveller.
Helpful and friendly recepcionist (Lander).

Room Tip: Street view rooms, the others are darker
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MAngeles1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This is a well located, good value place to stay in Bilbao. The room was small, functional and clean; a few minutes from the old town and about 15-20 mins walk to the Guggenheim. The staff were polite and friendly, and spoke good English. If you want a simple room for the night that does not cost the earth, this is a decent option.

Room Tip: A top floor room is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Worldwanderer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed 2 days in hotel Bilbi during a holiday that took us along the Basque Country coast. We were a little scared because of some comments here, and Google Maps took a through the "red light district". For Bilbao people it is the 5th parish or the San Fransisco quarter. Since I was walking there with my wife, the "working girls" stayed where they were. Don't bother site seeing there, I can assure you, there is no eye-candy over there.

The hotel was all we needed. A clean room, close to the old town, close to the tramway. The room seemed to be redecorated not long ago, no complains there. Bathroom was clean with daily fresh towels. Just the design of the halway on our floor was rather strange with the lighting on the floor and the very, very dark walls. I hope they didn't pay the interior designer too much for that.

Reception staff was friendly and spoke basic English, they were very happy that my wife speaks Spanish. There's free WiFi in the rooms, password at the reception, although connection dropped sometimes. There is also a computer available at the entrance of the hotel for use by the hotelguests.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, I don't think the hotel offers breakfast. But, since you're just a footbridge away from the old town, that's not a problem.

Would I go back? Probably not. Not because it's a bad hotel, but just because you have Pensions at even better locations that offer hotel services at the same price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank repetitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The hotel is located close to old city. The people were really friendly and the room was clean, comfortable with a really cool and nice design. It was really quiet and the services fantastic. We loved it and we recomend everybody to prefer Bilbi for nice holidays!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lukas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#15 of 42 in Bilbao
2,137 reviews
Pension Don Claudio
#29 of 42 in Bilbao
80 reviews
Hotel Sirimiri
#26 of 42 in Bilbao
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Estrella Ostatu
#35 of 42 in Bilbao
65 reviews
Artxanda Hotel
#30 of 42 in Bilbao
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bilbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bilbi

Address: C/ Miribilla, 8 | Bizkaia, 48003 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range: $67 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bilbi 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bilbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilbi Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing