We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great little 2 star hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Alemana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Alemana
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great little 2 star hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at Hostal Alemana, and I would stay there again. It was quite a few years between visits and the soft furnishings in the rooms have been updated since then.
This little hotel offers little extras that I would not expect from a 2 star hotel - 24 hour reception where the staff are always happy to help & offer advice, bathroom products, bath & shower, mini-bar, large rooms with in-room safe, large wardrobe, slippers and a balcony.
We opted for the breakfast because we were huge fans of the fresh orange juice after our last visit. Breakfast is a small buffet with cereal, yoghurt, bread, pastries, cheese, cold meat. The juice and tea/coffee is made fresh and brought to your table.
Just one block away is the beach and it's a lovely walk along the promenade into the old town to sample all the great tapas.
There is bar next door to the hotel and nightclub across the road which can be a plus or a minus depending on what you are looking for in a holiday. If your room fronts the street, expect to hear some noise in the early hours from Thu to Sat but it wasn't excessive.
There is pay and display parking in the surrounding streets which is approx. €9/day. The hotel does have a carpark facility nearby if you can't find a space or don't have loads of change to feed the machine.
I would definitely return to this hotel again as I love that it's simple, well-priced and well located.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    86
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
21
101
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

Comfortable hotel but sligthly expensive and very noisy streets.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieClaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

Found it difficult to find somewhere decently priced in San Sebastian, and this place was reasonable compared to everywhere else! Although only two stars, we found nothing wrong with the place at all...great location, just a couple of minutes walk from the beach and about 10 minutes from the old town with its many, many, many tapas bars.
Although the reception looked a bit like a doctor's surgery, the room was a good size and quiet, with a comfy bed, large bathroom and cheap minibar! Would definitely recommend for someone trying to do San Sebastian a bit cheaper....it's not a luxury hotel, but it's comfortable and fairly central.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrslpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2008

My wife and i recently spend 2 nights at Hostal Alemana and were extremely happy with our stay. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful (all those iwe dealt with spoke impeccable English). The room itself was spacious enough (certainly not cramped), tastefully decorated and had a decent sized bathroom. Our room also had a small, but welcome, balcony. We didn't try the breakfast (the price seemed a little steep considering you could find cheaper options in the many cafes/bakeries nearby). The location was also excellent- literally a couple of minutes from the beach and a pleasant 10-15 minute to the old part of the city. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank crows97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2008

We stayed at the Alemana for 4 nights. The room was a deccent size and is nicely decorated except for the carpet! The rooms have reccently been renovated, but they have neglected to replace the carpet, which unfortunately in our room had a terrible smell. The reception staff were friendly enough and the location is convenient. Our room was opposite reception, which meant that we could hear every converstaion held with the receptionist - even in the early hours of the morning. Also there is quite a lot of noise from the traffic and from the locat bars on firday and saturday night. On mentioning the smell (which was our main concern) we were told that they would put some air freshner in the room, but the smell still persisted! This is the only reason I would not go back or reccommend this hostal.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank je55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2008

We found it quite hard to find a reasonable prized hotel in walking distance to the main attractions of San Sebastian. Hostal Alemana is one of only few options and the reviews here on TA are mostly positive so we decided to book it. It's located on a busy road, just a few steps from the beach and about 10min. walking from old town. Reception area, breakfast room and the rooms are all decorated in a bright, airy, modern design, quite nice. Looked as everything was redone not a long time ago.
On the negative side, in the first room they showed us, there was a terrible smell coming from the bathroom, that we couldn't support. So we asked to get another room - the only one left was no. 110. Although it was a lot smaller than the first room and there was hardly space enough to store our suitcase, we accepted as it smelled ok (and anyway we hadn't another choice...) What we found out only later: During the day from time to time there was a loud noise and the whole floor vibrated. It appeared about every half an hour and lasted for a few minutes. No chance to get a nap or to relax during day in this room! We found out later that the noise came from a massage machine, installed in a beauty centre on the ground floor. It seems as the other hotel rooms are not that much affected. So we wanted to negociate a discount because of this but they refused (we paid 74 euros per night, without breakfast). So don't accept room 110!
The breakfast buffet was tiny, but with excellent croissants and about the best freshly pressed orange juice I've ever tasted. The price of 5.50 is worth the money.
I don't think we would return to this hotel. We probably would accept a hotel further away but with more comfort and less noise.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2006

We stayed at the Alemana in October 2005. We booked one double and one triple for 5 of us. The triple was much bigger than the double and also had a nicer corner view (you could see the water) with a tiny almost-porch. The rooms and bathrooms were nice and clean. The location is very convenient. It is on a main street though so it may have been noisy if we'd opened the windows, but we didn't. The location is very good - it's a short block from the beach and a not far from the old section. The staff was okay, but not particularly friendly or helpful. We came with a suitcase apiece and and there's no elevator to the room and no porter even if you want one. (Hence "hostel" I guess rather than hotel.) We paid 93 euros for the triple and 69 for the double, which seemed reasonable. We skipped their breakfast and tried a different neighborhood tapas bar /bakery/ coffee shop each morning for coffee and a snack. All were good! Would definitely stay again and recommend if you're looking for something not too expensive.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — steps to the room
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for a quiet room if you're going in the summer
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#15 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Niza
Hotel Niza
#13 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.1 km away
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
#19 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Husa Europa
Hotel Husa Europa
#29 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.0 km away
Hostal La Concha
Hostal La Concha
#42 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.1 km away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#16 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Alemana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alemana

Property: Hostal Alemana
Address: San Martin, 53 - 10, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Alemana 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hostal Alemana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Alemana Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Hostal Alemana San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing