We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, okay for money but average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa de los Arquillos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great location in an historical building. Room was a decent size and there was a little enclosed balcony that was a helpful addition for storing luggage. Staff made some good restaurant recommendations. Wi fi worked well.

Staff a little temperamental. Breakfasts cheap and cheerful. Requests for extra coffee frowned upon; we were happy to pay for extra cups but not offered. Some guests offered some items and others different selections which we found baffling. The lady serving seemed not to enjoy this part of running the B&B. Bathrooms and other aspects (eg blinds on balcony) need to be better maintained.... toilet roll holder falling off; no extra toiled paper provided; shower recess (dark tiles) looked dirty etc. Room was hot (and it was not that hot at the time we visited this town) and we would suspect it being quite hot in summer. No lift and 3 flights of stairs.

Overall okay for the money but an improved attitude and better attention to details of maintenance could make a big difference.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonwaker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

I visit the Basque Country region often - and each time that I do I stay (if it isn't full!) in La Casa de los Arquillos. The location is amazing, providing you with great views of Vitoria-Gasteiz, the capital city of Basque Country. The hostess is wonderful and will make every effort to ensure that guests receive a warm welcome. The rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculately clean - and are also at a great price! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guirigirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This B & B is cool, tranquil and beautifully decorated. It is in a great situation just by Plaza de la Virgen Blanca. Our room at the back had a great enclosed balcony area where we enjoyed a shop bought picnic supper, being too tired after a day travelling to bother choosing a restaurant. The building is a little difficult to find but it is after the stone steps that are to the right of the entrance door of San Miguel church (which has a statue of la Virgen Blanca), in the porticoed walkway.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank coryangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Somehow Vitoria escaped our attention - veteran Spanish travellers that we are with several trips to the Basque country under our belt. What a great place - interesting neighbourhoods , street art - fantastic pinxos of course.

If u don't want a fancy hotel then La Casa de loa Aquillos is for you, two flights of stairs with a heavy suitcase is not much fun but as they say in Spanish - its worth the pain.

Great central location - a little tricky to find - ask for help when u book, stylish room & bathroom - with extremely effective double glazing. Suspect it would be hot or noisy or both in height of summer as no aircon.

We had room number 4 which is dual aspect - our friends were happy with rooms 2 & 3 but I think 4 is the pick of the crop.

The free wifi is great & a free computer to use is a nice touch , we didn't have breakfast as the hotel is only a 100 yards from the main square & why stay in if u can be al fresco.

Go to VG & if u can cope with carrying a suitcase up - stay here.

Room Tip: Room 4 - windows from room & bathroom have different aspects
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elestoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This was a great way to spend two nights in Vitoria. The accommodation maintains the theme of the little dress-making factory of its origins by its interesting wall decorations. The location is near the old part of the city and over-looking a prominent town square.
As other visitors have said, it was hard to locate and then difficult to park to unload. However, Maria did all she could to be helpful - including carrying both our large cases upstairs as we went off to park. Then the 8 Euro per day public car park was accessible.
Our advice about arrival if there are two of you in a car would be to find the approximate location of the hotel, one of you seek directions from a helpful Vitorian whilst the other stays in the car ready to shuffle it about. This arrangement might not have friendly responses in parts of the UK but the cheerful local populace here are tolerant.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missiwata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I had read some bad reviews here , but found this place to be utterly charming.
It is right in the middle of the city, so walk to places and nice just to come back and relax.
The women there( think she is the owner ) was helpful... with her limited English. She kindly informed me that there was going to be a festival on ( Garlic ) when I was there ... so the town was very busy. Fantastic town, will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galapita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Most first-time visitors come to V-G to see the medieval area. La Casa's location is inside a historic landmark, facing the Plaza de la Virgen Blanca and right next to the San Miguel church. It is the best location for walking around the medieval area, shaped like a nut and therefore referred to as 'la almendra' (the almond).

We reserved our room through Booking.com. A few days before our arrival, I rec'd an email from La Casa with some very useful info re: a specific address to give to the taxi driver. By driving up to the Cuesta de San Francisco 1, you can wheel your luggage up to the door of the building and avoid the main stone staircase from the Plaza. That will save your energy for the unavoidable haul up 3 shallow flights of stairs to the top floor of this historic building. In the email, the manager asked me for my expected arrival time. I'm glad I noticed her email and replied to her. She seems to be the only person there and when she goes out, the door is locked. Since she knew our arrival time, she was there waiting for us. She even offered to help carry our luggage up the stairs.

Our room, no 8, was on the top floor. Spacious and well-lit, with a nice, modern bathroom. The lounge and breakfast room has a free computer and comfy sofas. If we had taken all 3 upstairs rooms, it would have felt like we had rented a whole house. Free wifi was available throughout.

After check-out, I asked if we could leave our luggage since there was no luggage storage at the train station. The manager welcomed us to do and gave me a set of keys so I could let myself in and leave when I wanted. This generous touch was greatly appreciated as we had a late afternoon departure. We ended up spending an hour in the lounge, using the free computer and wifi.

My only gripe is that you need 3 keys (main door of building, door to La Casa and door to your room) and the 2nd lock is a bit tricky to open. It took me 3 attempts to open the door. One really needs to have the dexterity of a safecracker to 'feel' for the position the lock needs. As in many hostals and pensions, there is no attendant late at night. After midnight, we could hear someone banging at the door, trying to get in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gigis_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vitoria-Gasteiz hotels
0.5 km away
NH Canciller Ayala Vitoria
NH Canciller Ayala Vitoria
#1 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
1,626 reviews
0.7 km away
Silken Hotel Ciudad de Vitoria
Silken Hotel Ciudad de Vitoria
#2 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
961 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Palacio de Elorriaga
Hotel Palacio de Elorriaga
#6 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Sercotel Boulevard Vitoria Hotel
Sercotel Boulevard Vitoria Hotel
#4 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
378 reviews
6.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Vitoria
Holiday Inn Express Vitoria
#5 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
312 reviews
0.8 km away
AC Hotel General Alava
AC Hotel General Alava
#7 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de los Arquillos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de los Arquillos

Address: C/Los Arquillos 1-2, 01001 Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Alava > Vitoria-Gasteiz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Vitoria-Gasteiz
Price Range: $111 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casa de los Arquillos 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your La Casa de los Arquillos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing