We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stylish and welcoming retreat in the historic centre of Palma”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights in October and did not want to leave! This former convent has been carefully but stylishly restored and now offers guests a comfortable, relaxing base from which to explore the many delights of Mallorca. Staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. On arrival at 1030 am our room wasn't ready, which wasn't a problem to us and we were happy to go for a walk around for an hour. On returning, the receptionist advised us that we were being upgraded to a junior suite. The room was large, with a huge, comfortable bed, lounge area with sofa and large flat screen TV and satellite box, minibar, large wardrobe and balcony overlooking the street. The bathroom was a good size with a wet room with power shower and good quality toiletries. Free wifi was available throughout the hotel. The attractive breakfast/ snack bar overlooks the peaceful gardens. Breakfast comprises an excellent choice of fresh fruit, yoghurts, breads and croissants, cold meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, cakes and a hot selection of bacon, sausages, onions and tomatoes. Light meals are cooked to order in the evening and a bar service is available. The hotel also offers free use of a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi (always ask if they are switched on as at quiet times they may not be). Staff are happy to recommend local restaurants and make reservations. There are restaurants fairly close to the hotel and the main eating area is about 15 minutes walk. Main bus stops for services to the east and west are about a 5 minute walk away. From here you can catch a bus to the transport interchange to
catch buses towards Deia and the historic train to Soller. Walking to the cathedral area takes 5 to 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms overlook either the street or the gardens. Those overlooking the street can be a bit noisy whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PTJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

It is very good location in the head of the town very close to Cathedral. The room was spacious, completely new, modern and stylish with nice view to convent. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was delightful. The staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. We would definately stay here again !!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rasto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This trendy hotel is in the middle of the old town.
This means that you will have to walk 15 minutes to find a place to park.
Bunt on the other hand you are in a few steps away from the cadedral, plaça Santa Eulali.
We really enjoyed the atmosphere.
The only bad thing was the noise in the morning coming from the upper room. It seemed like they were playing tennis up there.
We were also happy to profit the SPA, but only surprise was that there was no cold shower after the sauna, we had to go up in our rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chager77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

It was great to be back at the Santa Clara and we enjoyed it just as much as our first visit last year. I love the location because it is in the old town and close to shops and restaurants but very quiet.
We had a lovely room again and appreciated the comfortable bed, the bathrobes and slippers, the good shower and quality toiletries. it was great to have a hospitality tray, not often found in Spanish hotels.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel because we enjoyed the short walk to Placa Santa Eulalia where we enjoyed breakfast outside at Bar Placa or Bar Santa Eulalia and watched the world go by. Make sure you visit the beautiful church.
After exploring the city it was nice to be able to retire to the roof terrace and relax with a drink before going out in the evening.
As before we found the staff very helpful and welcoming.
Thanks again Santa Clara we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GraceM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I stayed here on a group weekend away and it was located in the centre of Palma down a beautiful old street.

Room: The room was very comfortable modern and clean. I slept like a baby which is a complement since I have never been a good sleeper in strange rooms. The shower was glorious and I wanted to pinch it and take it home but may have exceeded the easyjet luggage allowance.

Service: The staff was always helpful and friendly. They offered to pre-book restaurants and cabs for us for the entire stay and were always willing to give helpful recommendations.

Location: It is a ten minute walk from the centre of the city and it is a nice stroll down to all the bars and restaurants. It was located on a quite street which was a bit difficult to find as it is a confusing route, that being said I have zero sense of direction and just latched onto the group when I needed to make it back to the room.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aidy_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

This is a great hotel. OK, it's not a full service place and being in the centre of the old town it's not quiet, but the hotel captures the mood of the city perfectly. Friendly staff, great location, chilled atmosphere and lovely rooms with all the mod cons. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I would recommend this hotel because it delivers what it promises - a modern hotel in a lovely street just a short walk from the heart of Palma's old town. I don't agree with recent negative reviews because found the staff charming and very tolerant of my attempts to speak Spanish. Re the bed - yes, it was hard but then I like that so to me, it was very comfortable. It is quiet but we saw people at breakfast. We went out to explore local bars in the evenings so I can't comment on the atmosphere in the hotel bar. The room - on the front - was large and so was the bathroom. The only criticism I could make was that there were no spare pillows in the room but I'm sure I could have had another one if I'd asked Reception so this is a minor point.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.2 km away
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#4 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
569 reviews
2.2 km away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,765 reviews
1.7 km away
HM Balanguera
HM Balanguera
#11 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
860 reviews
1.1 km away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#12 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,040 reviews
2.3 km away
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Sant Alonso 16, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: $179 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests fall in love with Palma, with our hotel, the charm of the old town and the beautiful views from our upper terrace. Come stay at Santa Clara Hotel to enjoy the proximity of the 10th century Arab baths, the Gothic Cathedral and the other host of attraction around the old town. Our hotel offers 4 star luxury rooms and suites with high ceilings, rustic stone walls and views to the surrounding sights of the old town. Relax in our urban spa featuring a Jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath or try one of the massage and beauty treatments. We also provide a conference room equipped with audio-visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Clara Urban Hotel And Spa
Santa Clara Urban Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Santa Clara Urban
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa Palma De Mallorca, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing