We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just make sure you hire a car and get a harbour view room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just make sure you hire a car and get a harbour view room”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Dithered between 3 and 4 stars, it's not bad, but probably could do with a refurb, we didn't mind the location as we had a hire car and found it was ideally located to get out of Palma for day trips, there's a handy huge carrefour 200 yards away too,and a bus stop that takes you to Palma centre for e1.25, its a 15 minute journey. Room was ok, twin beds not comfortable but our room had a harbour view with balcony which made everything alright. I recommend you book direct with the hotel, our travel agent added a huge profit, I later found.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    594
    209
    83
    41
See reviews for
232
627
46
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We have recently returned from a ten day break in Palma, Mallorca at the Catalonia Majorica. This hotel ticked almost all the boxes for us. The view from our balcony over the beautiful marina and Porto pi provided a constantly changing panorama. All types of vessels from small yachts to huge cruise liners came and went. The food was good, our room was clean and comfortable with no late night disturbance and the staff were friendly and courteous. The location of the hotel is possibly a wee bit far from the city centre but a small funicular railway down to the street provides access to a number three bus. More English speaking television channels and perhaps some appropriate live entertainment would have been welcome however all in all we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is in an elevated position but the higher floors will provide even better views. We were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corsehillboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Comfortable hotel, room could be larger but quite adequate. Tip - we were told the twin rooms were slightly larger than the doubles.Position high up facing the harbour and city meant stunning views, especially at night. Tip - 5th floor has best views and much larger balconies. It is a decent 20 minute brisk walk to the lovely city of Palma and the hotel is on a steep hill so be aware, quirky funicular up to hotel from two streets down.. Taxis not dear, 7 euros to city. Tip - cheaper from taxi rank left and up another hill from reception, try to stop taxi just before city, it goes into one-way system that adds to fare. Reception staff could be a bit distant when busy but restaurant staff friendly and top class breakfast with great choice, also omelettes and eggs & bacon to order. Views from swimming pool, restaurant and outside bar excellent. Tip, if you want to sunbathe in afternoon go to far right railings at pool, sun sets behind hotel. Local shopping centre with large Carrefour supermarket for water etc. and some reasonable bars and restaurants, although better in the city. Tip - try the open-top tourist bus which stops at the shopping centre to get your bearings initially.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as a stop over before heading to Milan. I must say the staff was very friendly and helpful. I ended up taking the bus from the airport ( about 20 -25 mins) believe the #1 (you can ask at the information desk at the airport ) to the Porto Pi shopping center and the hotel is about 3- 5 mins walk. This hotel also has a funicular lift which is great & saves you from walking up a steep hill especially if your are carrying luggage. The rooms were nice overlooking the seaport, Palma Cathedral and the cruise ships. The bus system is pretty good and reliable. From the Porto Pi center you can catch the bus which can take you into the city center about 10 - 15 mins for the shops & all the wine & tapas you can eat lol (don't worry although in spanish the stops are announced over the PA system). I didn't wake up in time for Breakfast but the dinner buffet was great with a good selection, ( chicken, fish, pork, pasta, rice etc) the service here was Great Thank You!! Calor Mayor beach is the closest ( & free to enter) the bus from the Porto Pi center can get you there in about 10 mins. If you are looking to do tours speak to the staff once you arrive as they work with a tour company that needs at least a days notice. Overall I enjoyed my stay here. Would stay here again if in Majorica. Be safe travelers and enjoy =o)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank stacey2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The hotel was very good , breakfast was plentiful , lots of choice, including freshly cooked omlettes and scrambled eggs.
The pool was clean , but the paved area around it was a bit uneven and damaged - could be dangerous for small children and older people.
the staff were really nice and very helpful .The hotel was a good 45 mins walk into palma centre, but it was a very enjoyable walk by the side of the marina.
There were a good few local / spanish bars etc near the hotel , plus a large shopping centre with lots of shops and the usual burger kings etc.
All in all we enjoyed our stay at this hotel

Room Tip: The rooms with the marina view were extra , but well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmc1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear guest, on behalf of all the staff of the Catalonia Majórica and myself, I'd like to thank you very much for these wonderful comments posted in Tripadvisor.com about our hotel on behalf of all the staff of the Catalonia Majórica and myself.

Specifically, thanks for recommend us as a ideal hotel for a short break in Palma. All this feedback stimulates us to continue with the pursuit of improvement in the service for our clients, which is our main target.

Expressing again my gratitude to you and waiting for your next visit to our hotel,
Yours sincerelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Durham, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Have today returned from a weeks stay here (our fifth), the hotel continues to be excellent, food, staff, facilities and views! Unfortunately we found that the surrounding areas, especially Joan Maro calle, via the furnicular, is in need of redevelopment, where lots of premises are empty/unkempt and not tourist friendly - although we did not feel threatened in the evenings. Even the nearby (500 yards) Porto Pi shopping centre caters mainly for locals with a huge carrefour supermarket for self catering. The hotel itself continues to be good but I would class this as a centre for a city break, using the excellent public transport system from local stops, rather than a beach/sunshine holiday.

Room Tip: rooms on the east side give fanatastic views over Palma bay and the sunrise/moon rise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toesrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

The hotel is clean, we had lovely views of the port from our bedroom but that is also available from the terrace where you can have a drink at very reasonable prices. Breakfast is very good, with plenty of cold and hot food.
The hotel just needs new decor to be a really good 4 star as some areas look dated, specially the entrance to the funicular but I have reported all pros and cons to the hotel.
Would be back as we didn't have any problems and had a fantastic time there

Room Tip: Rooms with view to the port are good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VandaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
1.6 km away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,048 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Amic Horizonte
Hotel Amic Horizonte
#56 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
846 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
BQ Belvedere Hotel
BQ Belvedere Hotel
#26 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,061 reviews
0.9 km away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,585 reviews
1.0 km away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#24 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Majorica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Majorica Hotel

Property: Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Address: Calle Garita 3, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#23 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#24 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Majorica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalonia Majorica hotel is located in a privileged area on the maritime promenade of Palma Bay and just in front of Club del Mar. It is near the Porto Pi shopping centre and the Fundacio Joan Miro. The hotel, refurbished in 2000, combines an elegant style with modern features. It has a total of 168 rooms, all of them with beautiful views, and most of them also have a terrace. In the hotel you will find 3 swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Majorica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Majorica Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing