We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,866)
Filter reviews
1,866 results
Traveller rating
644
765
279
108
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
644
765
279
108
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porto pi funicular lift sea view steep hill street level the bus pool area terrace bar reception staff palma centre short break fantastic views pool towels bus service old town lovely hotel just returned from a night stay
Filter
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 1,866 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2017 via mobile

Our 3rd visit to this Clean and comfortable hotel. Great views over Palma. Breakfast was lovely and all staff were pleasant. For people who like to walk its location from the city centre is good (about 2 miles from the centre). Would recommend for a city break.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank madeanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Dear guest, thank you very much for your visit (your 3rd visit) and for your fantastic review in tripavisor.com. It is a pleasure to know that you have such a good experience in our hotel. thank you very much as well for recommending us. Hopefully you will come again soon. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2017 via mobile

This is my second time staying at this hotel with my parents, who were next door. I rather enjoyed my first time here and was raving about the experience - as you will see from my previous review.

However, my experience has been very different this time.

1. Poor value for money

Unfortunately (and unsurprisingly) the hotel now capitalises on the view it offers (on one side of the hotel of the bay) and charges an extra €25 per night, which means it is no longer good value for money. The cheaper option on the opposite side of the hotel is an awful view of an ugly street.

2. The walls are paper thin.

If you are a light sleeper then this is not a hotel for you. You can hear everything that happens in the corridor outside from the footsteps of people walking to the rolling of suitcases to the conversations that others have (which happens frequently).

I have not slept in two days because a neighbour two doors down keeps having conversations that last an hour on the balcony. He is on a mobile. These are loud and the patio is paper thin, which means that it is almost like he is in my room. I am inclined to feel like it's not the neighbours fault - he is entitled to do what he likes in the same way I am entitled to a good nights sleep. If the design of this hotel wasn't so sloppy (and the walls sound proof) then perhaps it would not be a problem - sadly though it is. I can even hear the guy next door snoring

3. Bad customer service

Perhaps it is in the light of a bad experience that you truly appreciate customer service. I informed reception of man on the balcony, only to be met with skepticism and lack of action. There was no real sympathy for my early morning flight. They weren't to investigate but this fellows conversation continued for another 30 mins

4. Poor finishes. Boring decor. Unclean towels

If you have an early morning

Date of stay: February 2017
1  Thank 728sumeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2017

Dear Sumeed, thank you very much for coming back to our hotel to spend four days in Palma. Unfortunately, this second time it seems that we have not lived up to your expectations, but to be fair there are a few things to comment: 1- Our hotel has always charged a supplement for the Sea View rooms. But when standard rooms are all occupied we have to offer Sea View rooms to clients who have not paid for such supplement. This was your case last year. 2. The walls, which you say are thin, are the same walls that you didn't mention in your first visit. 3. Regarding the neighbor having long conversations with the cell phone on the balcony I have to say that unfortunatelly there are not many things we can do about this apart from asking him to speak lower. 4. The poor finishes and the boring decor is the same that we had in your past visit and you did not mention it in your first review. In short, I am afraid that probably you are angry because you did not get the sea view for free like last year and from there everything was wrong for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of times , nice clean hotel up on a hill . The hotel overlooks the marina . There is a funicular but it was out of order I wouldn't have stayed here if I'd of known as it's a trek up and down a hill . The breakfast is very good lots of choice we didn't have a evening meal but we did have some tapas at lunch time which was very good. The weather was terrible storms torrential rain ,high winds the electrics did go off on the 5 th floor and our friends were moved.the rain did come through the doors at times but it was ok. They sell nice jewellery in the hotel I bought some nice earrings . This hotel is ideal if you like walking .

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank gillg153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2017

Dear Gill, thank you very much for your visit (despite the weather) and for your good review and usefull comments in tripadvisor.com. Hopefully you will keep on coming and perhaps next time we will get four or even five green balls (score) from you. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2017

Good Hotel .view from room was fantastic,good breakfast lots of choice,check in is slow.
Please get the funicular repaired the steps and road down to street is not safe.Have stayed here a few times,we love Palma.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cmcole1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2017

Dear guest, thank you very much for your visit and for your nice comments about our hotel. Regarding your question about our funicular it is a pleasure to inform you that we are actually working on it and the deadline guiven to have it ready is Eastern so it will be working perfectly by this dates (the funicular in a brand new one). We will be waiting for you to test it. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2017

The hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming some remembered us from a previous stay which was nice The hotel is very clean and quite but there is steep hill to climb to get to the hotel Seaview rooms are a must amazing views over the harbour and out as far as the cathedral Our bedroom was small but adequate bed comfortable but the a/c was very noisy Good choice of food for breakfast which can be cooked fresh for you a nice selection of teas too Shame the vehicular lift is still not working

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sueperryjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2017

Dear guest, Thank you very much for visiting us and for your review and score. It is a pleasure for us to know that you are so satisfied with our hotel. Hopefully you will come back soon. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews