We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, great location and fair service.”
Review of Almudaina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Almudaina Hotel
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, great location and fair service.”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Our triple room was in a good size. The room was clean but simple. The location is great for shopping. Breakfast is beyond our expectation compared to the same class of hotels. Service is just fair. They didn't give any extra effort to explain to us where the airport bus stop was even we had insisted for the exact info - the guy at the front just told us that it was in the other side and there was none so we wasted half an hour looking for it and finally had to catch a taxi.

As room rates in Palma are far too expensive considering their services and facilities. This hotel provides a good value in comparison. All in all, everything was fine but simple. The hotel lobby was very small. I would recommend this hotel for those who just want a place to sleep and spend most of the time going out in the city of Palma.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    410
    82
    22
    10
See reviews for
138
454
57
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is well located; center of town on one of the busier roads, in a shopping area. The historic area and main cathedral are only a short walk from the hotel.

Rooms
The room was really nice and larger than I expected. We opted for the superior room which was well worth the extra euros! We had a large balcony with a view of the cathedral and the sea. I definitely recommend the upgrade if possible; if not, there’s a gorgeous roof deck with the same view. Buy a bottle of wine at the El Corte Ingles which is right next to the hotel (grocery is in the basement) and enjoy the view.

The room was recently renovated and the bathroom looked brand new. There is a safe, which we did not use (physical key, not electric and not free).

Breakfast was perfect (included in room price): Good coffee and a selection of meats, cheeses, breads, fruits, cereal, juices, etc.

Staff
The staff was great. They spoke perfect English and when we arrived they offered us 2 rooms to choose between: Both superiors, one with a balcony & one without. If you reserve the superior, I recommend requesting a balcony to help ensure you get one.

Transportation
We took the bus from the airport to the hotel (only €2). The hotel is maybe 2 blocks into the city from the bus stop so it was an easy walk. Leaving, we took a cab to the ferry port (there are always a handful of cabs waiting a block up the street, near the El Corte Ingles, so we didn’t have any wait for a ride).

Overall, this was a great hotel in a fantastic city. We would definitely stay here again on another visit.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room with balcony if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daisyrow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here!

The hotel: The hotel is situated centrally on one of the smart shopping streets in Palma with its entrance vestibule in the colonnaded area between shops It is really in the heart of things and the cathedral, Plaza Mayor, the station and a whole host of bars and restaurants are an easy walk away.
We stayed in a sixth floor room with a fantastic view of the cathedral and harbour. All the advertising sites had said to ask for a room with a view but they didn't say it would cost 50€ more! However, we felt it was well worth the extra as we used the balcony a great deal.
If you want to cut costs and don't intend to spend that much time at the hotel, then opt for a front facing room and use the eight floor solarium. It's a good compromise - a lovely spot for sunbathing and viewing Palma.
The room was very clean and well presented with a good sized bathroom with walk-in shower. The hairdryer was effective and towels changed daily. There was a mini bar with soft drinks.
The buffet breakfast was very good with an excellent selection of breads, cereal, teas and cold meats, cheeses etc.

We found the staff extremely helpful in all matters. One printed off bus timetables for us and another ensured a broken hairdryer was replaced swiftly.

Restaurants: We visited in November and found quite a few were closed for the winter. There is a small cafe/restaurant called El Rey by the hotel entrance which offered a fair selection of food and was very convenient. C'an Toni close by is full of atmosphere and frequented by locals.

We took a taxi from the airport. It took just over 15 minutes and cost 17€.

Room Tip: You pay more for the rooms with a view. 2nd to 6th floor rooms at front have good sized windows but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarolynBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

In my opinion, what makes you feel comfortable in a hotel is the attitude of the staff. For me the standard has been set by Panos and his wonderful staff at the Hotel Aeolos on Mykonos but the staff of the Hotel Almudaina were pretty good too.
Arriving early, our room was not yet ready but the reception staff speeded things up and looked after our luggage while we had a bite.
Our room was a nice size, pleasantly decorated and equipped, and the bathroom had a huge walk-in shower.
Breakfast was excellent although bacon and eggs every morning has done nothing for my waistline.
The hotel is situated right in the heart of Palma on a very classy street. It is close to lots of restaurants and it is easy to get to outlying beaches by bus. (Again, the staff being helpful in telling us where to get buses.)
Altogether we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We did an overnight stay whilst awaiting a cruise ship.
Our double room was superb with a view over the harbour that was breathtaking. My mother-in law's was like a cell!
The location is excellent, the rooms are clean and comfortable.
It would be nice to have some in room drinks facility and the bar and restaurant were closed on a saturday. However, Tapas in a small bar in the nearby square was good.
Breakfast was fine and the staff were helpful.
I would certainly try and stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for those with a sea view and avoid the single rooms at the ends
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndytheVole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My friend and i just returned from a five day trip to Palma yesterday, and this Hotel is the perfect location for shopping, wonderful selection of shops restaurants and Bars close to the Almudaina hotel. Rooms were extremely welcoming and very spacious. My friend and i were on the 5th floor.. Breakfast is served on the 2nd floor and is very nice indeed, good choice of breakfast, that will set you up for the day. Staff very polite and all speak English.Would definitely return to this hotel again without hesitation.Went to an amazing Bar nearby this Hotel called ABACO.. don't miss a little visit for a pre dinner or late night drink.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 212Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I stayed at the Almudaina for two nights in September. My room on the fifth floor was modern,comfortable and clean. The size of room and amount of cupboard space was totally adequate, and the en suite sparkled. I found all the staff to be helpful and friendly. There is a very nice roof terrace with sun loungers. The hotel is well positioned to walk around the wonderful city of Palma. Its not luxurious, but very good value for money. The only two negatives I found were: you have to pay for a safe key, and the same thing with internet. Indeed, I don't think wifi was available on my floor even if I paid. I wouldn't rush back, but would absolutely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DullDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.2 km away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,925 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,461 reviews
1.8 km away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#2 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
771 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Saratoga
Hotel Saratoga
#32 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,075 reviews
1.3 km away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almudaina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almudaina Hotel

Property: Almudaina Hotel
Address: Avenida Jaume III 9, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#16 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Almudaina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The emblematic Hotel Almudaina, recently renovated, is located in the heart of Palma de Mallorca. Located in Jaime III, the city's most popular avenue, most prestigious shopping area and very close to the seafront promenade, the Cathedral, the port and the old quarter. Specially designed for all types of travel, to enjoy the charm of the city and go shopping, even on holidays, as well as for business, with event rooms for exhibitions and corporate events. The views from the terrace and some rooms to the Bay of Palma, the Cathedral and Old quarter are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Almudaina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almudaina Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing