We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Oasis? - Huh!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Araxa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Araxa Hotel
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Quiet Oasis? - Huh!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

You know when you feel you are reading reviews about a different hotel to the one you stayed in?.....well that’s us.

First the good bits. The rooms are clean comfortable and spacious and most have a large balcony. The hotel areas are nicely set out and decorated. There’s a good sauna and a large well equipped gym. There is a nice garden and pool.

BUT

Even if you discount the apartment 50 yds away that was being torn apart with kangos, circular saws and the cement mixer churning away it wasn’t quiet. There’s a rat run along one side of the hotel where commuter traffic goes from 6 am onwards. Mopeds screaming, refuse lorries, tour coaches the usual horn sounding etc etc. There’s a school along the road in front with attendant ‘school run’ traffic…oh and a church with bells opposite! It was impossible to have a siesta with the windows open or sit and read on the balcony without feeling a nervous breakdown coming on! When another guest overheard me asking to change rooms she said “I just use earplugs!”

We were on floor 3 (room 302) and the canyon effect may have made the noise worse so its possible that if you have a lower floor room above the restaurant it won’t be quite as noisy.

It also takes a good 20 mins to walk to the centre and about 5 to the esplanade.

The staff weren’t friendly and always had something else to do before they served you…No matter how smiley and friendly we were their faces didn’t change once. They did not even try to find out about buses to Andratx for us “ you will have to walk to the bus station in Palma and ask there” – it actually went along the esplanade, 5 mins away. We asked to change rooms because of the noise but there were no rooms available, we didn’t even receive an apology for the building noise.

Breakfast was pretty average too. Cheapest cut bread for toast and very little in the way of fruit and cereals- not something we looked forward to on waking!

Considering that we booked the hotel on the promise of a quiet oasis in a residential area we were very disappointed.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank boppsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    142
    46
    6
    6
See reviews for
50
115
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Mum and I stayed for 2 night here after having to leave our cruise ship due to Mum being taken ill. The reception staff were so very helpful and when we stated that we had come from the hospital they gave us a 30 euro an night discount. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The hotel has many antiquities from the hotel industry on display and the hotel lift also comes under this catagory! functional but a bit temperamental. The food was quite basic but all cooked to order and served up hot and appetizing. The breakfast that is included in the room rate was lovely with plenty of choice of hot and cold. The pool area was surrounded by palm trees and ample seating and loungers. Dinner can be eaten in the outside dining area which is lovely on a balmy night. The only downside that some people might find is, that the hotel is about 2 miles from the centre of Palma, although it is a lovely stroll along the marina to reach it. Lovely for a quiet break.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HunnieBunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

Third time in Araxa last.august. That tells a lot. Araxa is cozy family run hotel at the quiet area of Palma. Walking distance to La Seu about 3 km but on the way lot of interesting to see ; Stroll through Santa Catalina area gives you an idea what Palma used to be in old times.
Staff at the hotel area very nice and friendly. Braekfast buffet is great with some variety from day to day. There´s 3 course lunch and dinner avaiable daily . 16 € /person ( ex.c drinks).
We have experience of only so called triple rooms and those are bit weathered bur lot of space. Cleaness is great.
If you´re too tired to walk there´s several bus lines going to center from 100-200 m from hotel. As far as I know some lines take you to the Illetas or Playa de Palma beaches if desired. If you rent a car there´s lot of free parking space available outside on the street in front of hotel. Garage has room only three cars.
I recommend this hotel exspecially to people who has lot of experience of Majorca before and want to stay away from most hectic tourist areas. From Araxa you have easy access to every possible activity on island when desired. This is great option instead of renting a flat as the price is bargain and you don´t have to cook and do the dishes...; )

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Proffessore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

Their website says something like "a calm oasis...." and we found it to be just that. It's set behind a garden with pool and trees and on a fairly quiet road about 10 minutes' walk from the prom and about 20 mins walk to the Cathedral. Our friends who were staying on the prom in the Costa Azul (which costs a little more) said they preferred the Araxa.

It has a relaxed and comfortable feel to it. The lobby and rooms have a traditional Spanish air and both are roomy and comfortable. Bed was two wide singles pushed together: a little on the firm side for me, but not so for my partner. We also had a single room which was much smaller but comfortable, and like the double room, had a balcony overlooking the garden.

Breakfast was a fairly extensive buffet and good. Free internet in lobby.

Friend who had two small children found it welcoming and fine for the kids.

We'd definitely use this hotel again. Good value (booked through an online agency).

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zwaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyfada, Greece
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

Best breakfast ever, taken by the garden-pool! Free internet, great pool, friendly staff, good food at the restaurant, nice atmosphere. Only the location was a bit unsuitable if you want to go for a swim or go to the center but the bus stop is near. Warm place overal.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles Scotland
Level Contributor
273 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

Very nice hotel 20 minutes from city centre,lovely gardens and pool area ,hotel staff provide a good standard of sevrvice,bedrooms ok if not slighly tired but very clean.Hotel restaurant very good and not to pricy,breaklfast allright but slightly bland and lacking in choice.To sum up a nice hotel that provides a good standard of service in a nice location in the suburbs of Palma with a nice pool / garden area to relax in after a long day pounding the streets

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

Had a brilliant time in Palma in June, weather great and town and people very friendly. Stayed in the Hotel Araxa which we all (4 couples) recommend highly. Lovely quiet position between the castle and town, superb swimming pool and garden and very friendly staff and a good price. About a 20 min walk form hotel to castle and town, ideal for walking dinner off. Found a lovel restaurant on the water side by the fishing harbout

Helpful?
Thank Pete062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Armadams
Hotel Armadams
#47 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Sercotel Zurbaran
Hotel Sercotel Zurbaran
#56 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.6 km away
Hesperia Ciutat Mallorca
Hesperia Ciutat Mallorca
#39 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#23 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
6.0 km away
Hotel UR Portofino
Hotel UR Portofino
#24 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Amic Horizonte
Hotel Amic Horizonte
#54 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Araxa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Araxa Hotel

Property: Araxa Hotel
Address: Calle Pilar Juncosa 22, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#14 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#16 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#18 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#23 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Araxa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Araxa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Araxa Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing