We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couple of minor niggles but otherwise very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
UR Mision de San Miguel
Ranked #46 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Couple of minor niggles but otherwise very good”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Great location, very friendly and helpful staff, large room (we stayed in 103), clean and well priced. Good (if fairly standard continental selection) breakfast

A few things let it down slightly - Firstly the rooms aren't quite as quiet as you would hope, you do hear most of what was going on in the bathroom next door. Secondly, the bar isn't actually part of the hotel so you have to pay in cash for anything rather than put it on the room.

Finally (the biggest issue for us) was that both the hotel bar and restaurant are closed on Sunday. This wouldn't be too much of an issue if most of Palma in general is also closed on a Sunday..... The bar and courtyard is a lovely place to grab a drink at the end of the evening and its a shame it shuts down.

Aside from those minor points, I wouldn't think twice about recommending it

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are apparently the larger ones - However the walls are quite thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alfie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    144
    60
    35
    16
See reviews for
44
198
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed in this hotel the second time in just 6 months. The hotel is still nice since it is conveniently located in the center of Palma with easy access to all main attractions (train to Soller, shopping area etc.) Yet, the staff could be friendlier and more helpful. WLAN does not work in all rooms equally well (especially on the lower floors you have hardly any connection). The restaurant is nice but completely overpriced. The neighborhood offers much nicer restaurants at moderate price levels. However, if in town, I'd opt for this hotel a 3rd time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amsterdam_Chris123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Great hotel, just as we expected from the photos and reviews. Chose superior double room, large spacious and very clean, exceptionally well priced and good value for money. 2 minutes from Placa D'Espanya and Placa Major, lots of shops bars and restaurants close by. Only two minor niggles, room overlooked the courtyard which at times could be a little noisy, tv had no major english speaking news channels. Staff exceptionally friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brylynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The location of the UR Mision de San Miguel justifies the price paid. Room was average size (for a Spanish hotel),very clean with good sized comfortable bed and above average bathroom with a good shower and sundries. We had a room that overlooked the street at the rear of the hotel so no great views but we weren't there for the view from the hotel. Car park is convenient but as with other feedback beware that it will only accomodate small cars (we had a Peugeot 207 and I just managed to negotiate the course through the car park) but this is much better than trying to find on-street parking.

Room Tip: We had Room 002 - overlooking rear street. Not brilliant but did the job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rstand99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I had read the previous reviews commenting that it was an out of the way place, hard to find. Very true! The hotel has charm, definitely, it's just that the limited charm doesn't make up for what it doesn't have. I tried hard to like it, and tell myself that there were some cool features to this place, but I couldn't really talk myself into accepting the lack of basic amenities and lack of thoughtful comforts to the guests. And, our room rate was quite high.
1. Our room was on the third floor and there's no elevator. Going up and down once or twice is ok, but it gets really old by the second day.
2. The air conditioning in the room was very erratic, wouldn't stay cooling.
3. Our room was spacious, but the furnishings were definitely sub-standard, and stark. They really could have done so much more with just a bit more effort.
4. The only mirror in our room was in the unusual bathroom. I had to stand up on the closed toilet seat to look at my outfit! There was so much wall space in all the rooms, it would be thoughtful to provide a full-length mirror somewhere.
5. The location is only so-so. Not good, but could have been worse.

The ONE thing I recommend at this hotel: make sure you add the breakfast when you book your room. It's definitely worth it. Very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoBeachPalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Magnificient place! Very quiet but still in the middle of the centre of Palma, comfortable rooms, great breakfasts, good reastaurant with tables in the patio - great evenings! we wil come back!

Room Tip: Comfortable rooms for families.good sleeping quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daria19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iazorin, Director General at UR Mision de San Miguel, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you your comments and expresing your satisfaction about our hotel and our service. It is really a pleasure for us to know that we are working in the right direction in order to satisfy our guests expectations.

Expressing again my gratitude to you and waiting for your second stay in the UR Hotel Misión de San Miguel.

Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

In most respects this was a very good hotel - good location, friendly staff and the courtyard and bar area were lovely.

On the negative side however when we arrived, we were directed to a basement bedroom; my heart sank. I asked if we could change to another room but alas it was fully booked that night. The room itself was big but as it was located next to the restaurant, it was very noisy at certain points of the day - not the best start to our relaxing break. At 6.30 am the next morning, when the kitchen staff arrived we were awoken by the clanging of pots and pans.

The next day we moved rooms to the first floor. The room was smaller and needed a lick of paint..note to self: be careful what you wish for.

However the bar staff were very friendly, the breakfast was great and the hotel was a great place to explore the beautiful city of Palma

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17Ellielou17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
UR Palacio Avenida
#45 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
526 reviews
Santa Catalina
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#27 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
390 reviews
Hotel Dalt Murada
#49 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Born
#37 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
436 reviews
Hotel Palladium
#38 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
265 reviews
Innside Palma Center
#10 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UR Mision de San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UR Mision de San Miguel

Property: UR Mision de San Miguel
Address: Calle Can Macanet 1A | 07003 Palma de Mallorca, 07003 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UR Mision de San Miguel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel UR Mision de San Miguel is a charming, small hotel perfectly situated inside Palma's old quarter. A perfect place to discover the romantic old town and the lively city centre of Palma de Mallorca. Built around an inner courtyard and with interiors decorated in a pure contemporary style, the hotel stands out for its exquisite natural light and is the ideal place for one to relax. The hotel remains open all year round and offers a personalised service to both businessmen and those who simply wish to enjoy their holidays. Its central location, with direct access to public transport makes it easy to reach any part of the island. Also the Hotel UR Mision de San Miguel has a two-story private parking (costs apply), private parking is recommended for small city cars. The hotel offers wireless Internet access in all its facilities. Internet connection and the use of safety deposit box in the room are both free of charge. A total of 32 rooms make up this peaceful, modern, boutique hotel which also offers guests the chance to taste some of the most delicious Mediterranean food at the restaurant of the hotel, who stands out for his original and innovative cuisine. Some emblematic elements of the original building, such as the dome of the ground floor, have been restored and maintained with its original design, and it is now the restaurant wine cellar. The two modern and comfortably furnished conference rooms are also equipped with internet access, air conditioning, a projector and large screen, and direct access to a courtyard which is ideal for coffee breaks. Due to the unique location of the hotel, guests can enjoy the main shopping areas and cultural activities, excursions, golf, restaurants, etc. Also from the hotel reception can be arranged any special request of the guest, boat trips, rent a car, excursions around the island, winery tours, visit to the Caves of Drach, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your UR Mision de San Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ur Mision De San Miguel Hotel Palma De Mallorca
UR Mision De San Miguel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing