We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still best tapas in Palma”

La Taberna De La Boveda
Ranked #277 of 2,536 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Price range: US$22 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: La Llotja-Born
Description: La Taberna La Boveda is a known Basque-Spanish restaurant in which you will find many traditional Spanish tapas, such as snails, garlic prawns, the classic bread with local oils or small chorizo sausages, as well as a long etcetera of other dishes and tapas. The restaurant has a privileged terrace on which you will be able to enjoy the nights of Palma while enjoying a quiet meal. The solid wooden tables and large barrels create the much sought-out tavern atmosphere. Furthermore, the restaurant is located in a central area in which you can enjoy a pleasant stroll near the old Palma de Mallorca market, the Cathedral and its surroundings or the Borne promenade.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

I have been to La Taberna De La Boveda many times. The place is very simple and traditional. But still the tapas are the best in town. Waiters have worked there for many years and are proffessional but not too cheerful. Prices are good and portions are big. Do not miss the fried calamaries, jamon serrano or manchego cheese. Mussels are also really good and the Bread with tomato. We went for late lunch wich is recommended. At dinner this place is very crowded.

Thank Byonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurante L, Gerente at La Taberna De La Boveda, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

We are very pleased to read your comments, and we are glad to know you are coming back to our restaurant.
It is our aim to keep cooking in a traditional manner, we try to get the best of each product.

Thanks very much for your comments.

Laura Ortega
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 438 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile

Came here on our gals holibobs. Starving hungry and slightly merry after thinking we were European enough to eat at 10pm. Jolly waiter put up with our requests and nonsense seriously well and the atmosphere was really relaxed. Great calamari, whitebait and padron peppers. Tasty lamb chops too (despite being skinny). Also gave us some surprisingly nice milky lemony tipple. Either we were too merry to care, or it was actually rather pleasant. Thanks for a great night.

1  Thank islamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurante L, Gerente at La Taberna De La Boveda, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

Thanks for your comments. We can feel you really had a good time in our restaurant, and you enjoyed the food. This is our aim. We have been cooking traditional Spanish dishes for many years.

Thanks for coming, and taking time to talk about us.

Laura Ortega
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile


We had a lovely evening in the La Boveda restaurant in Palma , Although the place was pretty much full we were still lucky enough to get a nice table, our waiter was excellent and made choosing from the menu real easy, the food was delicious and value was great, would recommend this restaurant to anyone

Thank proinsios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurante L, Gerente at La Taberna De La Boveda, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Thanks very much for such a nice comments. We are delighted to hear opinions like that.
We always try to give our best service and top quality food.

We hope to see you again

Laura Ortega
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017

If you're looking for fine dining, don't visit this restaurant, but if you're looking for good simple tapas in a taverna which has a great busy vibe, then this is the place for you. This is now our 'go to' whenever we're in Palma. The business of the staff can sometimes be misunderstood for them being rude, but if you take the time to interact with them, certainly the waiters we have chatted to there, have been lovely. We have waited some time for a table and when you get it, you are shoe horned in, but that's part of the charm... luckily when we were there last week there was a gap at the bar and we ate there, Spanish stylie. We had a great night.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LizzieFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurante L, Gerente at La Taberna De La Boveda, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear Lizzie, we are so glad that you keep coming back. Your description of our place is exactly what it is.
A place to eat great, simple food. We have been making the same recipes for 28 years and they taste the same.
Thanks for coming, we hope to see you again.

Laura Ortega
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile

We found this place for lunch on the recommendation of our caretaker. He said we would get authentic tapas here. We were seated outside, lovely view of the coast.
The food was quite delicious, we ordered mussels, calamari and prawns. All good and the service was friendly.

Thank Abby3927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurante L, Gerente at La Taberna De La Boveda, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Thanks Abby for sharing your impressions. We are very happy to know that the effort we are making every day is worthy. Our aim is to keep cooking home made food, simple and delicious.
Thanks for visiting us

Laura Ortega
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taberna De La Boveda also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to La Taberna De La Boveda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing