We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Canary Islands”
Review of Harbour Lights

Harbour Lights
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stumbled across this bar by chance, drawn by the live music coming from the second level in the Puerto Rico beach area.
We felt right at home the minute we sat down, welcomed by the Dempsey family that owns the bar.
We returned each night of our week stay (minus one that we crashed early) to enjoy the live music. Not only was music played that we could sing along to, but members of the crowd took the mike or guitar during different songs and made for fabulous memories.
Thank you Dave the Rave, and Colin, Dale and Robby Dempsey for being part of a vacation we will never forget!!

Cheers,
Rick and Katie
“The Americans”

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank ktkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 27 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

We are on Holiday with our two children and we came across this Fabulous Bar, the staff are so friendly, welcoming & helpful, the views from the bar are absolutely stunning it's so nice to sit there and look out at the boats coming in and out when u are having a nice cold drink, we loved the bar so much we decided to head back and have some food there, it's was so tasty and cooked to perfection, we absolutely loved the entertainment that they have on each night, we laughed, we sang and everyone just enjoyed each other's company, it's great they have something for everyone, the kids even had a ball, for anybody visiting Puerto Rico I can't recommend this bar enough, I know we will definitely be returning again for some food and the amazing cocktails that they have, a big thank you to all the staff there for making our holiday so amazing see you all again next year

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2017

Having just returned from a fantastic holiday, I can say with confidence that “If you are in Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria you simply must visit the Harbour Lights Bar”

The Harbour Lights is a truly fantastic family run Irish Bar. The selection of drinks available is excellent - with many well-known UK brands available, the food on offer is first class, the entertainment is just brilliant, and all of that is surpassed by the welcome you’ll receive from Colm, Mandy and the Dempsey boys.

The food and drink is very sensibly priced, so you’ll not break the bank, and you’ll get all of the staple menu options that you want for the choosiest of children. Better still, it’s not a problem to make changes to your order to get it just right, which as every parent knows is such a great bonus when dealing with children (or some adults) who run a mile at the sign of a salad leaf on their plates. Colm and Mandy are very accommodating and always go the extra mile to make sure that you and your family get what you want. Portions are a good size, and the quality is excellent. When it comes to breakfast, you’ll not find a better breakfast on the island.

Not only are you guaranteed a great welcome, good food, and sensible pricing, but there’s always plenty of entertainment to keep you occupied. During the day, the TV screens will show you UK News, or Sky Sports with many big games and events shown (Colm will happily change the channel by popular consensus). In the evening, you’ll be blown away by high-quality entertainment with local acts. If you are really lucky, you might even get to see “The Mad Hatter”, who is simply one of the best acts on the island and puts on a great show. The bar is open 10:00am until 02:30am, with entertainment typically starting around 9:30pm.

From its position on the first floor, the bar has a fantastic view across the beach and harbour area where you can watch the sun go down as you relax into the evening. Those with accessibility issues need not be put off, as the bar is well serviced by lifts at both ends of the Passarella Centre ensuring that wheelchair access is achievable.

As you’d expect from an Irish Bar, the ‘craic’ is good and Colm is the perfect host. He’s also pretty good on the karaoke which you’ll have the pleasure of enjoying after the main entertainment ends. You can’t fail to be impressed of his rendition of London’s Calling by The Clash. Colm is also happy to host a game of Cash Bingo if there’s demand for it, so if you’re feeling lucky it might just be a free night out.

Whatever your pleasure, you can’t fail to have a great night out at the Harbour Lights. We’ll certainly go back to Gran Canaria again, and would consider our holiday incomplete if we didn’t pay them a visit. Don’t’ just take my word for it … check it out yourself – you’ll not be disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

We came across this place on a walk to Amadores beach and stopped in for breakfast. The staff were great, the breakfast was great and the view was beautiful over Puerto Rico beach.

We went back again after because the breakfasts were the best we had out of the various places we went! Definitely worth going to!!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank di0nne689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2017 via mobile

Great fun and entertainment irish family owned bar and food.
Great singsong and really nice people.
Thank you guys

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harbour Lights also viewed

Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
 
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
 
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Harbour Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing