We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
76
140
86
33
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
140
86
33
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loro parque mini golf ocean view evening buffet minute walk steep hill some tlc plenty of loungers shuttle bus week stay buffet style lovely hotel town centre germans pools wifi lidl
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 358 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

Hotel was clean staff were friendly but this is a german hotel so mainly Germans staying there, if you speak german that’s fine but difficult to make conversation if not. I went alone due to recently losing my husband. There was not much entertainement, no complaints about the hotel but unless you have a car there is nothing to do in the area appart from Loro parque which was amazing!
It cost me 12 to 15 euros each way in taxi to get to Lagos martianez where there were shops and restaurants. They do offer a couple of shuttles before 12 but then nothing until about 6pm. There are no nice beaches unless you go to that area.
View over sea is lovely
I wouldn’t recommend for solo travelers unless you speak german
View from room was lovely but no beach you couldn’t get down the cliffs to the small coves

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
4  Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Maritim Hotel Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Dear Kim L.

We are pleased to welcome you to our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay with us.

Even though we regret that you have not had a better experience with us, your assessment helps us to learn and improve.
We hope that you give us a second chance to convince from our abilities and send you all our best wishes!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2018

Just like most comments have mentioned, this hotel really does need some TLC, it looks a little dated... however, we had a really nice and relaxing stay here, the staff were so friendly and helpful (Many thanks to receptionist Isabel who helped us out a lot during our stay)...

The swimming pool was very clean and nice, and you have access to a crazy golf course too!

It's a shame the hotel doesn't offer shuttle service to the centre of Puerto, as it's quite a walk (20 minutes).

Overall, many thanks for your hospitality!

RECOMMENDED!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 410arasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Maritim Hotel Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Dear Arash:

Thank you very much for coming to Maritim Tenerife and for your feedback.

We are pleased to see, that you enjoyed your recent stay and appreciate especially instalations and the staff. With pleasure we will share your kind words with our collegues.

We would like to add that our hotel shuttle bus runs several times a day (except on sundays and holidays) for our hotel to the centre of Puerto del la Cruz (bus stop near seawater swimming pools).

Best regards,
Maritim Hotel Tenerife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2018

The staff is very friendly and helpful (although not much knowledge of public transport ;-)). The place is well situated with sea view, the pools and gardens in the vast grounds are well kept and nice.
Breakfast is also good.
But the hotel and rooms are very worn, old, not very clean and tidy, no renovations or repair for a long time!

Room tip: Sea view is nice.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank chawera23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Maritim Hotel Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018
Google Translation

Liebe Chawera,

vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung und Stellungnahme. Wir freuen uns, dass Sie sich bei uns wohl gefühlt haben und vor allem die Freundlichkeit unseres Personals hervorheben.
Selbstverständlich fühlen wir uns als Gastgeber verpflichtet, ,Ihre Erwartungen zu erfüllen und sind bestrebt, diese zu übertreffen.
Wir sind betrübt, dass uns dies nicht in allen Bereichen gelungen ist.

Wir haben die Krititk in Bezug auf die Zimmerqualität bereits an die verantwortlichen Entscheidungsträger weitergeleitet und hoffen, dass Sie uns nochmals die Möglichkeit geben, Sie von unserer Gastfreundlichkeit zu überzeugen.

Mit freundlichen Grüssen
Ihr Maritim Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

Disappointed doesn’t come close!! No iron service after 4 (never in my life have I been to a hotel with no ironing service available) so we couldn’t go out, no music in the bar in hotel so didn’t want to go there, no English tv in the rooms so couldn’t watch a film and no internet in the rooms so we couldn’t even watch our iPad!! Absolute joke! So angry! Staff were fantastic and not their fault at all.... I’ve lived on the island for 25 years and never had such a bad hotel stay!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank AmberC1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Maritim Hotel Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Dear Amber,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay with us.

Even though we regret that you have not had a better experience with us, your assessment helps us to learn and improve.
We hope that you give us a second chance to convince from our abilities and send you all our best wishes!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of April with our 4 year old son. Got a welcome drink and room on 11th floor. First impressions are good as the reception hall is well lit and lovely, however they didn’t give any information about hotels facilities or where to find them like pool, golf, tennis etc, so that could be improved; they did tell us where to find the breakfast restaurant and there was a welcome plate of fruit in our room.
The room was very outdated in style if that bothers you then this hotel isn’t for you. It was clean with two singles pushed together and a foldout bed for our son. We had a sea view. The patio doors to the balcony are a real problem, they literally shake in the wind so make a banging noise. We contacted reception who sent a repair man who gave us wooden wedges to put between the frames to stop the rattle, these had to be removed to use the doors and we lost the middle one between the doors on a few occasions. I’d read other reviews on here mentioning the noise from the ocean stopping sleep.... I really thought ‘what?’ That won’t bother me!! I was so so wrong.... the waves are huge crashing into the rocks at all different angles so not a wave sound like I imagined, and due to the poor quality doors we had very little sleep the first few nights. By the 4th day we asked for a different room and the lady moved us to the opposite side of hotel facing the pool and mountains.... the difference was amazing and we got some sleep. The view to that side is really beautiful too. The room was identical to the first. We had booked the standard room but think possibly the superior rooms may have been updated but not sure. From lying at the pool you can see the patio doors have been changed to upvc ones till about the 7th floor and the rooms around 15-17th floors have some doors changed too. One day on the elevator it stopped at the third floor when someone else got in an immediately you can see the decor has been changed and it looks vastly better than where we were.
Food wise the breakfast is buffet style with a chef who can prepare omelette while you wait too, lots of choice tinned fruit, some fresh pieces, meats cheese pastries and egg sausage bacon etc.... the sausage tastes like hotdog and was the same each day. The dinner buffet has lots of choice too but food overall is quite bland. Bar food was lovely at hotel and we tried the bar at the 2nd pool which is privately owned so you have to pay cash and can’t add it to your room... the burgers here were brilliant.
There is 3 pools and a children’s pool, the one closest to hotel and kids one are heated which was very nice. Plenty of loungers and cushions etc. We spent a lot of time there.
The mini golf was excellent however it is on top of a 2 storey car park, whilst playing my son managed to squeeze himself through a wooden gate that was locked and we couldn’t get to him....this was a nightmare as he was then at the top of a flight of concrete stairs 2 storeys high with a tiny metal railing between him and drop....I had to run round and through the main reception and across the road to get to him. Luckily he was ok. I advised reception the gate was faulty but didn’t get much of a response, I don’t think they understood my Scottish accent very well. It’s a German owned Hotel so the first and second languages seem to be Spanish and German.
The hotel is on a hill about 5-10min walk away from Loro Parque zoo. This is the best zoo I’ve ever been to....we went twice in the one week stay.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank CMW7801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Maritim Hotel Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

Dear CMW7801

Thank you for your comment. We regret that we were not able to meet your expectations in all areas. Please be assured that regular training courses are held to train employees in all operational departments.
We would be pleased if you would give us another chance to show you our professionalism and hospitality.
Best regards,
Maritim Hotel Tenerife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews