We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
36
56
59
15
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
56
59
15
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews card key plaza del charco enjoyable stay the main square lovely hotel charro puerto german sunbeds cleanliness euro
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 193 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2016

Rooms spacious,quiet, clean and well serviced. Rather sparsley furnished but adequate. No hairdrier which would have been a bonus. Strange not to have one.
Atmosphere rather clinical - the reception area wast like walking into a large medical waiting room! Bright fresh flowers around would have softened the reception area.
Breakfast adequate but always ate continental breakfast. Coffee very good!
Staff could be friendlier e.g reception could be more welcoming and look up from the computer!!! Ladies who were cleaners very pleasant and helpful.
A booklet in each room about Puerto de la Cruz's attractions, bars, cafes and restaurants would have complemented the rooms and written in English and German ,and perhaps Spanish too. Perhaps entries in a Book of Recommendations of places visited by former guests of rooms would be a good personal approach. A welcome bunch of flowers or a bottle of wine would have been a welcome gesture. All the 3 star hotels I have stayed in,in Puerto do this and have mini fridges too.
I never saw the Swimming Pool snack bar open during my visit! Pool area clean and plenty of sun loungers. Again some bright native plants would have enhanced the terrace. Water rather cold so didn't swim. Not sure whether it was heated.
Easy walk into centre of the old town and Place de Charco also to Playa de Jardin.
If a few ideas which I have mentioned were instigated, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
1  Thank dickybird2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2016

Room Tip: Airy,Big,Clean and qiute modern w Nice terras.....sat TV and Large bathroom w full Bath!
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with 7Ideas.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 1, 2016

Well-situated hotel in quiet area within walking distance of beach and Loro Parque.
Evening meal available from 18:30 but it's buffet so I would always be in at 18:30 because if you leave it longer you're likely to have 'hot' food which has been sitting out for a long time and will not be as hot as it should be. You can have as much as you want from the soup, salad, hot food, fruit, puddings. Breakfast is also buffet and you can have as much as you want from cereal, juice, coffee/tea, fruit, bacon, scrambled eggs, cheese, ham, croissants. Couple of mornings there was brussels sprouts or broccoli for breakfast.
No air con in my room which had 2 single beds, tv, shower/bath, balcony. Shower temperature was difficult to control - it could suddenly go hotter or colder, don't know if that was caused by others running water at same time? Rooms and hotel were kept clean, maids even swept the pavement and road outside the hotel. Rooms cleaned every day except Sunday, towels changed every 3 days and bed sheets every 7 days.
Rooftop swimming pool wasn't used much. Plenty of sunbeds available.
Coffee/tea can be bought from bar during the day although on one occasion I was told mid-afternoon that I would have to wait until the restaurant opens before I could get a drink. They will also charge one euro for a cup of hot water.
Good hotel overall, friendly staff and I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is very clean but the bedroom decor is very old fashioned. Sold to us as a double room,but it was two single beds,no double rooms in the hotel. There are no amenities, eg kettle or hair dryer etc. in the room. The room has a card key,you need to use the key to lock the door when you leave, it's not locked automatically.
The staff are nice, not great at English but they do their best.
The breakfast is nice, served until 10am,it has a variety of food but if you are coming in between half nine - ten...there is very little left.
The pool us very very basic,it was closed when we were there.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Olivia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2016 via mobile

Basic hotel. Food at breakfast wasn't great. Building is tired. Mirror in bathroom was all damaged at the bottle, on one corridor wall there were parts with the plaster off. Window frame in the room felt flimsy when I tried to close the windows. No dryers in the rooms. Staff very friendly. There is a bar there, but people never gathered there while I was there and it was never staffed. If you stood there long enough someone came to serve you but no atmosphere. Great for walking to the beach or the town. Keycard very sensitive and often took several attempts to open my door.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews