We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great value, would definitely stay again.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Escuela Las Carolinas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Escuela Las Carolinas
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
East Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really great value, would definitely stay again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for several nights and were pleased with our choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the bedroom was clean and a good size. Outside the bedroom, there was a terrace with a table and chairs that was accessible from the room via French windows. The breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice and all the produce was clearly fresh that day. As our stay was during the summer the restaurant wasn't available for evening meals etc so I can't comment on that. The hotel is in a good location and not too far a walk from the centre (although if you are elderly or have any mobility problems the location wouldn't be ideal as there is a steep hill up to the hotel when walking from the city). Overall, I'd highly recommend this hotel and I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    55
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
16
55
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

Spent first night in Santander in this hotel, sat nav having brought us there with no problem and parking in the grounds! Really nice Mexican girl on reception, very helpful and pleasant. Hotel is an old building with beautiful old wooden floors, high ceilings and panelling, though uptodate bathrooms, flatscreen tv and nicely decorated, very comfortable and surrounded by lovely gardens. Takes about 10-15mins to walk into centre of town and very handy for airport. So nice we decided to come back and spend our last night prior to flying home in the hotel. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bennett_on_the_go_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

this hotel is really pretty, it has some parking, (ONE OF THE RECEPTIONISTS MOVED HER OWN CAR SO WE COULD PARK!)the staff are really helpful, the rooms are spotless and comfortable and breakfast was really good with a huge variety of choice available (though obviously not the "full english"!) A great place to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCP053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

The hotel is a couple of kilometers from the train station and a couple of blocks further yet from the ferry wharf. Print a very detailed Google map if you are going to walk the couple of kilometers there from the train station.

The building is attractive and situated on very pleasant grounds with a back garden with a huge monkey puzzle tree. Check-in is simple. I asked the young lady if she was a student of the catering school and she answered no. We had a first floor room up a wide stairwell with beautiful wood floors and modern bathroom. There was a good shower with plenty of pressure. The bed was comfortable. Our view was out over the street but not unpleasant. The breakfast was grand - in fact the best on our whole trip to and from Southern Spain. There is a wine bar. The portion was a bit light but the cost was less than anywhere else around - so fair enough. I had a very nice Rioja. From the hotel one can just turn left, walk a few steps, take another left and walk straight down to the far end of the huge shopping street.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyMcCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate my birthday, it is set in beautiful grounds the rooms are very clean and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast basically starts when you arrive, if you are the first in there, there is coffee, tea, hot chocolate, fruit juice, bread, cheese, ham, cereal, fruit even though the breakfast is not cooked it is plentiful and they dont seem to mind if you roll out of bed late they will accommodate you. We stayed out of term time as this is a training hotel for hoteliers so no lunchtime or evening meal, however that was not a problem as the city centre is not far away a 10 minute walk down the hill.

Santander itself is fantantic, visit the cathedral built in the 13th century which has an absolutely stunning upper area with stained glass windows that are so impressive. Take a boat trip to Somo or travel to Noja or Somocuava the beaches are stunning and the food is rustic and incredible value menu del dia is €7.50 for 3 courses a litre of wine and a litre of water. The Mesons in the city centre do fantastic tapas located just off the plaza beware if you drink or eat on the plaza or sea front you will pay double so go 1 or 2 streets back and again the menu del dia is between €7.50-€11 on the sea front it's €19!

I would recommend this hotel for a weekend break and it is very good value.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
almeria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

only stayed 1 night before our trip from Santander to the UK as we arrived late evening we did not have a chance to have a meal there.
The staff were very friendly and polite and the rooms were spacious and clean, would stay there again if going to the UK as it is near the ferry port and shopping centre.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggieAlmeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
3.1 km away
Hotel Boutique Las Brisas
Hotel Boutique Las Brisas
#17 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Art Santander
Hotel Art Santander
#12 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
4.2 km away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#14 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#5 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
3.1 km away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#4 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Escuela Las Carolinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Escuela Las Carolinas

Property: Hotel Escuela Las Carolinas
Address: Paseo General Davila 115, 39006 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Escuela Las Carolinas 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Carolinas Hotel-School is located within a plot of land with the same name, "Las Carolinas", and is managed by the Cantabrian Hotel and Catering Business Association. Young catering students and chefs are trained here. It occupies a XIX century restored mansion which has 500m2 gardens with two splendid magnolias and a thousand-year-old yew, among other specimens. It subsists in a truly rural environment within the city. Las Carolinas Hotel-School is also located at the top of a hill with spectacular views of Santander and is only 10 minutes away walking distance from the city centre. The Hotel School Project aims to endow the catering and hotel industry with qualified personnel. It seeks to do so by training professionals within the industry's different fields of work. All of the association's training activities are gathered within this single space. These training programmes have been designed to be both theoretical and practical, focusing on kitchen, dining room and hotel management. In order to offer adequate training, there is nothing better than a training centre where students can put the theory they have previously learnt into practice. The main building has thus been turned into a small hotel with 13 rooms and a dining room with a capacity for 40. It operates as a conventional hotel and catering business. The rooms at the Hotel School are decorated in s simple manner, with light wooden furniture and floors. They are all equipped with two beds or a double-bed, a desk, central heating, a bath, a hairdryer and amenities. To start the day off, a full buffet breakfast is also included within our accommodation price. During the academic period, a menu is offered at lunch time which includes an appetizer, a first course and a second course. On Thursday and Friday evenings we prepare a sampling menu. All meals must be booked in advance. All the services at the hotel school are offered by industry students and workers, with a special focus on personalization and quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Escuela Las Carolinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing