We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
15
47
36
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
47
36
8
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 113 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Barely a 5 minute brisk walk from the Bisagra Gate entry into the Old City, the Hotel Martin offers a moderately-priced/quiet refuge while visiting this impressive UNESCO World Heritage-listed city.
The train station is an easy 10-15 minute walk away.....making it a practical option for arrival and departure, as well. Service was efficient and hospitable. General condition and cleanliness was practically top notch. Breakfast looked good, but, as usual, we opted for early starts and "fending for food" around town. Wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Martin again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VagaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The staff and owner of this hotel are obnoxious and unprofessional.

What started out at check in as a disagreement over a parking charge (that had not been made clear at the time of booking) led us into a catalog of unprofessional responses to questions. Being effectively given 'the run around' over where and how to park, being asked twice to move a locked and secured vehicle despite having been watched parking and a totally unwelcoming attitude from both reception and the owner.

In a combined thirty plus years of extended business and leisure travel we have NEVER felt the need to walk out of a hotel before even completing check in. Especially since we have now got a dispute over a no show charge!

The description of hotel location whilst technically accurate conveniently ignores a number of very important points also.

1, there is limited if any sensible street parking locally. What there is, amounts to short term paid 'ticket' parking.

2. the owners garage is their 'private car park' and is barely capable of holding three cars.

3. the hotel is located in what can only be described as a run down residential area, at the base of a VERY steep hill that must be negotiated in order to access Toledo old city some 15 mins walk away.

This hotel is not cheap for the locality and there are far better located, professional and welcoming hotels nearby, all with decent if limited access and parking.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Hotel Martin is simply but tastefully decorated. Our room, though small, was clean, airy and light--white bedspreads, white tile floors, white stucco walls and rich pine woodwork. The flat-screen tv had three English channels. There was a bathtub. The desk clerk was charming and knowledgeable and recommended a convenient restaurant for our dinner, one we would not have found without her help. The hotel is a bit off the beaten track, but for us, that was a plus. It was quiet and uncrowded.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picklesMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We really enjoyed our short stay at this hotel. We had a very warm greeting from the lady on reception who gave us lots of helpful information including a recommendation for a restaurant 'La Abbadia' which we visited twice and thoroughly enjoyed as it had a great atmosphere and served delicious food at an affordable price. (We recommend trying 'Perdiz' - Partridge which is a speciality of the area)

The hotel itself was quaint and light with no traffic noise. We found it cosy and friendly and we particularly enjoyed reading the interesting cultural magazines in the reception area.

The location was a little out of the main historical area but we wanted that for the quiet. It was only about 20 minutes walk anyway.

Our only slight disappointment was the breakfast which was very basic, croissants served in their plastic bag wrapping etc. As this is a budget hotel we didn't mind.

If you have a car, find out what the different coloured parking bays mean. I think there's orange, green and blue and this information will be very helpful as they are bays which are limited stay and times of the day when there is free parking.

It was easy to pull up and unload at the hotel as there are parking bays in front of it however it wasn't possible to park for free for a long period so we discovered an area opposite the coach station about 10 minutes walk away where people parked at their own risk. The receptionist told us know she thought it would be safe enough as there is very little car crime in the area.

Room Tip: First thing in the morning you could hear some noise from the reception so if you want to lay in I advise a room higher up the building.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJLDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I was a bit worried after reading some reviews but booked this hotel anyway thinking it was only one night. It was good for the price, there were four of us and we got rooms 106 and 107, I believe. The rooms were a bit small, we could barely fit our luggage in, but it was clean and quaint with a little private patio outside our room. You need to call the front if you want the airconditioning turned up or down, we just slept with our windows open since it was cool outisde. The hill leading down is steep, but it's in a pretty good location. There's a nice little Chinese restaurant right up the hill as well as an ATM. All in all, if you're not demanding you could stay here one, maybe two nights, but I wouldnt stay longer than that.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seeking_Adventure88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews