We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
15
47
36
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
47
36
8
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 115 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for New Years, it is a small, family run hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff, all of them spoke English. The room was cozy, good beds, nice bathroom. There is no problem parking on the street, there are parking meters and it's free on the weekends. The hotel is about 10-15 min walk to the center. Free WI-FI in the common area. The breakfast is very simple continental, just like in most Spanish hotels. We had it the first morning and skipped it the second

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sroubek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Three of us stayed in one of the apartments at Hotel Martin and had a very pleasant experience. There were two single beds and a couch that pulled out into a bed. All were reasonably comfortable. The apartment did show some signs of wear and tear, but nothing that was made for an inconvenience or was severe enough to negatively impact our stay. The hotels are located in a building separate from the main hotel and (for what it's worth) are not handicapped accessible. The hotel staff was friendly and spoke sufficient English for conversation (none of us spoke Spanish). Breakfast is not cheap, but there is a good selection of meats, cheeses, and bread. We only chose breakfast on our last day as we had to hurry off to the airport. Overall a good stay.

Hotel is at the bottom of a hill and is located outside of the city walls (which has it's pluses and minuses). Overall, a VERY good value for the price paid.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayDubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Last year we visited Toledo on the way home by car from Andalucia. It is an astounding city for architecture, culture & history. At random we booked Hotel Martin and were not disappointed. The service and the friendliness we had from the young woman at reception was extremely helpful.
In the afternoon of Thursday 6th September 2012 we arrived again to use it as an overnight stop on our way down to Andalucia. The standard of service and helpfulness had been maintained very well. Getting us a taxi was no problem and advice on eating and visiting when we return for 3 nights towards the end of this month was freely available. We came away with details written on a map by the reception clerk. The staff providing breakfast were their usual welcoming selves and we went on our way suitably refreshed for our journey south. We thoroughly recommend this hotel as value for money.

Room tip: Approach them in a friendly way and they will do their best to give a good room. We had to add a third night's stay at the last minute and they agreed to provide the same room for an extra night.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Barely a 5 minute brisk walk from the Bisagra Gate entry into the Old City, the Hotel Martin offers a moderately-priced/quiet refuge while visiting this impressive UNESCO World Heritage-listed city.
The train station is an easy 10-15 minute walk away.....making it a practical option for arrival and departure, as well. Service was efficient and hospitable. General condition and cleanliness was practically top notch. Breakfast looked good, but, as usual, we opted for early starts and "fending for food" around town. Wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Martin again.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VagaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The staff and owner of this hotel are obnoxious and unprofessional.

What started out at check in as a disagreement over a parking charge (that had not been made clear at the time of booking) led us into a catalog of unprofessional responses to questions. Being effectively given 'the run around' over where and how to park, being asked twice to move a locked and secured vehicle despite having been watched parking and a totally unwelcoming attitude from both reception and the owner.

In a combined thirty plus years of extended business and leisure travel we have NEVER felt the need to walk out of a hotel before even completing check in. Especially since we have now got a dispute over a no show charge!

The description of hotel location whilst technically accurate conveniently ignores a number of very important points also.

1, there is limited if any sensible street parking locally. What there is, amounts to short term paid 'ticket' parking.

2. the owners garage is their 'private car park' and is barely capable of holding three cars.

3. the hotel is located in what can only be described as a run down residential area, at the base of a VERY steep hill that must be negotiated in order to access Toledo old city some 15 mins walk away.

This hotel is not cheap for the locality and there are far better located, professional and welcoming hotels nearby, all with decent if limited access and parking.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews