We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for Drivers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for Drivers”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Started search of Salamanca looking for hotels with free parking, and Montalvo popped up. Easy to find from the autovia. In an industrial area, so sceptical when driving in, but really surprised upon arrival. Courteous, multi-language staff, clean facilities, roomy lounge and bar. Room was big and had good view of the city. A/C worked well during their mid-Sept heatwave. Too far to walk into historic district, but a straight shot in by car and easy to find public parking garage near river. Hotel had a restaurant with decent menu and prices, but ended up eating in near plaza mayor. Very nice wine store/distributor around the corner with a huge selection of quality wine.

Room Tip: Ask for view of city - Cathedral lights up at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleetstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    233
    83
    15
    8
See reviews for
143
218
16
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Booked this hotel directly thru the solmelia website as the tryp hotel website although claiming to be secure did not show HTTPS in browser. Hotel is a good 3star+ almost a 4 star with a little work.

The receptionist was efficient able to speak in french, english and of course spanish and was very helpful. We parked in the private underground 'security camera' carpark only approx 5euros per day (cheap for hotels). We were kindly upgrade to a premium room (better beds) by the director Silverio and the supplement would be well worth paying as we had a great nights sleep in the new concept beds. Room was pleasantly appointed, good size bathroom and quality bathroom products & amenities supplied.

Room has a fridge, unfortunately no tea/coffee making equipment (need this for 4 star), excellent sound insulation and double glazing as there was a wedding taking place in the hotel and we heard zero noise even with the music being played.

Air conditioning needs to be reviewed/upgraded as it struggled to cool the room sufficiently (temp outside 34°c) and we woke upto odeurs of the kitchen cooking bread and pastries for breakfast (some would like this , i don't) (another 4 star sticking point).

Internet free and great speed in room.

We had an excellent evening meal in the hotel (great service even with a wedding dinner/cocktail taking place) and a very good spread of breakfast buffet.

I will definitely consider coming back to this hotel in the future and hope they make the little improvements to gain the 4 stars they will surely deserver.

PS There is a sauna but no pool which would be an excellent addition.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pro-Travel-Buyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night and although I read some very good reviews I was still pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel. The staff was very nice and very helpful. The room was quite spacious for a hotel in Spain. The beds very comfortable, bathroom great and the TV service more than complete with many foreign channels and Canal+ available for free. Free WIFI and internet in the lobby and free parking were definitely big pluses as well. I really can't say anything bad about the hotel itself especially since I only paid about 48 euros for my room. The only thing you have to be careful when booking this hotel would be the location. If you have a car, it's great since the hotel is very easy to find and is located right next to an easy to navigate road that takes you in less than 5 minutes straight to the Roman Bridge which is probably the nicest access to the historic part of Salamanca and a must-see for anyone visiting the city. When you arrive to the Roman Bridge there's plenty of side streets to park on and then you can leave your car there and have a beautiful short walk across the bridge to the Cathedral of Salamanca and the cool part is that when you'll be leaving at the end of the day you'll get to cross this bridge and have some more photo opps before returning to your hotel. Obviously if you don't have a car it's a different story and you may want to stay near the city center because the Montalvo is situated in an industrial area and the area has nothing interesting but like I said, the drive by car takes less than 5 minutes and is very practical so in such a situation I wouldn't doubt staying at the Montalvo again and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark1977Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed two nights while on a trip trough Spain. It's a nice hotel for families with small children, since one room can accomodate four confortably. It's a bit far from city center, but it's a 5 minutes car drive, and although the location isn't pretty (an business park), it's very very quiet at night. The staff was very friendly, the room was good and confortable, it has free internet, breakfast is also reasonable, even if the breakfast room is on the small side, so you may have to wait for a table, so it's all you can ask of a 3* hotel. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vega9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel after finding a great price on Active Hotels.com. The hotel itself is very nice. Very comfortable rooms. A nice lobby area with huge couches and a TV and DVD player with a large library of DVD movies. The lounge area is very nice and has a pretty view of the Cathedral and old town area.
We took a bus to get to town, but had to take a cab from the train station to the hotel.
If you are driving, this would be a nice choice. As stated before, the hotel is in an industrial area, so that is one downfall.Next time I will select a hotel closer to the major attractions.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Fly2Madrid3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Although it is situated in the industrial end of town this hotel is lovely. I stayed here while driving from Santander to Seville, it was my half way stop!
Small/Medium carpark at front but they have a nice underground carpark for €4 per day.
Wireless internet in the rooms,which has good speed.
Bedrooms were huge with big bathrooms and nice views of the outside gardens/park at the rear of the hotel.
Reception will call taxi's for you if you need to go to the city only 5-6 minutes journey and really cheap.
I enjoyed my stay it is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregory18387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
1.8 km away
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
#8 of 70 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
2.2 km away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
2.3 km away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#3 of 70 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Parador de Salamanca
Parador de Salamanca
#7 of 70 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
2.3 km away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
2.7 km away
Exe Salamanca
Exe Salamanca
#13 of 70 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel

Property: Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel
Address: Calle Hoces del Duraton 1 | C/ Hoces del Duraton,1, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salamanca
#2 Business Hotel in Salamanca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#15 Family Hotel in Salamanca
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tryp Montalvo Hotel is only 5 minutes by car from the centre of Salamanca. The hotel provides 57 rooms, some of them with excellent views of the splendid monuments in Salamanca, and all carefully and tastefully decorated. Free WI-Fi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Partner Montalvo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing