We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really grat location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlas Hotel
Ranked #373 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A really grat location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a total of sixteen days. It is right in the heart of all the action in the Gothic quarter. It is not that far from any place in that section of the 'old' city, we managed to walk every place we needed to see. It is about 10 minute walk from either end of La Rambla, at one end you have the ocean and at the other you have Placa de Catalunya, where the Hop on Hop off buses depart from.
The only negative point I can say is, the beds were too hard, but over all the place was very clean and tidy. I would reconmend this hotel to other people.

Room Tip: if you are going to choose this hotel, and there are two of you, go for one of the bigger rooms as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanabetraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    90
    50
    21
    13
See reviews for
31
90
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

On a lovely side road leading into the gothic quater, and a 3 min walk from metro on Las ramblas this hotel is in a perfect location for first time visitors to Barcelona and for those who want to be close to all the goings on :) The market is also abot 5 mins walk away and the cathedral is 2 mins in the opposite direction. this hotel is totally in the middle of everything. As long as you dont plan to go to bed before 12am and you drink anough sangria the noise levels are perfectly fine. me and my friend took ear plugs after reading the other reviews but slept till 11am one day without them lol and didnt use them the whole holiday. The guys on the desk were very friendly and helpful. I found the nicer and best value restarants to be in barceloneta, the cavaMar (i think that was what it was called) was lovely. I really liked this hotel and wouldnt have btohered to write this review otherwise.

Room Tip: Dont bother taking shower gel or shampoo as they provide, plus clean towels and toilet roll daily :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ktleigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We loved the location of the hotel since it was easily accessible and was basically a 2 min walk to Las Ramblas- right smack in the tourist area.

The hotel room & bathroom were clean with modern fittings. However, the room was a little too small for our liking especially since we had 2 big luggages with us. We were happy with the free wifi & safe. Don't bother with the breakfast since there are better and cheaper options in the surrounding cafes. We didn't have issues with any noise, possibly because the room was on the higher level.

If you need to do laundry, there is a laundromat in the small alley next to the hotel, which offers the service at a decent price. I would not hesitate here, if I'm travelling light given the small rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IgnatiusW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Great location off ramblas. Rooms are basic as is everything in the hotel. It's VERY noisy at night so don't go there expecting a good nights sleep. Overall I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colw08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Reading some of the other reviews, I really don't know what some people expect from this type of hotel, in this type of location. They are simply unrealistic. Spent 4 nights here and worked really well.

It also seems as though the hotel has been upgraded since many of the reviews, as the room and bathroom were modern, functional and reasonably stylish. Good powerful shower compared to many hotels, and the beds were comfortable. Rooms were clean, had a free safe and free wi-fi access with very good signal. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Breakfast is advertised as continental, but there was basic hot food. Enough to start you off for the day, but if you want special cereal, fruit juices, or breads, you'll have to buy your own, or this isn't for you.

If you are coming to Barcelona to be guided around and sit on a tourist bus, then maybe not the best choice. Why sit in a hotel when there are so many bars and restaurants close by to the this hotel?

So, if you are coming to visit Barcelona, get around easily and use the hotel as simply a base, this is fantastic. It's about half way down Las Ramblas, so 10-15mins walk from Catalunya Sq, for airport connections, or 10-15mins walk the other way for the port. You are just on the edge of the gothic quarter, so really easy to explore that way as well and many nicer bars / restaurants than on Las Ramplas.

Metro Liceu is really close by on line L3.

It is noisy around the hotel, but that's because of being in this area. And yes there are building works going on around, but that seems to be par for the course in these areas. Ask for an inside room to minimise the noise. So if you want the location, you have to accept the limitations, which other reviewers don't seem to have taken into account.

If you stay here and like walking around, you don't need to buy a Barcelona Card and you only need to use the tourist bus if you are in Barcelona for a very short stay. A 10 ticket bus / metro pass or a day or 2 day unlimited pass if you want to walk less is perfectly adequate. Works out much more cost effective and is much more fun.

For a good tapas restaurant, Taller de tapas www.tallerdetapas.com is quite close to the hotel. Had good meals here, reasonably priced, seems to be used by locals and even when busy the service was good.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baddersman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

My friend and I stayed here for one night in March. As we had such a short stay we intentionally chose a hotel in the lively Ramblas area in order to make the most of the Barcelona evening atmosphere.

The location was ideal for us: a ten minute walk from the Airport shuttle stop in Placa de Catalunya (also the main stop for the sightseeing buses), right in the heart of the historic Barri Gotic district and just around the corner from the Ramblas.

Reception staff were all pleasant, helpful and spoke very good English. Storing our luggage the next day was no problem. Our twin room was on the first floor and overlooked an old, but characterful, passageway. The room had been modernised and the decor was very tasteful. The bathroom was also very modern and was spotlessly clean, as was the bedroom. The mattress was very soft and comfortable and, if it hadn't been for the noise from passers-by and the occasional nearby building noises, I think I would have slept very well.

Breakfast choice was quite limited, but basically fine. The hotel does not serve evening meals and there is no bar (as far as I am aware) but the location makes up for that; you are literally just around the corner from tapas bars and open air restaurants and there is even a juice bar next door.

Having read previous reviews, and knowing I was staying in a lively area, I was expecting noise, but wasn't expecting the additional hammering sounds which, although they didn't last long into the night, were enough to stop me getting off to sleep.

If I'm lucky enough to return to Barcelona, I'd be happy to stay here again, although I'd have to bring earplugs!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debdancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

Very, noisy at night and I do mean all night! There are no insulated windows and the street noise is terrible. There is a building next door under construction and they work at night also. There are no washcloths, hand towels in the hotel at all. ( I asked the maid and the front desk clerk) I really expected this in a 3 star hotel.

EXTREMELY HOT WATER. in room 401 and it was hard to regulate. Just a shower no tub . The bar of soap was miniscule. Anyone with small children should be aware of potential scalding.

Breakfast buffet amounted to raw under cooked bacon and burned scrambled eggs for all 3 days I stayed there. We chose to eat breakfast elsewhere rather than risk getting sick from under cooked meat.

I wish I hadn't prepaid for the room on Eurobookings, I would of checked out of the room the first night. The desk clerk told me the owner and his partner own two hostels and are building a third close by. . I must admit I've had BETTER stays at hostels than this hotel. Definately overpriced. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robertashouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
May Ramblas Hotel
May Ramblas Hotel
#386 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
El Raval
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
#310 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#213 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
El Raval
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#222 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Ingles
Hotel Ingles
#325 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Hotel

Property: Atlas Hotel
Address: Cardenal Casanas 11, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This design hotel has an excellent location in a quiet side street only 20 metres from the famous Las Ramblas. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The Hotel Atlas is set in the historic centre of Barcelona. It is a short walk from the Boquería Market, the Liceu theatre and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Atlas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing