We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Atlas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlas Hotel
Ranked #393 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This hotel has a great location just off La Rambla. Although the rooms are meant to be soundproof, there is some street noise but it never awoke me but sometimes semed loud as I was getting ready for bed. The noise dies down after 2am in any event. It's so close to Liceu metro, and near Plaza Catalunya and most attractions are within walking distance or near a metro station. There's a ton of restaurants and tapas bars nearby, and the Boqueria fresh food market is just round the corner! The breakfast is simple but adequate (scrambled eggs, cheese, ham, bread, croissants, cornflakes). The security is good - the reception staff open the doors at night for you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Solo business t... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

Nice 2 day stay at this hotel.Very good location, near the Rambla ( 5 m) and to the turist bus at the end of the Rambla (150 m). Sweet and helpfull personal. Standard Breakfast-meal, but gets you going.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Erik I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Visiting Barcelona to meet suppliers and visit the Alimentaria show - this is a great hotel if you are looking for a central location just off the Rambla and just want a place to sleep. Room was compact but clean, given its central location quiet. Bed very comfortable. WiFi was free & worked well. Breakfast basic, reception staff helpful.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank edelinick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

very clean hotel, comfotable bed,good breakfast all staff that we seen very helpful and friendly.great location easy to find . had a fantastic few days in barcelona.only down side wiyh being just of the rambals tened to be noisy late into the night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglandToffee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed for a long weekend in late February, location of hotel cannot be faulted from here you are within easy walk to La Rambles, the Gothic Quarter (this is a must because of its old world charm, small windy streets, beautiful buildings from Roman times, as well as the range of shops, restaurants and bars.

The hotel is small in comparison to others in the City but understandable when you compare the compact nature of its environment. Staff were very friendly and helpful, hotel was clean.

The only downside was the size of the bedroom which was compact and the decor fairly basic when you consider the price of the rooms per night, but I guess you are paying for location. Also the room needed some maintenance, handle to bathroom was loose and the hairdryer was detacted from the wall with exposed wires which did make me nervous about using.

I would certainly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Can be noisy because of its close proximity to neighbouring buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Atlas prior to our cruise embarking from Barcelona. Our room was small but adequate. Being proximate to Las Ramblas is great for tourists but this is a busy part of the city and it could be noisy. The Atlas is located on a peek-a-boo side street so most rooms offer quiet, a welcome quality when you are tired. The desk staff are knowledgeable about tourist needs and can help with tours, dinner and shopping advice.Two important tips: 1. Your taxi and other traffic cannot enter this side street, and need to drop you about 50 feet or so from the door. This is important information if you are locating this hotel by the street address. 2. If it is important to you to have 2 people sleep in one bed ( a double as opposed to a twin arrangement) mention this when you make your reservation. Some of the larger rooms have a twin bed arrangement.

Room Tip: Rooms with a double bed may be smaller. Ask for a quiet room if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeachersTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a total of sixteen days. It is right in the heart of all the action in the Gothic quarter. It is not that far from any place in that section of the 'old' city, we managed to walk every place we needed to see. It is about 10 minute walk from either end of La Rambla, at one end you have the ocean and at the other you have Placa de Catalunya, where the Hop on Hop off buses depart from.
The only negative point I can say is, the beds were too hard, but over all the place was very clean and tidy. I would reconmend this hotel to other people.

Room Tip: if you are going to choose this hotel, and there are two of you, go for one of the bigger rooms as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanabetraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
May Ramblas Hotel
May Ramblas Hotel
#378 of 515 in Barcelona
68 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Condal
Hotel Condal
#293 of 515 in Barcelona
530 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#238 of 515 in Barcelona
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Ingles
Hotel Ingles
#357 of 515 in Barcelona
373 reviews
El Raval
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
#340 of 515 in Barcelona
415 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
#124 of 515 in Barcelona
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Hotel

Address: Cardenal Casanas 11, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $112 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This design hotel has an excellent location in a quiet side street only 20 metres from the famous Las Ramblas. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The Hotel Atlas is set in the historic centre of Barcelona. It is a short walk from the Boquería Market, the Liceu theatre and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing