We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Emma(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$151
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$184
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel DO(Barcelona)
US$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$206
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$128
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Constanza Barcelona(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
U232 Hotel(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
US$511
US$363
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$342
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel The Serras(Barcelona)
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,599)
Filter reviews
1,599 results
Traveller rating
289
774
414
77
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
774
414
77
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsllacuna metro stationrambla del poblenouhi expressmercadona supermarketsofa bedfree breakfastyellow linetwo blocksminute walkthe breakfast areafamily roombasic hotelyogurtcold meatsstayed here for nightsquiet arearestaurants and shops
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
688 - 693 of 1,599 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed 3 nights at Easter in family room. Room clean and comfortable and more than adequate for our needs. Got free wi-fi as husband is platinum member so that was an unexpected bonus. Breakfast is free and fine - lots of choice and plenty of it so what more can you ask for! Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is very good - 5 mins from underground station and also close to restaurants in Poblu Neu area. We arrived Sunday noon and walked all the way to the sea - not far at all. The general area looks a little iffy but nothing to cause undue concern- you need to keep your wits about you wherever you are in Barcelona. Yes there's graffiti but I think the area is on the up. One thing- the hotel can be hard to spot at first as the green HIE sign is not obvious and the building looks like ( and probably was) an office block. The bar area is a bit bleak but who needs that when you've been out in he city. All in all good value especially if using your free nights as a loyalty club member. Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Makk28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed here, alone, for 3 nights at the beginning of April. I was very happy to be in a neighborhood away from the main tourist area. I don't know why one reviewer took taxis everywhere, the Metro is clean, felt safe, and was easy to navigate (IMHO). Just a few minutes on the Metro and you are right where you want to be at the tourist areas.

Hotel was standard HIE, street noise not too bad. Breakfast decent, very crowded. Good TV and wifi.

I personally had no trouble with pickpockets at all. I found Barcelona easy to navigate, even though there wasn't a lot of English spoken. The city sports many signs pointing tourists to what they want to see.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Squidhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed here 3 nights over easter weekend.Staff very friendly and accomodating,rooms were typical h/inn express,nothing to shout about,clean and modern,.....bed wasnt to comfortable and the shower pressure was terrible,other than that it was ok.
Hotel is "out of the way" of the main drag which is fine,good transport links to the city,yellow line "Llacuna" metro station 5 minutes walk away,also there is the tram about 10 mins walk away,just turn left out of the hotel and walk all the way down llacuna street,u cant miss it!There is also a "glorious" shopping centre near the tram stop,it has a starbucks where we went each morning for our dose of caffine!!!!!,staff were friendly and understood english no problem.Also when u arrive at barcelona airport,get the train into the city,its cheap and fast,purchase a T-10 ticket which u can use on all the metro,trams and trains to/from airport, a bargain at 9.85 Euros.
Overall we had a great time in Barca,.......one note of caution,be aware of pickpockets,keep your wallet/purse close to hand,be sensible and you will have no problems.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank choo-choodaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear choo-choodaz,

Thank you for your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your Easter weekend and are glad you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry the water pressure in the shower was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stay at the hotel for 4 nights. We arrived on the day of the national strike so we were glad that we weren't in the middle of town. The hotel was modern and clean. The room was small and pretty bared. Bring your own shampoo/conditioner because all they had was shower gel for everything. Breakfast was ok and the same menu for 4 mornings we were there. We stayed there because we were IHG member. We did not know until the third day that as a gold member we supposed to get free wi fi - our children paid for the first 2 days. This hotel is good for business travelers or for overnight stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear pamseattle,

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received accommodations that were less than satisfactory. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We have recently returned from a 4 day trip to Barcelona with our young son. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The location was perfect for us - just a fifteen minute walk to the beach & park area, with a small selection of shops and restaurants close by.
Whilst in Barcelona, our son was taken ill and admitted to hospital. The hotel staff were very helpful - ordering us taxis, providing hot drinks and a late breakfast (after a night spent in the hospital), and allowing us to keep our room for longer on the day of our departure. We really appreciated the friendly, helpful staff - and really hope to return to the Holiday Inn Express, Barcelona in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belina32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews