We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”
Review of Donizetti

Donizetti
Ranked #20 of 10,092 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Eixample
Description: The restaurant opens Donizetti in 2005 , from opt for traditional cuisine , with quality products , all our dishes are prepared at the time as it is a restaurant with limited capacity , please book. Our schedule is cooking , 13:00 15: 40 and 20 : 00.22 : 30 . Closed Wednesday and Sunday evenings . In summer , from 15 July to 9 September , the kitchen opens at 19:30 until 22:40 .All holidays closed
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were lucky as we hadn't booked a table but managed to get the last one available - all the rest had been reserved. It is a small restuarant with just a few tables and whilst we were there at least 5 sets of diners without reservations had to be turned away as they were fully booked.

The reason became evident as we started our meal....

The food was absolutely fantastic - everything had been freshly made. The little appetiser that they gave us was delicious and the ravioli and spaghetti dishes were truely excellent. The same for the desserts - the Tirmisu, Chocolate cake and Pistacio ice cream were all fabulous.

The lady serving us didn't speak much English so communication was a bit difficult but she was very sweet and did her best so that just added to our positive experience (the menus were in English so it wasn't a problem).

We would highly recommend Donizetti!

Thank egrekao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donizettibcn, Propietario at Donizetti, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello egrekao I have read your opinion, I am very grateful for the optimum valuation, and for all the praise, I take the opportunity that I have to greet you and again many thanks. ‍.
Marcello Di Prinzio. Bernadette Gallego.
Ristorante Donizetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Great service, wonderful food and great wine Our experience was wonderfull. The service were very nice and helpfull. We really enjoy our evening.

Thank Halldor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donizettibcn, Propietario at Donizetti, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hello Halldor1,thanks for rating our restaurant on tripadvisor, it is a real pleasure to receive such positive comments,thanks also for your kindness in dedicating some of your time to publish it.
Until next time, Marcello Di Prinzio. Bernadette Gallego. Ristorante Donizetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Food was great and the house wine is very good. The restaurant is quite small, not many tables and not suited for larger groups.

Thank Cecilie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donizettibcn, Propietario at Donizetti, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Hi Cecilie thanks for expressing your opinion on trip advisor and also for your kindness in dedicating us a few minutes,until next time.
Best regards. Marcello Di Prinzio. Bernadette. Gallego. Ristorante Donizetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

It's a small Italian restaurant with the best Italian food I have tried in Barcelona. The host is so friendly and the atmosphere is cozy. The Rigatoni arrabbiata was delicious.

1  Thank Lulu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donizettibcn, Propietario at Donizetti, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Hi Lulu, I have read your opinion, thank you very much, for the minutes that you dedicate to write it on this page, and also for the good evaluation, until the next one.
A cordial greeting, Marcello Di Prinzio, Bernadette Gallego
Ristorante Donizetti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

We turned up with out booking on a Saturday night and managed to get a table. They were short staffed on the night and were turning people away after us, so it seems we were lucky. The food is simply delicious. The service was excellent and very friendly/welcoming. A complimentary taster before our main course was pleasantly unexpected. We had a vegetarian ravioli with truffle sauce (to die for) and a risotto with gorgonzola, which was extremely flavoursome. With 2 glasses of wine and a small bottle of water, the bill came to about €45. Booking is probably recommended to avoid disappointment. We would definitely dine there again.

1  Thank Henny52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donizettibcn, Propietario at Donizetti, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Hi Henny52, I have read your opinion, I appreciate your kindness, and good valuation,
I take the opportunity to greet you, and I hope to see you on another occasion.
:) A cordial greeting, Marcello Di Prinzio, Bernadette Gallego
Ristorante Donizetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Donizetti also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Donizetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing