We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crime in Raval area”
Review of Barcelo Raval

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Raval
Ranked #104 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Sad to have to write such a review but need to warn future tourists about staying here. We have stayed twice in this hotel and have found it comfortable and welcoming. The trouble is, it is a top end hotel in a very bad area. Glad to return home yesterday, having been mugged on the way back from restaurant one evening this week. The adjacent streets have definitely worsened. A gang of about seven or eight surrounded us, pushing and shoving, asking us "friendly" questions. Our son, the most threatening for them I suppose, was surrounded while they took my husband's wallet. He had been walking at the back of the group. The wallet had been in a secure pocket but they still took it and he had no sensation of them doing so. I have always been an Hispanophile, loving the country, culture, language and specifically the city of Barcelona but now feel disillusioned and vulnerable. It was not just a chance pickpocketing. This group had obviously singled us out. Yes, we will learn from it but, even so, we are seasoned travellers and had deliberately avoided the smaller alleyways. However, they were very slick. Just a few minutes after it happened, my son was approached again in a similar way! Got the feeling this time that the people in this area definitely did not like us and did not want us there. I spoke to police who drove by and again the next day at the police station but they did not really want to know. So, if you are staying at this hotel, pay extra for a taxi to and from when you go out at night. Despite putting a brave face on it, this type of incident really does spoil your stay.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
10  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,738 - 1,744 of 3,425 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

Big black statues, over-sized lampshades and funky decor. Not really my style but bed was large and comfortable and room very clean. Semi-open plan layout. Great view from 10th floor. Small gym but no pool (weird bit of water on roof terrace labelled as pool but more like small water feature!). Breakfast ok but nothing special. Central location easy to walk to Ramblas, Montjuic and Barceloneta from. Slightly dodgy area so take care. We paid 2 nights with tesco vouchers and for a third ourselves so good value but wouldn't have booked it at full price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonGlittergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My son and I were visiting Barcelona to see the local heroes at Camp Nou. The stay at Barcelo Raval was fun and a little different from what we are used to. The Rooms are brigtly collered red and white with the bathroom integrated into the rest of the room - but still seperate. We enjoyed the small pool at the roof, the fantastic 360 view and the roof bar in the afternoons. the breakfast was good and the location is excelent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joakim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Can't fault the service at this hotel, albeit a little slow in the bar. Rooms are nice, well equipped but decor is very dark everywhere which doesn't really help the overall feeling being a little claustrophobic. The entire hotel is encased in metal gridding, so all views from windows are restricted by this as you look out through a mesh. There are however, good all round views from the roof terrace, but this in reality, is much smaller than photos would suggest (they must have had them taken by a good estate agent!). The roof "pool" is nothing more than a large hot tub that isn't hot, there are tables and chairs to sit and admire the view, but these obstruct the way round when people are sat at them, and to be honest, you can't see much sitting down anyhow as the sides to the roof terrace are about 4 feet high.
Stairwells are very dark indeed, so use with caution or wait for the slow lifts to arrive (only 1 of 3 go to the roof so it can be quite a wait), corridors very dark and the room lighting too. There is no privacy in the open plan shower, particularly with the mirrored doors too, so only share with someone you know well! Happy to report there is a sliding door to the loo! Not a great deal of wardrobe space if you're staying more than a couple of days but the beds are very comfortable indeed.
Overall a decent contemporary hotel, a little bit weird in it's choice of dark decor everywhere, and more than a little bit odd given the location. The best way to describe this hotel is it's like being inside an alien spaceship that has crash landed in a ghetto. I know others say the area is no so bad, but the appearance is dreadful, grafitti everywhere and washing hanging over every balcony, lots of dodgy looking characters hanging around and doesn't feel safe - regardless of whether it actually is safe or not, it doesn't look safe or feel safe. An odd experience indeed!

Room Tip: Higher up gives a better view but you can't see much anyway cause of the metal grids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nics169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The rooms were dark with inadequate lighting. There were no windows and it felt like being in a cage.
The rooms were small and had no privacy for the shower, they are also badly designed.
Maybe ok for one person.
Oh and the "swimming pool" is a puddle and they should advertise it as such.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tmcdonnaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I had used my Tesco vouchers for the Barcelo. We are fairly well travelled and I would be very fussy about where I stay.. both standard of hotel and location. When I had read some of the reviews on Tripadvisor I was honestly worried about going to stay in the Barcelo Raval because of the area in which it is situated. We had been to Barcelona before and stayed in a great hotel beside the Placa Catalunya so we knew the city.
We arrived at the hotel around 1pm and were given a room on the 9th floor with views over the Rambla del Raval. Very efficient friendly reception staff and a porter to take bags if we had wanted it. Room was spotless, very comfortable bed, nice big towels and the coffee machine that had been mentioned in other reviews with normal and decaff provided. There is a small supermarket 30 seconds from the hotel in which you can get bottled water. Very well stocked mini bar.
We didnt have breakfast in the hotel but tried a couple of local cafes nearby and had plenty of choices of set breakfast menus. There were a few men about but no large groups and we were never approached by anyone "strange". We asked what street to use to and from the Ramblas and were advised to take the Carrer del Carme which always had people coming and going on it and wasnt so narrow as the Carrer del Hospital.
We walked all over the city and did the hop on hop of bus for a day. We went out to eat in Cuidad Condal for tapas and it was so good we went back a second night which I dont think we have ever done on holiday! Always got a taxi back to the hotel at night....average price 6-7 euro and dropped right outside the door...well worth it!
The rooftop at the hotel is fantastic and made even better when enjoying a cocktail or two at the end of a long day sightseeing. Didnt try the plunge pool but it would be fabulous on a really hot day in Barcelona and there were plenty of chairs and recliners up there too.
All in all- a great stay in a hip and trendy hotel and all I can say is we had no bother at all.

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floor or book a deluxe and you will get this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hols3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

First of all, I don't know how this hotel can proudly display their Tripadvisor Excellent award at their reception. The hotel is terrible. We were on our honeymoon and they gave us a room with 2 single beds, joined together to form one queen size bed (each single bed has a roller at the bottom which moved). Rooms were too dark with insufficient lighting.

Hotel staff were cold & standoffish. We had stayed at other hotels in various cities in Spain and this has got to be the worst reception. And don't let me start about the ghetto neighbourhood. We we warned by so many sellers around the area to be careful. Saw a couple of prostitutes around the hotel too.

Not recommended for families and young girls. Infact, I wont recommend this hotel to anyone at all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank delladelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#92 of 517 in Barcelona
1,728 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#199 of 517 in Barcelona
3,114 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#31 of 517 in Barcelona
4,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#16 of 517 in Barcelona
1,144 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#62 of 517 in Barcelona
1,961 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#100 of 517 in Barcelona
3,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Raval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Raval

Address: Rambla del Raval 17-21, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#79 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#89 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $122 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Raval 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Barceló Raval hotel is strategically situated in the heart of Barcelona, in the Raval neighbourhood, one of the city's most fashionable areas. It is also Barcelona's artistic and cultural epicentre. The Barceló Raval hotel has become a symbol of the transformation and modernity this area of the city’s old quarters is experiencing, due to its unique oval structure and exquisite avant-garde interior design. In its 182 modern rooms and 4 sophisticated suites you will find an iPod docking station, a Nespresso coffee maker and free Wifi. As a part of its innovative concept, it offers a new and multifunctional B-Lounge service where you can try our delicious tapas served continuously from 12.00 to midnight. And to crown off this extraordinary building, there is a roof top terrace where you can bath in the swimming pool solarium whilst enjoying panoramic views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barcelo Raval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Raval Hotel Barcelona
Barcelo Hotel Raval
Barcelo Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing