We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and wine”
Review of Restaurant Montiel

Restaurant Montiel
Ranked #36 of 9,594 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$78
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: Based on an exhaustive selection of the best raw materials in our region, the gastronomic offer is made from simple and tasty tapas to a full season tasting menu. Paying the utmost attention in the respect for the raw materials, producers and our environment, we work to make the gastronomic experience not only pleasant and fun, but also sustainable, fair and healthy. 80% of the products we use in our kitchen, from vegetables, meats and fish, to wines, beverages and breads, come from small producers in the region. This obliges us and allows us to always work with seasonal products and update our menus permanently. We do not use gluten or lactose and the sugar from our desserts is integral and environmentally friendly. The visit of our clients, then, becomes a comprehensive event ranging from the sensory enjoyment proper to an emotional satisfaction derived from the knowledge of knowing that what is being enjoyed also contributes to strengthen the local economy and Our own health.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and wine”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We had a really great time here. We did the tasting menu and wine pairing, both were amazing and we were SO glad we opted to do the wine pairing as well. Wonderful service and food. If you want a nice meal in Barcelona, definitely make a reservation here!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrahmD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,762
    312
    113
    54
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Deserves to be rated #1 in Barcelona”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

It is not only the quality of the food, the simplicity of the surroundings, it's central location, choice of wines and it's very attentive and knowledagable staff, we also found it great value. I think this is a must for any serious foodie who wants a bit more than the great range of tapas bars you can find in this great city. Beautifully cooked food (our steak was immaculate!) and lovely wine choices made for a enjoyable evening over a couple of hours. Not to be missed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Anniversary treat - Amazing”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is a fabulous restaurant.

I visited with my wife for our anniversary celebration in Barcelona.
We tried the "Tasting Menu" and accompanying wine as I just couldn't decide what I wanted from the menu.
The service from the staff was excellent - Explaining each dish and each wine.
We certainly ended trying things we would never have eaten, such as oysters and tuna tartar. All the food was excellent!

Most of the wines were excellent too - We weren't too keen on the sweet dessert wines but this is the point of a "tasting" menu.
We only got a small glass of wine for each "taste" - Don't be afraid to ask for more wine - it is available if you need it! :-)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you like good food, you've really got to go once and you'll be sure to return”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We found this restaurant listed as No.1 on TripAdvisor ... it is always reassuring when a good number of discerning travellers get it right. We found this place so good that when we next travelled back to Barcelona, we made a special date in our travel plans just to luxuriate and savour a long lunch there.
The place is "cosy" make sure you book!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Meal of the Trip”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stopped in for a reservation and were lucky enough that they had a cancellation for the following night. It was the best meal we had all trip. We did the 9-course tasting menu and were so happy after the meal. Great food! The highlights included fresh oysters, tuna tartar, duck ravioli, beef with truffle oil, and two amazing desserts. Would highly recommend and will definitely visit again!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Montiel also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurant Montiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing