We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
411
60
8
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
411
60
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer tasting arc de triomf rooftop lounge conditioner and shower gel welcome drink on arrival sliding mirror cocktail masterclass free activities meet other guests great location different pillows great walk in shower top floor check out gothic quarter sewing kit small plunge pool
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 482 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Great location with easy walking access to Gothic Quarter
Handy to public transport, only 4 minute walk to Metro
Great staff
Need to upgrade rooms to include refrigerator especially during heatwave
Room and bed very comfortable.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ljs214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_direccionrec, Manager at Hotel Rec Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Hello friend!!

First of all, thank you so much for your review!

We take into account your comments, it is very helpful for us!

Hope to see you back!

Best wishes,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

Me and my husband chose this hotel for our honeymoon and are so glad we did. Sitting on the terrace of the rooftop bar we couldn’t be more relaxed. We arrived on Thursday later than planned due to delays at the airport and were feeling a little deflated. This soon changed as we met the hotel reception team as they greeted as us fiends and offered us a complimentary drink. The check in was smooth and I was so impressed with the service we received. I made a joke about it being our honeymoon and they sent a bottle of cava to our room the following day! When we got to our room we was really impressed it was clean, modern and a really good size. Everyone we encountered during our stay was really polite and nothing was too much trouble and this goes from reception, bar staff to the cleaners. The hotel has a restaurant but we didn’t try that. It also has a bar on the 7th floor with two terraces. One of which has a pool. The pool is small and when we booked we had no intention of using it however we was pleasantly surprised that all 3 days we was here there was plenty of room to enjoy the pool and relax with a drink. It is an added bonus on a city break. The bar has a selection of food to choose from - we enjoyed an evening meal here which was reasonably priced and very nice. We would recommend he pizza! we also had breakfast included in our stay and this was enjoyed on the 7th floor so we was able to enjoy the beautiful views of Barcelona. There is a wide selection of food to choose from in the breakfast buffet from cooked to continental and it is only 9€ if it isn’t already prebooked. Well worth it. The hotel is in a good location - a couple of minutes walk to the arc de triumph which also has a metro station next to it. The metro is the easiest way to get around Barcelona although it is particularly hot the tubes themselves have air condition which makes it a bit more comfortable and at less than 25€ for a 3 day ticket it is more than worth and a great way to get the most out of the city. To sum it up if we chose to visit Barcelona again we wouldn’t be looking elsewhere for somewhere to stay we love this hotel and felt so comfortable here. I would go as far as to say this is best hotel we have stayed in.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_direccionrec, Manager at Hotel Rec Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Hello our friend!!

First of all, let us thank to you for your amazing words!

We really appreciate your feedback and we are happy to know we have made our work well.

If you come back to Barcelona, Rec hotel is your second home here!

Best regards!! :-)

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018

I must say I was a little worried after booking this hotel - is it just a no kids allowed hotel, or is it one of those weird "adults only" hotels where dodgy people like to go. Luckily it was the former and we were very pleasantly surprised by how much we liked this hotel!

Great stay at hotel REC at the end of July. On arrival, we were greeted by the smiliest guy who brought us cold Estrella beers on the house and gave us plenty of useful tips for our first stay in Barcelona. We were told that we were being upgraded from the REC Quiet room which we had booked, to a REC Life room*.

The room was nice and light and clean. Great AC (sometimes a little too strong so you need to play around with the settings). Shower was nice and powerful - you can switch the tap between the water coming from a rainfall shower head or one of those more conventional shower heads which you can remove from the bracket and hold by hand. I wouldn't recommend this type of room if you are not comfortable with your co-traveller. Whilst there is a sliding door to cover the shower glass on one side, the shower is not exactly in another room. Of course this was fine for us travelling as a couple - we didn't care. Luckily the toilet does have a closeable door, so you do have some privacy there. The bed was huge! We have a king size at home and this one was far bigger. We didn't use it, but there is a pillow menu if you want a harder/softer/smaller/larger pillow. Perfect for getting a good night sleep. We got some laundry done whilst we were here and it came back the same day very quickly nicely washed, ironed and folded.

My only criticism of the rooms is that:
1 - there is no fridge! We traveled in the middle of a heat wave. Whilst tap water is perfectly drinkable in Spain, the taps in the rooms did not get particularly cold, so we were stuck with drinking lukewarm water at night/in the morning.
2 - I'm sure that housekeeping don't clean the floors. The floors were sort of patterned so you couldn't see without looking. But walking around bare foot after a shower quickly dirtied your feet again.

The breakfast was included in our room rate. It was delicious. I am always dubious of a "buffet breakfast". However here, we were pleasantly surprised! Every day there was a brilliant selection to choose from and not the usual crap of a few stale croissants and cereals. Instead, there was fresh fruit like melon, salad bowls, yoghurts, smoothies, homemade milkshakes, chia puddings, cakes, buns, croissants, savoury croissants with ham, sweet croissants with chocolate fondant, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, grated tomatoes, toast, 3 types of Spanish omlette, cereals, biscuits, fresh juices (peach, apple, mango, orange) etc. Definitely worth it. The breakfast is served in the Rooftop lounge and terrace area which is very nice.

One tip. If you have an early morning flight but have obviously paid for breakfast, don't rely on the waitress who tells you she can arrange whatever you want to be sent down to reception at 3am. Just take a small bag and some napkins and take some extra fruit and pastries the morning before. We were about to do that but thought to first ask the waitress. She asked us what time we needed the breakfast for (we said 3:00am) and asked what we wanted, sandwiches, croissants, fruit, etc. It sounded great. Of course when we went to check out at 3am, there was no breakfast. The receptionist seemed to have no record. He asked us to wait whilst he phoned up to the bar to see what they could do. We almost missed our night buses to the airport (the taxi drivers were striking and no metro services in the middle of the night). Eventually someone comes along with paper bags for us at 3:20 (we were about to just leave and say nevermind). What was in each of our paper bags? One apple and a mini juice carton! It was not worth waiting and having to run for the nightbus with our suitcases!

In the evenings, the hotel runs several free activities on certain nights, such as beer tasting and cocktail making. We didn't have time to try any of these as they were typically held at 18:30 and we were usually still out sightseeing at that time.

On our last night, we enjoyed drinks on the rooftop terrace from the bar. They have some talented barmen who mix some delicious drinks. I would recommend the Pome24.

When I first searched for a hotel, a pool was on my list of "must haves". I had read reviews saying the pool was small, but the photos make it look reasonable sized. Don't be fooled - it is small. 70cm deep and probably no more than 4m x 2m (just estimating here). However, there really was no need for my disappointment. We were here for 5 nights and we were so busy that there was never time to use a pool anyway. We spent a couple of days by the beach and that was perfect. I'm sure if you wanted somewhere to relax with a couple of cocktails and a book it would still be great by the pool as it still does the job of cooling you off.

*whilst exciting at the time, in hindsight it seems like there is little difference between the 2 rooms - both are 15 square metres and have the same amenities, except Quiet has a small balcony looking into a courtyard, whilst Life does not. So not sure how much of an upgrade this really was

Room tip: There seems to be no difference between the REC Quiet and REC Life other than REC Quiet has a small balcony (whilst REC life has no balcony)
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatentlyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_direccionrec, Director General at Hotel Rec Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

HOLA!

Thank you so much for your extended feedback!

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made you feel welcome.
This is our goal, to make our guests feel at home :)

About your criticism, first of all thank you for this. We like to receive these comments too, so we can improve our services.
The fact that there are no fridges in the room is on purpose, instead we have the vending machines on each floor. We can also keep drinks for you in the fridge at reception. The floors of the rooms are indeed being cleaned.
We are very sorry about the misunderstanding with the picnic you ordered at the waitress and we will talk about this with the food and beverage department, so it won´t happen again!

Despite of these inconveniences, we hope you come back to your friend´s house in Barcelona (The REC hotel) again!

All the best for you and take care!

Best wishes,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

I’m just about to checkout after almost a week staying here with my wife on vacation from Australia .
What strikes you the most is the unbelievable happy friendliness of all the staff here . I have never been met by such a welcoming smile at check in, not at Raffles in Singapore not at Waldorf Astoria in New York .
Of course hotel standard is not comparable to above mentioned hotel, but the experience was of the same magnitude .
Extremely comfortable bed in a very nice room that is on the smallish side . Could do with a bit more wardrobe space .
Management have done an incredible job at motivating its staff . Special evening activities such as free of charge beer tasting and cocktail classes are arranged . An evening was arranged by staff to explore the real El Born neighbourhood with the emphasis on local tapas and cocktails for a very small cost. A night to remember .
Thank you Joe , Henrique ,Juan for having collected such a wonderful team of staff. I won’t mention anyone special as they are equally fantastic

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fangfactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_direccionrec, Director General at Hotel Rec Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

HOLA!!

Thank you so much for your amazing review!!!
We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made you feel welcome. This is our goal, to make our guests feel at home :)

We hope you come back to your friend´s house in Barcelona (The REC hotel), very soon.

All the best for you and take care!

Best wishes,
Your friend Joe

REC, LOVE & LIFE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

Upon arrival we were offered a drink and told to sit and relax while they sorted our room. It only took a few minuets we were then showed to our room and given 2 euros for water from the machine. The room was not massive but well laid out . The only niggle we had was there isn’t much room to put your clothes ( we got round this by leaving some stuff in our case on a stand)the rooms are bright and well decorated . The rain shower was fab. The bed and pillows so comfy. All staff were very friendly and helpful . Breakfast was amazing with lots of choice and so was view from the roof terrace . There was beer tasting and cocktail making events at night but we were never back in time for these. The pool was small but again we didn’t use this. The hotel is well situated with a 5-10 minuet walk in to Catalunay place . The tube is just across the road. The are plenty of places to eat and supermarkets near by. It is a central hotel with the hop on off bus stop outside. We will be revisiting this hotel I highly recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jules G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_direccionrec, Director General at Hotel Rec Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Hello Jules!

Your comments are amazing. Thank you so much!!!

We hope you come back to your friend´s house in Barcelona (The REC hotel), very soon.
All the best for you and take care!

Best wishes,
Your friend Joe :)

REC, LOVE & LIFE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews