We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality and over-priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona
Ranked #268 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
cape town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor quality and over-priced”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

My wife and and I recently spent four nights at Silken Rambla. How hotel is graded 4 stars is beyond us. Dirty coffee cup left outside lifts on 3rd floor for three nights; bath towels are threadbare; carpet in third floor foyer in disgusting state; bedroom curtains and furniture need replacement; staff not trained to be warm, friendly and helpful

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    398
    198
    82
    49
See reviews for
195
367
33
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

the hotel doesn't worth 4 stars, its an old, noisy, dirty room place with paper thin walls, dirty hairy towels, never working WiFi and a horrible view to the wall of the next building ( not a pleasant one). The hotel doesn't cost this money.
The location is good but tourists can find plenty of better hotels in this area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraP164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel in March 2012. It is well situated just off La Rambla in the city centre and very close to the airport bus and tour bus termini. We thought that the public areas and our room were clean and well appointed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The sound insulation was disappointing, however, both between rooms and - despite the double glazing - to the street outside. We did not eat in the hotel. We hope to return to Barcelona and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the sides of the hotel should be quieter than those at the front and back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Here for El Classico the match to decide The championship.
Hotel perfect for a weekend. Excellent full breakfast bar

Room Tip: Perect location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I imagine when this hotel was built it was a great place to stay. For my stay, the first room they gave me had closet doors that would not close and the room smelled strongly of perfume one might use to mask order.

I returned to the lobby and rejected the room at which time they offered another room. The new room was smaller, also had doors with non-working hinges, and the paint on the all was chipping. As well, both rooms had old and uncomfortable beds. I continued to be displeased and informed the manager.

I was then given a room on the top floor. This third room did have working doors and the bed was a little more modern. The room's main lighting did not work the first day, but it would appear that housekeeping identified and correct the problem as the lighting functioned the next day. As well, the shower was arranged in such a way that the entire bathroom was flooded when in use. Also, the third room had a balcony - it had moss all about it, had cigarette butts in the drain, and was overall poorly maintained.

I do not recommend this hotel.

The staff was very nice and accommodating - I wish that they may all see their hotel renovated or else transferred to a more accommodating hotel.

Shame on Silken for running such an under-performing hotel.

Room Tip: Only stay in rooms on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgs258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed in the hotel from the 11th to the 15th April. Don't think it was worth the money we paid for it. Room standard. Walls like paper, could hear every flushing of toilet and conversation next door. Didn't eat in the hotel. Staff appeared to be friendly, on morning of our departure arranged for taxi from hotel to the airport for 12 in the afternoon. Reception said it was organised, so we went for a stroll. At 12 o clock a member of staff informed us that the Barcelona marathon was on and that no taxis could get into the area and that maybe we could wait until 12.30 maybe 1, like we were just going on a tour or something. Asked staff member was there anywhere we could meet the taxi? Surely staff should have been aware of this sooner you would think. Didn't direct us to any street, had no knowledge of this marathon taking place so I am assuming everyone else who booked taxis with the hotel were in the same position as us. Disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradburnryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Room was nice and very clean, but the walls are paper thin so you hear everything going on in rooms around you.

I ate food from the bar one night (resturant didn't seem to be open) and spent the next day unable to leave my room due to a very upset stomach. The breakfast had a good selection, but none of the "hot" food was hot. The coffee was pretty good though.

The wireless is good, but only if you ask for the business code.

Overall it's overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#118 of 513 in Barcelona
1,688 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
#201 of 513 in Barcelona
1,237 reviews
El Raval
Turin Hotel
Turin Hotel
#148 of 513 in Barcelona
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#101 of 513 in Barcelona
1,527 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
#143 of 513 in Barcelona
1,536 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona

Property: Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona
Address: Pintor Fortuny, 13, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Registry Number: HB-003951 This city hotel was built in 1992 and comprises a total of 105 rooms, including 8 Junior suites. The hotel bar is an ideal place to make a date, relax after the stress of a working day, or stock up on energy after a day exploring the city. Further amenities available to guests at this air-conditioned establishment include a lobby area with a 24-hour reception, a hotel safe, a currency exchange facility, a cloakroom, lift access, a cafe, a bar, a restaurant and conference facilities. Guests may also take advantage of the Internet access/WLAN, room service and a garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing