We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Mikel Etxea 1 - CLOSED

Mikel Etxea 1
Price range: US$24 - US$47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Description: The Basque restaurant Mikel Etxea 1 is located right in the heart of Barcelona. It is renowned for its extensive tapas menu with more than 50 choices, some of which change daily. Stuffed Piquillo peppers, salt cod tortilla, chorizo and chistorra are all popular choices. Passers-by that decide to pop in are transported to a little corner of the Basque Country thanks to its decoration and its food. The average price for an à la carte meal is around 30 Euros.
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We re-visted this restuarant on a recent trip to Barcelona. What a disappointment - the menu seemed to have changed and basically apart from tapas everything seemed to be served with chips. Maybe we just made the wrong choices.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eltez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    23
    31
    22
    109
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rip Off and con artists!”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I so wish i had read the previous reviews before stepping through the front door. It is as everyone else says - no menu prices for the Tapas and rude abrupt manager and staff when challenged. Apparently it was our fault for not requesting the Tapas menu - we made the mistake of trusting the waiter when he said 2.50 Euro per piece on the blackboard. AVOID AT ALL COSTS and dont be fooled by the ambience and friendly welcome , they are out to deceive!!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mollysmam886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Friendly welcome for a total rip-off and a smile telling you to [...] off”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Should have checked on tripadvisor before, my mistake. Place looks nice, crowded as a good sign but.. No prices on tapas board, ended up paying 23€ for a plate of over-paprikaed octopus bathing in oil and potatoes and a bad tasting leftover sole and 7€ a pint of standard ale beer. And that so common "i ripped you off like a child" smile when the suddenly not friendly anymore waiter brings the bill and insists that you pay the 1 cent lacking over your 56€ bill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elgrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Terrible rip off. e.g. Beer is 9 euros a pint. No prices displayed for tapas”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This is the worst restaurant I have ever been to. It is a total rip off. It looks great from the outside and is always busy with a small queue. We decided to have a beer each and the tapas for which no prices were quoted (we should have known better). The beer was massive as they were 2 pint glasses which were 13euros each. A standard pint was 9 euros.

For the tapas we had a tortilla priced at 4.95 which was good value for the size of piece you got. However it is all micrwaved and not freshly cooked. We also had chorizo in cider which was 3 tiny sausages for just under 10 euros and we had tomato bread which was 10 euros.

When we got our bill it was 57 surpass for three tapas and two large beers. We are not normally people who rock the boat and almost paid the bill but we decided that we would query the bill if nothing else o query the 10 euro charge for tomato bread as it said we had four portions. At first the waiter said it was not possible to reduce the bill as this was the price. We then pointed out that we were not paying the 10 euros for bread as it was a rip off and asked him to check if this could be reduced. The waiter was trying his best not to be aggressive but we could tell he has had to fend off lots of similar complaints. We managed to get our bill down to 50 euros and didn't leave a tip.

On exiting our waiter heckled ' if you want cheap the go to McDonalds'. I approached him politely and explained that we were surprised at the high prices considering we eat a lot of tapas and we wouldn't normally pay over 30 euros for the amount we had consumed. I also got him to admit that the place is a rip off and a lots of locals go in and are charged very low prices so the place looks busy so tourists will be attracted.. He was quite arrogant about this.

It's a shame because the place has got a good vibe but the food is very average, microwaved and very overpriced. Please don't waste your time or money here.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_Joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Total rip off and a con!”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Do not visit this restaurant. I went with my husband and daughter as it looked like a typical traditional Spanish tapas restaurant. However the menu was confusing. We ordered the standard 12.95 tapas menu but were advised that only certain ones were availiable and we could change for a slightly higer price. We ended up with three tiny chorizo sausages costing 9 euros, a small plate of meatballs for 9 euros and a plate of ham costing 20euros!!!!! We complained but they were having none of it.Also two other tables were complaining whilst we were there, one had a bill with additional ''extras'' and a tip added and another had missing dishes from their order which the waiter claimed not to have heard them ordering! My 8 year old daugher got upset in there and the waiter was cocky and rude.Also there was a cockroach climbing up the wall! DO NOT VISIT!!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JoBeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mikel Etxea 1 also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing