We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in an unbeatable location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ranked #24 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 February 2012

MO barcelona is one of the new boutique hotels MO is now developing all over the world

The attention to detail is here sublime and the dedicated efforts from everyone makes the stay memorable

I stayed here for over one week last year and had a great time

For me the highlights are the gym an pool area, the terrace mimosa and the rooftop

The rooms are on the small side but comfortable and very clean

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

Public areas are stylish and modernist. Bedrooms are designer but also practical. I had an entry level room facing the courtyard on level 3. It featured a huge, high quality bed with oddly hard pillows (2, not 4); a large circular free-standing bath with a view was great; monsoon shower worked well and was spacious; separate sink and toilet rooms were welcome; TV was easy to use and high quality; lighting controls were (as always in modern hotels) a little confusing; bedlinen, towels and bathrobes were quality and comfortable; floor to ceiling windows. There were 2 fairly bad cleaning issues upon arrival that still weren't rectified within 24 hours. Room service was swift and polite. Breakfast staff were sometimes slow but the breakfast choice was very comprehensive and delicious. Bankers Bar has a great smoking terrace, lovely cocktails and professional staff. Reception, Concierge and Door staff were all courteous and helpful. The -1 level swimming pool and spa are both good. The rooftop pool was closed during my stay but I have previously viewed it and it is a great space. In conclusion, this is a slightly over-priced hotel that delivers on most levels but there are some areas that could be improved at little cost.

Room Tip: Courtyard is a little shabby, though I found it 'real' and enjoyed overlooking the school, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KParkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Clearly the premier hotel in Barcelona . Lives up to all the expectations one should have for a MO .
Service level and staff attitude on par with MO HK .
Rooms vere bright and well designed , bed ultra comfortable , room service excellent .
The Bankers Bar is a nice place to hang out , interesting people and a bartender that provides great drinks with a show and a smile.
Only possible drawback is the " lack " of a lobby and the location of the main restaurant .

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetlaggad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

So far for me this is the BEST hotel in the world. From the convenient location on Passeig de Gracia (around the corner from Tapas, 24 my favorite tapas bar in Barcelona), to the gorgeous rooms, dining room and Bankers Bar to the very personalized, VIP and over and beyond service of the concierge, restaurant, bar and front desk..it is the perfect hotel. Definitely will be my home everytime I visit Barcelona. Their welcome Cava is a delight and I love the breakfast buffet they have that serves different kinds of olive oil and Cava of course. The view from our room was one out of a postcard. Cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Passaig de Gracia are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DharmaHMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is located in a great location, close to metro and aerobus. It is also within reasonable walking distance of most sites. The service staff is there to please and we were upgraded to a higher floor and courtyard room when our room was not available on our arrival. I do agree that the aromatherapy that hits you in the lobby is overpowering and can be annoying. The concierge staff was so on target recommending just the restaurants we were interested in and made reservations where possible. They also mapped out each day for us so that we didn't have to guess as to our timing of attractions. I had a massage at the spa with a very knowledgeable masseuse recommending a follow up set of stretches to utilize at home. The quiet area is for both men and women. We were able to get a special rate including breakfast and
spa credit so it was worth the price.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

It was a difficult call between the Mandarin Oriental and the Hotel Arts when we were deciding where to stay. Having booked the former, we are very glad we did - principally for its fantastic location. We could just walk everywhere from the hotel - we were surrounded by the best shops and great restaurants. Breakfast was excellent - expensive, even for continental - so try to get a rate which includes it. Rooms are not particularly large, are ultra modern and the lighting etc was a bit over-engineered for our liking - lots of white walls and surfaces which are already beginning to show a bit of wear & tear. The first room we were shown did not have a bath so we asked to be moved to a room which had one - they were happy to do this as the hotel was quiet. Gym is small, but has sufficient equipment for a short city break; spa pool looked reasonable, but small - we did not use it. The Bankers Bar is great - fab gin & tonics and selection of cocktails. Again, expect to pay city hotel prices. We didn't eat in the restaurants as there was so much choice all around. The concierge desk is excellent - as mentioned by others. Overall, the commitment to guest service shows at this property as it does at all the Mandarin Orientals we have stayed at.

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the back overlooking the gardens as we had heard they were quieter. No noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank openminded01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

the service at the Mandarin in Barcelona is almost perfect and so personal. I love the hotel and their staff for their friendliness and great service.
The rooms are big, with a nice view over the garden and even have a balcony.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 515 in Barcelona
1,773 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#66 of 515 in Barcelona
4,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#18 of 515 in Barcelona
1,872 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#2 of 515 in Barcelona
1,381 reviews
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Address: Passeig de Gracia, 38-40 | Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $626 - $1,266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona is an elegant, contemporary hotel in the heart of the avant-garde city's celebrated Passeig de Gracia. Located in a renovated mid-20th century building, this 120-room hotel, offers exceptional services and facilities including an award-winning spa, innovative dining at BistrEau by Angel Leon and two Michelin-starred dining by Carme Ruscalleda, within an exquisite interior created by world renowned Spanish designer Patricia Urquiola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing