We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Chic and trendy hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Room Mate Emma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Room Mate Emma
Ranked #70 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
153 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Chic and trendy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Nice little chic and trendy hotel at a very good price. Great location close to La Ramblas Catalunya and lots of nice restaurants and bars.

If you want a nice bar dont go, because there is none. But who needs a bar in Barcelona. as there as so many bars within a 5 minute walk.

Small rooms, but big enough to bring an infant.

Staff was absolutely fantastic. Very nice, friendly and helpfull with the little baby.

Will diffinately be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Customer,

On behalf of the entire team ROOM MATE EMMA, we want to say thank you for your comments about your stay at our hotel.

It is a pleasure for the whole team that our daily work is reflected in making our guests to enjoy a pleasant stay in ROOM MATE EMMA. Please give a big hug from all the Team to your nice baby!!!

Please do not hesitate to contact me in again, if you want to return to Barcelona.

Pepe Fuxà.
Manager Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    457
    84
    18
    9
See reviews for
132
681
62
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Three of us stayed here for 5 nights at the end of February. We loved practically everything about the hotel. The front desk staff was excellent, always helpful with directions and English skills that far surpassed our Spanish. The breakfast buffet was repetitious but reasonable. The location was perfect as well, easy walking distance to main streets, dining and shopping. The only drawback, and it is minor, is that the very contemporary room design is not conducive to multiple occupants who are on different schedules. The opaque contempo wall treatment between the bedroom and bathroom guarantees that, when one gets up, all get up! Even after we checked out, the staff went over and above to return a power adapter I left in the room. We highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Ms. Reede,

On behalf of the entire team ROOM MATE EMMA, we want to say thank you for your comments about your stay at our hotel.

It is a pleasure for the whole team that our daily work is reflected in making our guests to enjoy a pleasant stay in ROOM MATE EMMA.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in again, if you want to return to Barcelona.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

When I stay in a hotel anywhere I want the staff to be friendly and helpful, the rooms to be clean and the bathroom in good working order, for there to be reliable Internet access, to have close proximity to transport links and for there to be no bad surprises (I want what is advertised). Room Mate Emma in Barcelona delivers on all these counts.

I have just stayed for the second time and will be staying again. If you are looking for luxury and hotel 'trimmings' this is not the place for you -- there is no bar or full restaurant (just a space for the great breakfast). This is a new hotel designed (very appropriately) for people who want a place to stay while they visit the city -- it's not a place to hang out in during the day because it is not designed for that.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Barcelona -- check the website and you will get what it states, with the added bonus that it does genuinely have friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLeM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Customer:

On behalf of the entire team of Room Mate EMMA, I want to convey our sincere thanks for taking your time and explain to all readers of Tripadvisor your expertise in Room Mate EMMA during your stay in Barcelona.

These assessments help us to know that our daily efforts in each of ours departments they are reflected in customer satisfaction and above all help us to continue in improvements to offer all our customers the best experience in their stays in Room Mate EMMA.

If you return back to Barcelona, please do not hesitate to contact us again.

Regards.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate EMMA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

After reading good reviews we thought we would book a "superior" room in this place.
We got shown into the tiny, overpoweringly scented room and didn't think it looked very much like a superior room. The foot of the bed was dangerously close to the wall housing the television which was at head height practically causing concussion everytime you needed to walk past. Paintwork was shabby and when we went to take a shower we had to mop up the whole floor as it leaked over the room. When we eventually got to bed the sheets were so threadbare there were holes in them, the mattress was thin enough to feel the springs and the wallmounted radio had led lights flashing constantly, when we couldn't sleep because of the flashing lights and couldn't switch the radio lights off we complained to reception they were obviously aware of this problem and supplied us with an elastoplast to stick over the flashing lights which obviously had no effect. Watch out for the clothes hangers here they have staples sticking out which could ruin your best clothes.Complaining to management got us the offer of a free breakfast (as according to this manager the chain didn't offer refunds,). which we obviosly didn't accept as we couldn't wait to leave the place. Not what we expected from this chain of hotels and especially after paying for the "superior" room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 360Traveller360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Customer,

On behalf of Room Mate Emma Team, I want to thank you for your comments and suggestions.

This information is very useful for us, it allows us to keep improving to achieve excellence in service to our customers.

We deeply regret the stay at Room Mate Emma has not lived up to your expectations and look forward to serving you in future.

Sincerely.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate Emma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Hotel with nice design concept, very friendly and helpful staff. The location is also very nice, not far from all main sightseeing points (walking distance) as well as very well connected by public transport. Basic but delicious breakfast, free WiFi internet. And I loved radio tuner in the room - touch pannel where you can tune the music depending on your mood :) very tech savvy! The only disappointment was that the room doesn't have "real" window, just to open it for a bit of fresh air. But most probably this is the feature of standard room category only. Overall: everything is very simple, basic and friendly, but what else do you need while exploring Barcelona?

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kvitochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear Customer,

On behalf of the entire team ROOM MATE EMMA, we want to say thank you for your comments about your stay at our hotel.

It is a pleasure for the whole team that our daily work is reflected in making our guests to enjoy a pleasant stay in ROOM MATE EMMA.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in again, emma.direccion@room-matehotels.com, if you want to return to Barcelona.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate EMMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Location can´t be better, hotel is modern, nice and clean. Staff is helpful and attentive.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARCO J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank the comments you made about their stay at Hotel Room Mate EMMA.

The whole team is very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Do not hesitate to contact me at emma.direccion@room-matehotels.com whether to return to Barcelona.

Best Regards.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate EMMA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

If you are ever looking for accommodation in a city that has a Room Mate hotel, BOOK IT!

We stayed at both Room Mate Alicia in Madrid, and Room Mate Emma in Barcelona, and loved them both to bits.

Emma is so centrally and conveniently located, and also in a pleasant neighbourhood. You are a block away from the closest metro station, and a comfortable walk to Las Ramblas.

Staff at this hotel are FABULOUS. Our flight from Barcelona to Venice was cancelled, and everything possible was done to make sure we could stay in the same room at the same rate, with as little disturbance to us as possible. They always helped us with any tourist information we required, and the list of recommendations they have at reception is incredibly helpful.

The hotel and room itself is in the Room Mate style, funky, modern and faultlessly clean.

The breakfast room is wonderful, so many different foods and drinks to choose from.

If we ever return to Barcelona, and I hope to the heavens we will, we will be staying here.

10/10!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickyChristinaBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Emma, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear Customer:

On behalf of the entire team of Room Mate EMMA, I want to convey our sincere thanks for taking your time and explain to all readers of Tripadvisor your expertise in Room Mate EMMA during your stay in Barcelona.

These assessments help us to know that our daily efforts in each of ours departments they are reflected in customer satisfaction and above all help us to continue in improvements to offer all our customers the best experience in their stays in Room Mate EMMA.

If you return back to Barcelona, please do not hesitate to contact us again.

Regards.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate EMMA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#76 of 520 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#61 of 520 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#39 of 520 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#25 of 520 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#74 of 520 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#49 of 520 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Emma

Property: Room Mate Emma
Address: Carrer Rossello 205 | Eixample, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#115 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Emma 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Room Mate Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Emma Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing