We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grupotel Gran Via 678
Ranked #136 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Hotel”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We were on holiday for 6 nights for the F1, as well as celebrating my husbands 30th birthday. Not only is the hotel in an excellent location for the buses etc but within walking distance to Las Ramblas. The staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We received a bottle of cava and cake in the room on the day of my husbands birthday, which was a special touch. A particularly important mention must be made to Paco who was a credit to the hotel! Very friendly, fantastic English and in our opinion 'made our holiday'. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    362
    81
    13
    12
See reviews for
128
431
27
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Spent 3 nights here to celebrate a wedding anniversary. I was a bit disappointed with the size of the room - I thought I had booked an upgrade. However we were not planning on spending too long in the room and I had asked for a quiet room and certainly had no complaints there. It was very quiet. The bathroom was a good size with a wonderful shower with a choice of shower heads. We did share other reviewers reservations regarding the glass door into the shower - you would need to be comfortable with the person you are sharing with! The breakfast is excellent - full choice - we wanted for nothing - even cava. What made this hotel for us was the staff who were efficient, helpful and friendly in all areas. We were offered a glass of cava when we arrived and one was left in our room while we were out. Special mention to Veronica who made breakfast an extra friendly experience

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were given one at the back of the hotel on the 6th floor. We were wok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackr0ckgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

After a transatlantic cruise ending in Barcelona, we stayed at this hotel for two nights before flying home. The location is in a very good neighbourhood and is a 10 minute walk from Plaza Catalunya, the metro and hop on - hop off buses. There is also a public transport bus stop near by. The hotel is modern and bright and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The bedroom was a decent size and very comfortable and the bathroom larger than expected with a very big shower. We were very tired on our first evening having walked for hours and instead of going out to eat we ordered bacon, cheese and tomato sandwiches in the restaurant. They also came with french fries and we were surprised at how delicious they were!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vschlatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Our booking confirmation said bath robes and a "Free" bottle of champagne in your room upon arrival...not so ! Arrived at 3 PM room ready no robes or champagne, asked at reception and told will be put in room shortly. Went out on an open top bus tour then returned at 6.50 PM to find robes but no champagne. Asked at reception and was assured it would be delivered to our room at 7.30 PM... did not appear so at 8PM went down to the bar and had to collect our own bottle of Cava not Champagne !! Breakfast buffet was OK but ran out of items quite often and then a long wait for replacements to appear. Water for tea is supplied in flasks and twice it is was luke warm, also avoid the short dark haired dumpy waitress who was destinctly unhelpful and a misery !!
Room was nice but if you want the aircon to work make sure the maid has not opened the main window as this disables it.
Location is a 10 minute safe walk to the main tourist centre and taxis available just across the road. Avoid booking a taxi through reception as they appear with an extra charge already on the meter.
Upon checking out we were charged for a drink from the minibar which we had not consumed which was immediately removed from our bill.
Reception staff very helpful but breakfast experiences let them down.
Overall a comfortable room, we had booked a superior room without a balcony however 762 euros for 4 nights was in my opinion overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irisbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Spent a night at this hotel while travelling in Europe in April 2012. From the moment we walked off the humid street into the air conditioned reception until our departure the service was flawless. The reception was well staffed with all staff members being fluent in English. The service was first class, personal and unhurried.

We had a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the Gran Via which admittedly was a little dark. Other than that the room was perfect, spotlessly clean with comfortable beds, large flat screen television and a brilliant bathroom with an oversized raindance type shower.

We asked the receptionist on duty to recommend a a nearby restaurant and after she had asked us a few question as to our preferences of cuisine made several recommendations. we ate in Patagonia, an Argentinian restaurant close to the hotel where the food and service was first class.

The hotel is in a good location within much of what the city has to offer, being just minutes walk from Las Ramblas and the main shopping, bar and restaurant districts.

On check out we left some belongs behind in the guest room and when we contacted the hotel they immediately arranged to have them sent to us. We look forward to staying here again when were next in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, they are brighter than the ones on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed for a week-end in April. Reception staff very welcoming and helpful. Room spotless and contemporary but on the small side (but well priced). Not mad about the Frosted glass bathroom doors...Hotel in great location for touring Barcelona- within walking distance of Catalunya Plaza.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The hotel was very new and clean.the reception was average.the breakfast was very good and one member of staff( Veronica ) was very friendly chatty and very very good with all the guests.It was our 40th wedding anniversary while we were there and the travel agent sent an E-mail to inform them of that.No one refered to it at all and there were no flowers or champagne (or in there case Cava)even though we took our cards with us to open while we were there and the maids would have seen them.On our last day,I spoke to Veronica and told her it was our anniversary and she gave us both some Cava and cut a cake into a heart shape for us which I thought was a lovely touch.I dont think the hotel was worth the money and it was not particularly friendly.(apart from dining room staff).The room was very nice and modern,clean and a nice bathroom.It was handy for all areas.

Room Tip: we were on the second floor and didnt have any noise issues.the first floor looked like they had a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisnged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#111 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#44 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Eixample
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
#152 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#89 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Eixample
Negresco Princess Hotel
Negresco Princess Hotel
#55 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#50 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Gran Via 678? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Gran Via 678

Property: Grupotel Gran Via 678
Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanes, 678, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#98 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#100 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Gran Via 678 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new 4 stars hotel is located at one of the main Barcelona’s avenues, only 350 meters from the distinguished Paseo de Gracia, Plaza de Cataluña and Ramblas. The Grupotel Gran Vía 678 emphasizes by its modern facilities and its stylish decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grupotel Gran Via 678 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Gran Via 678 Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing