We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grupotel Gran Via 678
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gran Central Inn(Barcelona)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Casa Bonay(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Praktik Garden(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (912)
Filter reviews
912 results
Traveller rating
391
402
89
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
402
89
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson arrivalgreat hotelrecommend this hotelbottle of cavareception staffsuperior roomwithin walking distancegreat bathroombasic roombreakfast buffetroom safecity breakwelcome drinkhotel is modernstayed here for nightsgood sizesun loungers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
401 - 406 of 912 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Spent 3 nights here to celebrate a wedding anniversary. I was a bit disappointed with the size of the room - I thought I had booked an upgrade. However we were not planning on spending too long in the room and I had asked for a quiet room and certainly had no complaints there. It was very quiet. The bathroom was a good size with a wonderful shower with a choice of shower heads. We did share other reviewers reservations regarding the glass door into the shower - you would need to be comfortable with the person you are sharing with! The breakfast is excellent - full choice - we wanted for nothing - even cava. What made this hotel for us was the staff who were efficient, helpful and friendly in all areas. We were offered a glass of cava when we arrived and one was left in our room while we were out. Special mention to Veronica who made breakfast an extra friendly experience

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were given one at the back of the hotel on the 6th floor. We were woken the first morning by foot steps on the floor above. Apart from that it was really quite.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackr0ckgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

After a transatlantic cruise ending in Barcelona, we stayed at this hotel for two nights before flying home. The location is in a very good neighbourhood and is a 10 minute walk from Plaza Catalunya, the metro and hop on - hop off buses. There is also a public transport bus stop near by. The hotel is modern and bright and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The bedroom was a decent size and very comfortable and the bathroom larger than expected with a very big shower. We were very tired on our first evening having walked for hours and instead of going out to eat we ordered bacon, cheese and tomato sandwiches in the restaurant. They also came with french fries and we were surprised at how delicious they were!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vschlatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Our booking confirmation said bath robes and a "Free" bottle of champagne in your room upon arrival...not so ! Arrived at 3 PM room ready no robes or champagne, asked at reception and told will be put in room shortly. Went out on an open top bus tour then returned at 6.50 PM to find robes but no champagne. Asked at reception and was assured it would be delivered to our room at 7.30 PM... did not appear so at 8PM went down to the bar and had to collect our own bottle of Cava not Champagne !! Breakfast buffet was OK but ran out of items quite often and then a long wait for replacements to appear. Water for tea is supplied in flasks and twice it is was luke warm, also avoid the short dark haired dumpy waitress who was destinctly unhelpful and a misery !!
Room was nice but if you want the aircon to work make sure the maid has not opened the main window as this disables it.
Location is a 10 minute safe walk to the main tourist centre and taxis available just across the road. Avoid booking a taxi through reception as they appear with an extra charge already on the meter.
Upon checking out we were charged for a drink from the minibar which we had not consumed which was immediately removed from our bill.
Reception staff very helpful but breakfast experiences let them down.
Overall a comfortable room, we had booked a superior room without a balcony however 762 euros for 4 nights was in my opinion overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irisbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Spent a night at this hotel while travelling in Europe in April 2012. From the moment we walked off the humid street into the air conditioned reception until our departure the service was flawless. The reception was well staffed with all staff members being fluent in English. The service was first class, personal and unhurried.

We had a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the Gran Via which admittedly was a little dark. Other than that the room was perfect, spotlessly clean with comfortable beds, large flat screen television and a brilliant bathroom with an oversized raindance type shower.

We asked the receptionist on duty to recommend a a nearby restaurant and after she had asked us a few question as to our preferences of cuisine made several recommendations. we ate in Patagonia, an Argentinian restaurant close to the hotel where the food and service was first class.

The hotel is in a good location within much of what the city has to offer, being just minutes walk from Las Ramblas and the main shopping, bar and restaurant districts.

On check out we left some belongs behind in the guest room and when we contacted the hotel they immediately arranged to have them sent to us. We look forward to staying here again when were next in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, they are brighter than the ones on lower floors.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed for a week-end in April. Reception staff very welcoming and helpful. Room spotless and contemporary but on the small side (but well priced). Not mad about the Frosted glass bathroom doors...Hotel in great location for touring Barcelona- within walking distance of Catalunya Plaza.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews