We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best seafood dinner ”
Review of Peix d'or

Peix d'or
Ranked #1,010 of 10,097 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Eixample
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We were staying in the l'exiemple neighbourhood but it took us a whole week to find this gem right under our nose. I am a bit of a foodie and this is one of the best Mariscos experiences ever.

Unassuming storefront with simple decor, you are greeted by a friendly lady behind a seafood stall with prawns, seabrims, shrimps, razor clams, squids, octopus and lobsters like they are French catches from the morning. Basically, the concept is choose and order. You choose your own raw seafood and they cook them in the kitchen. They charge you by the weight.

We picked a large dorada (seabrim), 5 gigantic prawns, a large octopus leg, a squid and a dozen bocarones (Spanish anchovies). We could choose to either fry or grill, in garlic or in olive oil. Spanish cuisine doesn't use a lot of sauce or spices so for seafood, the freshness of the raw fish can really make or break your dinning experience.

After a few minutes, we heard our pager beeping so we went to the kitchen counter to pick up our freshly prepared fish that got sent to the kitchen moments ago. Food was some of the best I've had. They were in fact better than boqueria seafood stall we tried days ago. Picture tells it all.

With a cold beer for me and a glass of Chardonnay for my wife, we ate to our fill and the final bill came out to be just 54 euros!!

Highly recommend this hidden gem. Much better than any joint near la ramblas or barcelonetta.

Thank sunbum73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny H, Propietario at Peix d'or, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience.
Of course, we also hope you will come back soon!
Sunny H.
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017

Great seafood.
I have gone many times, I like fried calamaris, cuttlefish in garlic and parsley and galician style octopus.
You choose whatever you want and you can choose how they cook it for you.
I strongly recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Veronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny H, Propietario at Peix d'or, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thanks a lot for recommding us!
We're glad to know you enyoyed with our seafood.

Sunny H.
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

When you rent an apartment in a cool neighbourhood you should walk the entire location in a circle for several blocks out to discover all that is available. On our last night in Barca we discovered a wonderful seafood restaurant within 50 meters of our apartment. This after a 5 week stay.go figure?
No frills, no English just great fresh fish and seafood cooked whatever way you want it for very,very good prices.
The woman at the front end is most patient and we had one of the best meals offered in Barca. Not to be missed if you make the effort. Highly recommended.

1  Thank Lazyhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny H, Propietario at Peix d'or, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thanks for sharing your experience and for your kind words.
We hope to see you again when you come back to barcelona

Sunny H.
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Excellent selection of fresh seafood. You choose what you want, and the style it is cooked. The galician style octopus was mouthwatering! We also had some mini squids, sardines, clams and tiger prawns, all very good. Also the Albarino (galician) white wine was very good.
Prices are average - not cheap or super expensive.
Service felt local - you smile, they smile :)
Decor was very basic but goes well with the offering.

Thank FinnishFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harcharan D, Propietario at Peix d'or, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again!
Harcharan D.
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

What a joy to go to this unassuming place and to p enjoy such excellent seafood. Your choice of freshly caught fish. Beautifully filleted and cooked. OMG, so good and not expensive! This is not fine dining, though. This is neighborhood seafood in a casual atmosphere.

Thank rbseidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harcharan D, Propietario at Peix d'or, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thanks for sharing your experience!
We hope to see you again!

Harcharan D.
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peix d'or also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Peix d'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing