We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Unique, Exciting, Informative, Fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BrightSide

BrightSide
Ranked #1 of 145 Food & Drink in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover Barcelona cruising in the sidecar of a classic motorcycle or in a unique vintage van. Your own private guide will take you on a wonderful journey into the authentic Barcelona: understand the famous attractions, dig-up the local's secrets and experience the genuine Mediterranean lifestyle. Talk, watch and learn while having fun on the way. Every tour includes a large number of stops all around the city, for explanations, pictures or to go for an easy walk around an interesting landmark, a beautiful district or to enjoy the views.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique, Exciting, Informative, Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We went in November of 2011, so this review is a bit tardy but my wife and I would recommend this tour to all TripAdvisor members. Our guide, Matt, was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and cooperative. He asked us what WE wanted to see and then tailored the tour to our wish list. You get to zip in and out of traffic, so your time is spent actually seeing the sights of \one of the world's great cities. This is a not-to-be-missed tour in Barcelona and, when we returned, we discovered a bonus: all our friends were excited about the adventure and said it sounded unique and huge fun , so we got "envy points" as well. "Where in the world did you ever find that?" was a typical response.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,192
    20
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Tour Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was, hands down, the best tour I have EVER been on in any city! There are not enough positive adjectives to describe how great Brightside is as a tour. Joao and Matt were brilliant as tour guides --friendly, sociable, entertaining-- and made us all feel super comfortable at riding on the bike or in the sidecar. The helmets had two way radios so that you could hear the guide and ask questions, and the sidecars have plenty of legroom. Absolutely worth every euro. In fact, for what you see, the detailed descriptions and insight into life in Barcelona, the tour was actually a bargain! Dont hesitate, book the tour!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JLJ04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaps of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Our guide Joao did an amazing job making us feel comfortable and taking us around the city. Having been in Barcelona a few days he asked us what we had seen and then tailored our tour around this. It was heaps of fun. He also gave us suggestions on which restaurants we should go to for the next few nights which was handy.
I would definitely suggest that anyone going to Barcelona do this on the 1st or second day they are there. SLightly pricy if you just look at the price, but considering what we got out of the tour it was worth it.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank jlfonseka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We had a 3 hour excellent tour with the guide Ester last Friday (10th Feb. 2012). This was indeed the highlight of our tour and made the rest of the trip (2 days) a lot more focused and interesting. It is a great way of experiencing a dense city like Barcelona that has various interesting areas to explore spread around the city.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank brandurthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC way to see Barcelona for Locals and Tourists Alike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

This tour of Barcelona was so much fun and the highlight of our week long trip to Barcelona. Joao picked us up at the hotel and worked the tour around what my boyfriend and I had seen already from a previous weekend trip to Barcelona. We went on the "Must Do" tour on day that was a bit chillier than most would enjoy; but, we had so much fun. Joao had a detailed map of the city and drew out the route for us with great recommendations for us to check out later - to include sites and great locations for food. His English is terrific. We've been on tours before where the English was not great, but no issues with understanding. BrightSide has thought of everything - the bluetooth mics used for communication while the motorcycle is being used were fabulous and a huge help to really get the most of the experience. The motorcycle and side car are fabulous - and I am not a fan of bikes.

This tour was definitely one of our favorite things in Barcelona. It's such a special and unique thing they are doing and it was an absolute fantastic experience that I treausre. Joao offered a great overview of the city and tailored the tour to what our interests were that I honestly think everyone new and local to the city should go on the tour. It is worth every penny. The personalization of the tour and the details Joao provided were fabulous. He is super friendly and his demeanor and enthusiasm definitely contributed to our enjoyment of the tour. Since I've been home, I've been raving about the experience to everyone. Thanks so much for a wonderful experience, Joao and BrightSide Tours!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank michelekb1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BrightSide also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to BrightSide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing