We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel I have ever stayed in” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Acta Mimic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Acta Mimic
Ranked #225 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
London
1 review
“Worst Hotel I have ever stayed in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This Hotel ruined my trip to Barcelona. It was over priced and filthy. The rooms are very very small and the beds are tiny and extremely uncomfortable. There are no windows in the rooms which makes it very stuffy and to make matters worse we were told that the aircon did not work and would take two days to start up. As compensation we were given a hand held fan which simply pushed the warm stuffy air around the small cramped room. The staff/reception were very unhelpful and refused to do anything at all. I asked to speak with the manager of the the hotel and was told I couldn't. THIS WAS A SHOCKING OVER PRICED DIRTY HOTEL. DO NOT STAY THERE.

Room Tip: Last year we stayed at Hotel Grums. Excellent service, lovely room with and the cost was the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta Mimic, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear guest:

We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments, your feedback will allow us to improve our service every day
we are sorry that the new design and lights were not to your taste, The Hotel Acta Mimic has an innovative design, the rooms dosent have windows but how the shower is located on the façade, it gives the room a lot more light and space than usual, also all rooms have chromatherapy and the possibility to adjust the intensity and color of light, adapting to your liking.
We are surprised about your cleanliness complaint due to we always try to offer our customers the best cleaning service. However, we will talk to the responsible person and take the necessary measures, About the prices, Barcelona is a with big events and its all about whats going on in the city.
Thank you for your stay with us. We constantly strive to improve our service and product, and your comments are a valuable part of this process.

Kind regards
Acta Mimic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    1,072
    384
    90
    78
See reviews for
231
1,228
79
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Nice, clean and quiet hotel close to the Rambla. The modern part of the facade reflects the interior. The old part of the facade reflects the service. We missed a window that can be opened such that we slept with the airco on at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta Mimic, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you so much, We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments, we are glad you had a nice and comfort stay in our hotel, it`s an innovative design Hotel with modern facilities the in the old Teatro Colon, where you always will be welcome.

We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Acta Mimic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I like the location of the hotel, near te city centre. Breakfast was very good. In the night it was very silent in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Nico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta Mimic, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear guest:

We are glad to hear you enjoyed time with us. Also, we’d like to thank you for taking a few minutes to write your impression of our hotel, we are really glad you liked the location, breakfast and the silent in the night.

We will love to have you back.

Kind regards
Acta Mimic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My partner and I thought this hotel excellent value for money. It was quiet, warm, very clean, with courteous, friendly staff who spoke good English. It was 5 mins walk from La Rambla, and the same to a very useful Metro line. We would use it again, definitely.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta Mimic, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you so much, we appreciate your comments about the quality, service, friendly staff and the rooms in general. We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise!
We will love to have you and your Partner back again soon!

Kind regards
Acta Mimic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budapest, hungary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

the area is a bit run down, not the best part of town to have a night walk though it is very close to la rambla and by underground everything is easily accessible.
very weird place with the black walls but i had a feeling the whole dark design was to cover cheap materials. having no window is not the best idea for claustrophoby.
other than that the room is ok, the bed was comfy and what else do you need if you visit barcelona? you shouldn't waste your time in the hotel room.

Room Tip: Avoid if you want a view or windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gea-bud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta Mimic, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear guest:

We would like to thank you for choosing us during your recent visit to the city. We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments; we are glad you have liked the comfy bed, the hotel is strategically located, which makes us the perfect hotel to start off the adventure in the city, Barcelona has really nice places that you can enjoy at night, the beach, the Born, Las Ramblas, the Port of Barcelona and the Avenida Parallel theaters.
We are really sorry that didn’t like the colors of the wall, but if you have any questions please do not heistate to contac us, we will love to have you back in our hotel.

Kind regards
Acta Mimic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Unsure if I was window shopping or finding our room with the red lights throughout the hotel. But room was ok and the location was excellent. Take an eye mask if you do stay here as the lights from outside the hotel are on very bright and all night

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheerio9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta Mimic, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear guest:

We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments, we are glad you liked the location of the hotel and the room and we are sorry that the new design and lights were not to your taste, but If you find yourself planning your next stay, please don't hesitate in contacting us for any request.

We would love to have you back as a guest!.
Kind regards
Acta Mimic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We booked Acta Mimic because it was the cheapest central hotel we could find. The hotel is situated on a back street with hardly any traffic so noise is minimal. Yes it can seem a little seedy but we had no problems and did not feel threatened. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and spoke some English.
The only thing we didn't like were the black corridors with red lights which led to the rooms. Just a little off putting. The rooms however were mostly white (black ceilings) and were spotlessly clean. Not a lot of storage but enough for a long weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wynn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta Mimic, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear guest:

We are glad to hear you enjoyed time with us. Also, we’d like to thank you for taking a few minutes to write your impression of our hotel and share your experience with other fellow travelers
Yes, we are strategically located, which makes us the perfect hotel to start off the adventure in the city.
We are sorry to hear that the corridors design is not to your taste. And Glad you like the staff and service.
If you find yourself planning a next stay, please don't hesitate in contacting us. We would love to have you back as a guest!.

Kind regards,
Acta Mimic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Acta BCN 40
Hotel Acta BCN 40
#200 of 518 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
El Raval
SERHS Del Port Hotel
SERHS Del Port Hotel
#195 of 518 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#65 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Auto Hogar
Hotel Auto Hogar
#282 of 518 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
El Raval
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#228 of 518 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#117 of 518 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acta Mimic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acta Mimic

Property: Hotel Acta Mimic
Address: C/ Arc del Teatre 58 | Calle Arc del Teatre, 58, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acta Mimic 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acta Mimic is a centrally located 3 * hotel in Barcelona, located in Ciutat Vella, in the building that housed the old Teatro Colon. It is an innovative design hotel, where it unifies the living room and the bathroom area in one space, avoiding the division of the room in classic compartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Acta Mimic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing